Name A.M. Willard

Age 38

Where are you from: I was born and raised in Pensacola, Fl but have made the Low Country of Savannah GA my home for the past seventeen years.

A little about your self `ie your education

Family life etc I’ve been married to my high school sweetheart for the past eighteen years, and we have an amazing teenage son. If I’m not behind the computer writing, you can usually find us on the water or spending time with friends and family.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Oh, I have so much news that it’s hard to keep it all straight. First, I’ll start with my newest release that just came out on the 11th of December “Frosted Sweets” which it the first installment of A Taste of Love Series. I can just say don’t read while hungry or craving sweets. Second, I am finishing up a novella that will be released on February 9th along with 7 other amazing authors. Stay tuned for more on Hearts and Daggers…

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing at a young age but then life took over and I put it on the back burner. It was about eight or so years ago that I decided to start back up. Growing up I had a very active imagination… Well, let me say that didn’t go away when I grew up. Oh… Did I really grow up? Now at the nice age that I am today, I love to write and bring readers the magic that I create. I usually hope and pray that they love it just as much as I do.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t know… It’s still hard to answer this question. I know that I’m a writer, and I have books available for purchase and taking up space on my shelves but I still just look at it as I’m doing what I love. Now I should start responding to people as I am a mother, a wife, a friend, and a writer.. That does have a nice ring to it.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Oh the first book I wrote and published or the first one I started writing? I guess I will go with the first on I published and that’s One Night. It started as I needed a break from the current work in progress. I had the name Logan in my head and it wouldn’t go away, then while driving home one afternoon the song ‘All I wanna do is make love to you’ by Hailstorm came on the radio. It was then that the plot showed up and I had to stop and write it.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t think I do… I have my style, and I like to bring comedy, romance, suspense, and new ideas to the table. I love writing first person as I want the readers to become one with the story. If you can’t get lost in one of my novels then I need to do it over again. Currently in Frosted Sweets everyone has said that they feel as if they are in the bakery with Morgan.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

A lot of brainstorming…

 Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, I wanted something different with this series. When you start reading Frosted Sweets it will take you on a journey of four friends. This whole series will walk you through their lives. That will include the ups, downs, and even a few HEA’s. It’s “A Balance of Friends, Family, and Love…”

 Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

A lot of it.. Some places, names, and other little things are just fiction. But… Overall you could picture this being your life or a friends life for that matter.

 Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, everything is all made up. Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Currently I am reading Beside the Music by BJ Knapp.

 Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I love Colleen Hoover and will read anything she writes. Sydney Landon, Kate Perry, Katie Ashley, and wow I could sit her all night and name them.

 Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have so many projects right now that it is crazy. I am finishing up Hearts in Florence for the anthology, Unexpected Choices Vol 3 of The Chances Series, and so many more.. 2016 will be packed with great titles to come.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members

. The would be my PIC “Partner in Crime” Megan Fields. We met on Goodreads and beta read each other’s work. It’s been an instant connection every since. If not for her, I would have never hit publish. Well, maybe I might have since the hubby was ready for me to do it.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I left my full time office job this summer to focus on writing. I hope that as time goes by that not only will I gain more experience, but more readers. I love what I do and that makes me happy.

 Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, and let me say that is usually not the case.

 Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It came from my love of literature. I love the english language and how you can twist and use words. You can pair them together for such passion, or for simplicity.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Hearts in Florence is my novella that will be apart of the anthology coming Feb 9th. It’s set in Florence, Italy and it’s bound to be a sweet and steamy story.. Stay tuned for more..

 Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Everyone in my book. They like to do what they want and not what I need them to do.

 Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Colleen Hoover. I love the way she can spin words to warn my heart, make it go pitter patter, and has been known to cause a few tears and laughter.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have done some, but I would love to do more to get the real feel. You gotta love Google!

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have a few different people, but have two main ladies with my publisher that I love.

 Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing and not stopping to bake cakes and cupcakes.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a few new recipes.

 Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Follow your heart, and don’t be afraid to show your own style.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I don’t think we have all day for that to happen. I never expected one person to download and purchase my books, much less beg for me to write the next one or always support me in all my adventures. Thank you! Thank you! Without the readers, I wouldn’t want to keep doing this I don’t think. They have no idea how important and how much they mean to us, well you do me. Thank you again I love you all.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I don’t. I know that is awful, but I read so much growing up that I don’t remember.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a CRAZY sense of humor so I will laugh at the weirdest things and I can cry at a drop of a hat.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

In the author world I would want to meet Poe… What a weird mind he had and I would love to just take notes and drink some tea with him… In real life I would love to turn back time and have one more meeting and talk with my dad.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I don’t know but if you get the chance to read Frosted Sweets I have a pretty funny one in that one.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Sailing, reading, crafts, and rebuilding old cars with the family.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Limitless, Blindspot, Younger, Sex and the City re-runs.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Mexican, pink, and I love all music.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Does a beach bum count?

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, http://amwillard.com/ if my official website and where you can find all things A.M.

 

Facebook Author Page http://tinyurl.com/nnx2s8m

Twitter @AMWillard1 or  https://twitter.com/AMWillard1

Amazon Author Page http://tinyurl.com/lbpdpgr

Website: amwillard.com

