Name: Kethric Wilcox

Age: 49

Where are you from?

Kethric: Originally I’m from Wakefield, Massachusetts about 12 miles north of Boston. These days I call Little Rock, Arkansas home.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

Kethric: I grew up a pretty normal middle-class kid, was in scouting and earned the rank of Eagle Scout. I graduated high school in 1984, started college in the fall of that year majoring in art with a focus on the then new field of Computer Graphic Design and dropped out in 1985. I worked some odd jobs before following family to Little Rock in 1988. Bored with life in Little Rock I went to travel and tourism school in Florida and then to work for American Airlines as a reservation sales rep in Hartford, Connecticut and Raleigh, North Carolina before deciding I really wanted to finish college. I returned to Little Rock and enrolled at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and graduated in 1995 with two Bachelor’s Degrees one in Art and the other in History. After college, I worked as a graphic designer and printer before moving on to become a researcher and museum exhibit designer, which I still do today.  I took my partner out on our first date in February of 2008 and we’ve been together ever since. We took over one of my mother’s last rental properties four years ago and have been living in it for the last three. It took a year to remodel the main apartment.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Kethric: I just finished Hunter book three in my Legend of the Silver Hunter trilogy. It’s currently with my editor for a final proofread.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Kethric: I started writing back in high school English class my junior year for an assignment on short fiction.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Kethric: I guess I first considered myself a writer a few years ago when I started writing the scripts for my church’s drama team. Finding good drama scripts of a religious nature is hard to do so many writers have a hidden or sometimes not so hidden political agenda in their scripts.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Kethric: The inspiration to sit down and write my first book came when the scriptwriting project a friend and I were going to do. We’d challenged ourselves to write a movie script that her husband would produce with his independent film company. Sadly, her mother’s health took a bad turn and she had no extra time. I decided to keep the creative challenge for myself. I’d recently stumbled into reading Gay Romance and fell in love with the genre. I was reading a lot of paranormal stories and the one thing I noticed in all the shifter stories was how safe and cozy the worlds were. I thought where are the humans who hate and fear shifters? Folklore and legends are full of hunters. After reading a few more novels, I figured if I wanted the hunter/shifter dynamic I was looking for I’d have to write it myself.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Kethric: I’m a pantser. I very rarely plan more than the theme of a story. Once I know who my characters are I let them tell me their story and write it down for them.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Kethric: A lot of trial and error. The titles for all three books really didn’t gel until I was about halfway through the original rough draft of the first book in the trilogy. My original concept title was Hunters of the Silver Moon. It wasn’t until I really locked on the concept of twisting the tale of Beauty and the Beast into a modern retelling that crossed with elements of Romeo and Juliet that the trilogy title became Legend of the Silver Hunter. I drew on my Wiccan background for the threefold concept of Tracker, Witch, and Hunter for the book titles. They’re the steps the main character, Kieran Belle has to take to become the Silver Hunter.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Kethric: Don’t let preconceived or prejudicial thoughts prevent you from loving the person you were meant to be with.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Kethric: Pretty much only the locations depicted in the books are realistic. You could take the bus from Bangor, Maine to Little Rock, Arkansas via the route Kieran takes at the start of Tracker. I live in Little Rock so all the places there are real and the streets connect the way they’re written. The house where Kieran and Cory live is based on a friend’s Victorian home in the historic Quapaw Quarter of Little Rock. The scenes in Bar Harbor, Maine are heavily researched and are all real places. You can stay at the B&B where Kieran and Cory honeymoon and eat in the restaurant downstairs. The Oisín compound and the Belle estate are made up locations.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Kethric: Bits and pieces are some what based on events in my own life. The way Kieran refers to his grandmothers and their personalities are modeled somewhat on how I denoted my own grandmothers. The hard work Kieran puts in on his photography class is modeled after my own college experience having the visiting professor that worked her students harder than the full-time professors.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

Kethric: I’m not sure that any particular books have had a lot of influence on my life. I was more influenced growing up by scouting leaders and my grandparents.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Kethric: I have a huge TBR pile. I’m currently on book seven of Charlie Cochrane’s Cambridge Fellows Mysteries, and I just finished Layla Dorine’s Broken Prince, Mismatched Eyes.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Kethric: I’m a huge fan of Grein Murray’s Joshua series and I chat with Kazy Reed the author of Remember Him (The Amsel Clan, book one)


