Name Amanda Mackey

Age 46

Where are you from Australia (born in NZ)

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

Married with 2 kids. Live in sunny Queensland in Australia. Have previously studied Nutrition and Massage Therapy practice but my love of writing has slowly become an obsession,

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest novel, Pain is being released on January 5th through Limitless Publishing. So excited!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in my twenties.  It was like a switch got flicked in my brain. A story manifested that I simply had to write down. The rest as they say is history.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I really didn’t consider myself a writer until I signed my first contract with Limitless Publishing. Seeing your signature on that piece of paper suddenly makes it official.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Funny you should ask this. I went to see Titanic, the movie at the cinema with my husband and a few days after that, the visions of my first novel manifested. I’m not sure if it was coincidence or if it unlocked the beast within!


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I genuinely write how I speak! I like to read books that are written this type of way too. Where words flow and you don’t have to go over each sentence twice to understand it.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title normally comes after I’ve finished a book, although with this one it was different. Without giving away too much, the male lead character has had a lot of Pain in his life and uses Pain to deal with his demons so the one word seemed appropriate as a title.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I think there are a couple of messages in the book. Firstly, there are genuinely good people around that are willing to help others if you’ll just let them in. You don’t have to go through hard times alone. Secondly, as an animal lover, I’ve used the animals in the book as a form of therapy. Having had animals throughout my life, I have found that whenever I’ve been feeling sad or having a bad day, just being around animals lifted my spirits immensely.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

The area of California that I’ve used for the location is real, although the setting itself is totally fiction. The scenarios that happen in the book could be real. I tried to keep the book as close to real life as I could while still keeping it as ‘fiction’


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really. I love all animals, especially elephants, lions and tigers so I knew that I wanted to incorporate them into a story at some stage. Pain was the perfect book to do this. These animals have been rescued from lives of abuse and have something to teach Justice Armstrong, who has also lived a life of abuse.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

As a kid I grew up with Enid Blyton. I was a huge fan. The Famous Five, Noddy, Adventures of the Wishing Chair etc. She played a huge role in cementing my love of reading. Virginia Andrews was another as I grew into my teens.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading The Dark Element series by Jennifer Armentrout and loving it.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

The above mentioned definitely. I’ll be reading more of her books as they come out for sure.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have three books on the go. Trying to get one finished for the publisher set in Arizona State Prison. Then I’ve got an Indie book which is Paranomal and I’ve also started a romance novel, set in Italy.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Limitless Publishing have been hugely supportive. So glad they took a chance on me. My best friend, Cheree has been my biggest support outside of family. She has all my books and is always one of the first to purchase. I love her to bits.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, that is my goal. I’m just going to keep writing and writing! As long as there are stories to tell, I’ll keep doing what I’m doing.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think there would be much I’d change. As a writer, I think we always look back on our work and see faults but for the most part, I’d leave it the same.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Because I’ve always loved reading, I think writing just became an extension of that.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

Sure. Here is a sneak peek:

Beautiful. Was that even a word meant to describe a man? A criminal? Ever since he’d confidently strolled into my classroom, I’d been searching for the right adjective. Catching indiscreet glances now that he was writing, painted a picture. Tall enough to be intimidating. Broad enough across the shoulders to provide protection. An intriguing face with both hard and soft lines. Clearly defined lips that seemed way too supple for their own good. An imperfect nose with a hint of a bump on the bridge that began where two of the most startling eyes I’d ever seen, sat.

They were neither blue nor green but somewhere in between, blended perfectly to create a unique masterpiece. Small black irises leant themselves to an abundance of arresting color that would take any artist great skill to replicate, should they care to paint his portrait.

Edgy and dangerous had no place in my world. And yet…the very masculine, gorgeous package I couldn’t keep my eyes off, had certainly gained my attention. The words, ‘save him’, niggled at the edge of my psyche. While I wanted to save everyone, he stood out from the crowd. A low hum of desire, flared up at the junction of my thighs, causing me to clench my legs. There was no way, I was going to show my vulnerability and especially not my arousal. That would set off the whole classroom.

I needed to focus on the task at hand which was to teach, not ogle. I was a professional and I would do well to remember that. Beauty was only skin deep. A mask for what truly lay beneath. Sometimes outer beauty could cover inner ugliness. All the students facing me had some sort of inner ugliness or they wouldn’t be where they were. An obscure part of me, called out to that side of people. As sick or twisted as it was, I secretly craved a little danger.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes it’s the next sentence! Other times it’s knowing where the story is going in your head but not being able to express it on paper. It’s a constant challenge but one I love.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Gosh, there are so many. I would have to say, Jennifer Armentrout whom has written the current series I’m reading is now up there with my favorites. Her natural writing ability, characterization and ability to be able to pull me so deeply into the world of make-believe seals the deal for me.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, but I would love to travel to the US where I have connected with so many other authors, readers, cover models and photographers.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Limitless Publishing have their own team in the Graphics department.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part for me, was getting into the head of Justice the criminal. It’s not always easy to think like a troubled youth. Hopefully I’ve captured his essence!


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I’m constantly learning all the time when it comes to writing. I’m always trying to improve my craft by reading books on writing, and generally just reading a lot. I learned more about the big cats and elephants during my research for the novel!


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never ever give up. Believe in your ability. Keep practicing and learning. Never think you know it all. Be humble and just WRITE!


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I want to thank them all from the bottom of my heart for reading my books. If I can make just one person, smile, cry, laugh or get frustrated, then I’ve done my job!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I still have it! I got it when I was one year old. It’s a hard cover large book about puppies!

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Seeing people hug goodbye or hello at airports always makes me feel like crying. Sad stories involving people or animals. I laugh at silly things. I even laugh at my own jokes.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Wow. It’s hard to pick just one. I’ve always wanted to meet Jon Bon Jovi because I’ve loved Bon Jovi’s music for nearly 30 years. If Princess Diana were still alive, I would have loved to meet her.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Lived, loved and laughed.  After all, isn’t that what life is about?

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading, spending time with family. I’m a simple person with simple needs. I try to enjoy the small things in life.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I honestly don’t watch much television. If I had to pick I’d say, Escape to the Country and any National Geographic shows.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite food would be Mexican or Chinese. Music – Bon Jovi, Katy Perry, ACDC.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would probably have pursued the Natural Therapies industry more.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

 If so what is it? Yes. You can join my mailing list for updates, teasers and sneak peeks on my blog. http://www.amandamackeyauthor.blogspot.com.au/

 

 

Release Date: January 5th, 2016

★✯ SYNOPSIS ★✯

Life is sweet in The Sanctuary—until Lillian Harris is thrown the curveball of her life.

 

Lillian is perfectly happy cocooned within the lofty perimeter fence of The Sanctuary. Her Sanctuary—a vast oasis for rescued lions, tigers, and elephants. The animals are her world. So when Lillian’s dad tells her a nineteen-year-old criminal who’s fresh out of prison is coming to The Sanctuary as part of a rehabilitation program, Lillian is more than a little apprehensive. She interacts with animals more than humans—and definitely not criminals.

 

Justice Armstrong is more arrogant than a Silverback, but something darker lurks behind his eyes…

 

It isn’t until Justice swaggers toward her from the parole officer’s car—pierced, confident, and more than a little hot—Lillian knows she has her work cut out for her. His stare has the power to rob her of all thoughts. His words, although crude and nefarious, bring a part of her to life she never knew existed. How is this criminal suddenly turning her world upside down?

 

He has the power to drag her to the dark side….

 

Pain is his drug of choice, a vice he can’t survive without. Then he meets Lillian Harris. Little miss hellcat. Fiery, strong, and all woman. She challenges him at every damn turn, and watching her tame those fierce big cats makes his need for her that much stronger. He wants to do things to her…wicked things. She makes him crave pain in a whole new way.

 

When a teen with a dark past bumps heads with a feisty rescue worker, will it be love over lust—or a matter of life and death?

 

Pre order link http://www.amazon.com/Pain-Amanda-Mackey-ebook/dp/B019R8903I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1451084508&sr=8-1&keywords=Pain+Amanda+Mackey

 BIO

AMANDA MACKEY 

 

Amanda Mackey was born in New Zealand and moved to Australia when she was 12 years old with her family, where she has lived ever since. She has loved books since an early age and is an avid reader. This has helped lay the foundation for her writing. She’s published 2 non-fiction books and has her a fiction novel titled, Instinctual out now.
Instinctual is a 2 book series. Book 2 will be out Sept. 30 2014.
Amanda hopes to make writing her full time career.

 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/amandamackeyauthorpage/

LIMITLESS PUBLISHING: http://www.limitlesspublishing.net/authors/amanda-mackey/

AMAZON: http://www.amazon.com/Amanda-Mackey/e/B00DU1JGM4/ref

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/AmandaMacey43

GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7069947.Amanda_Mackey

WEBSITE: http://amandamackeyauthor.blogspot.com.au/

 