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Kethric: Wrapping up the Silver Hunter trilogy and starting in on telling the story of the vampires in the world of the Silver Hunter books. Some where down the road is a plan for an alternate history novel set in the Republic of Venice.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Kethric: I give a thank you to author Elizabeth Llewellyn and her fan base for adopting me as one of their own when Tracker debuted a year ago. Without their support I don’t think I’d have written Witch and Hunter.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Kethric: I think writing is a second career, along side my research and design career. I like to have multiple outlets for creativity and if I was just doing one thing I’d burn out and find something else to do. By writing in conjunction with other creative outlets there’s potential for many more books from me.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Kethric: No, Hunter is everything I want it to be. If I could go back and change anything, it would have been hiring my current editor from the very beginning.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Kethric: I got interested in writing in my junior year of high school when one of my English teachers attempted to start a school magazine and asked for submissions for it. I submitted a sci-fi short story that was accepted for publication sadly the magazine never saw publication due to budgetary reasons. I wrote a stories just for fun but never did anything with them.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Kethric: Sure, this is from my current work in progress, The Curse: Origin of the Vampires.

Prologue

To my successor;

You have my heartfelt condolences noble hunter on the loss of your mortal life. You are reading this journal because I could not convince you that killing me would be the worst thing you could ever do. The Curse inflicted upon me by my beloved brothers has by now transformed you into the most powerful member of your new family. You are now Lord of all Vampires.

            I introduced myself when you broke into my home intent on slaying me, but I will reintroduce myself again so that perhaps the knowledge I’m going to impart to you in this journal will be absorbed. I am Cain, son of Adam the first man and Eve the first woman, elder brother to both Abel and Seth. I am the first vampire. Heed my warnings and read this book carefully, for here is the origin of the vampires, The Curse, laid on me by Seth.

I did not know who you were as I wrote this opening letter, but I knew you were coming for me. I only vaguely follow the comings and goings of mortal hunters, these days for few ever survive to get to my doorstep. Surround yourself with loyal servants and heed their warnings when you grow to be ancient. I am truly sorry I couldn’t convince you to stay your hand and spare you from my fate.

Cain


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Kethric: I think my editor would say keeping my tenses straight. I’m very organic in my writing and tend to murder verb tenses as I go.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Kethric: I’m a huge fan of C.J. Cherryh and Mercedes Lackey. Both of them create worlds you get lost in and characters you fall in love with. C.J. Cherryh’s Foreigner series is amazing in the details of the culture she created for the Atevi from a complex language to how numbers influence things in the society. Experiencing it all from point of view of a human who has gone native gives an odd inside out perspective on the society and how it responds to outside stimuli.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Kethric: I’m so new to this field I’m only just learning about all of the various venues for authors to promote their books, so I don’t travel at all due to my books. I’d like to go to a couple of the Romance conventions as a fan first just to get an idea of what goes on before I go as an author.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kethric: Friend and co-worker, Keith Martin we work together to find the images and build the covers, do my covers but he does the majority of the layout and final design.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Kethric: The hardest part was telling my family, I’d written a Gay Paranormal Romance story and published it.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Kethric: Yes, I learned that it really is harder than everybody thinks it is. There really isn’t a formula to writing a romance novel.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Kethric: Get an editor and beta readers. The biggest mistake I made with Tracker was thinking I could do it all on my own and the first review I got knocked that pillar right out from under me. When you read this was a debut novel and it showed in a review it’s devastating. Don’t be afraid to ask a seasoned author for help and advice you’ll find many of them are willing to help new authors find their feet. I’ve gotten great advice from other authors and found that I’ve sometimes been able to give them pointers on something in return.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Kethric: Thank you for giving me a chance to entertain you and for all the love you’ve shown over the past year.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Kethric: I think it was one of those school primers the ones that featured Dick and Jane. The first ones that drew me into sci-fi and fantasy were Katherine Kurtz’s Deryni series.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Kethric: Bad puns make me laugh. My grandfather and I use to trade them back and forth much to my grandmother’s chagrin. Chopping onions brings me to tears every time.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Kethric: I’d love to meet C.J. Cherryh, because her worlds fascinate me. I’ve gotten to meet and talk with both Mercedes Lackey and Katherine Kurtz.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Kethric: He lies not here. He regenerated. I’m a huge Doctor Who fan.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Kethric: If I have time and the weather is nice you’ll find me either out gardening or camping. In bad weather, you will find me curled up with either a book or my kindle.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Kethric: Doctor Who, Star Wars, Torchwood, Amazing Race, Worst Cooks in America.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Kethric: Anything Chocolate, Green, Sci-Fi/Fantasy Folk music

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Kethric: If I wasn’t writing then my office space would have been converted into a painting studio.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Kethric: Yes, I have a blog. You can find me at www.kethricwilcox.com

Amazon author page is http://www.amazon.com/Kethric-Wilcox/e/B00SLDALY8/ref=series_rw_dp_un

 

 

