Name Shelly Morgan

Age 29

Where are you from Small town Iowa

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I have 3 children; a 10 year old boy, a 7 year old girl, and a 5 year old boy. They are my life. I have an amazing boyfriend and the best family a person could ask for. We didn’t have much growing up, but I never felt like I lacked anything. I went to high school and graduated, then went to college online for a year and a half before I got pregnant with my first child. I took a break to be a mother and also to figure out what I really wanted to do with my life because I felt like things were changing for me – which they did. I currently work 2 jobs, not including writing because I don’t consider that work. I spend my free time writing, reading, sewing, and doing things with my family and friends. Oh, and I like to play xbox lol

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I recently signed my MC series with a publishing company – Limitless Publishing!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing just over a year ago, though I used to write a lot in school when I was younger. I can’t say why I started. It was a lot of things – I had this story in my head that wouldn’t go away and I always wanted to be a writer, so I just did it.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I still don’t really consider myself a writer/author. When I hear people say I’m an author, it doesn’t sound right, but I guess if I did consider myself one, it wouldn’t have been until recently.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

There really was no inspiration. That story just popped in my head and every time I thought of it, another piece came into my head for it. So I don’t know, but I can say that the characters I tried to put a little of myself or things I wish myself to have in there somewhere.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

See, this is a question I can never answer or know how to answer. People say I have a ‘unique’ writing style and I have no clue what they mean. I don’t know what my writing style is. I just write.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For my first book, I went round and round with the title. It’s really hard naming books, like it is naming a child. I know there were lots of titles I had at first, and then the more I wrote, the more it was about Destiny and making your life your own, so I came up with Rewriting Destiny. Fighting Destiny, Defying Destiny, and Owning Destiny just came freely after that.

Hybrids was hard as well, but pouring over ideas with Geri, we finally decided on the title.

Pretend for me, I knew that it what I needed it to be like, but changed the title twice. The first title I had for that book was ‘Mirage’. I really liked that title, but for a reason I can’t even remember, I changed it to Pretend for Me. Maybe because there were other books title Mirage?


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Your life and what you make of it is up to you. Don’t sit back and think there is a plan and you just let destiny take the wheel. You have to live for yourself and make things happen.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

This is a hard question as well. The book is pure make believe, but I do try to put realistic things in each book I write – mannerism, what characters like or dislike, where they live, who they are with… There is a piece of me in each of my books, but not all of it is something you will catch or even know about. Heck, I don’t even think I want to share some of the things that are real from me or not.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some experiences are based off of myself or someone I know, while others are things I’m scared of or things I wish would happen.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There are just too many for me to even answer this.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading The Inferno MC series by Sabrina Paige currently.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are always new authors that gain my interest. I really only read new authors, and of course the ones that keep my interest. lol


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m currently working on Hybrids with Geri Glenn that will release Feb. 26th. Then, I’m working on re-releasing Rewriting Destiny, Fighting Destiny and Born into Destiny with my publishing company. And I’m working on finishing and releasing Defying Destiny. And lastly, when I have time, I try to work on Pretend for Me, which has been a project for me for about 9 months…. :/


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My fans and fb friends. They have lifted me up when I was down and always supported me. I can’t thank them enough.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do, but unfortunately, right now, I have to continue working even though I hate it. I eventually want to write full time though.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

That’s funny because I’m am currently ‘doing it all over again’ with my first few books and I have changed a few things but nothing major. As far as the one I’m working on with Geri, Hybrids… I don’t think I’d change anything. That book seriously rocks!


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was always a story teller, way back when I was like 7. I remember being in first grade and writing these stupid little books, likes ‘The Names Book’, ‘What I did this summer’, or ‘My Christmas Wish’. My mother still has all those books!

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure! This is from Hybrids:

“Oh shut up, you big meanie.” I say, jutting out my lip.

Walking up so he’s standing right in front of me, he lifts his hand, cupping my face. “You’re cute when you pout.”

Wanting to mess with him, I push my lip out even more, exaggerating my puppy dog face.

His face suddenly changes from humor to lust – he looks at me with raw heat. “Careful, Joey. You stick that lip out any farther, you’re asking for me to bite it.” He practically growls.

My insides boil and my pussy throbs. I bite my own lip to keep from asking him to ravish me. His words alone are enough to make me drop to my knees and beg this man to take me, but add in that look – like he wants to consume me – and I’m a goner.

“Fuck,” he says between gritted teeth, and then he’s on me. His arms are wrapped around me, pulling me closer to him so there is nothing between us. His head drops down and his lips land on mine in a kiss that could incinerate everything around us it’s so hot.

Moaning, I wrap my arms around him and pull him even closer, if that’s even possible. Reaching down, he grabs my hips and hoists me up. I wrap my legs around his waist and hold on tight – like my very life depended on it. Next thing I know, my back is against the wall. It’s so forceful that my head hits hard enough that it jars me for a moment. Merrick pulls away – to say sorry or to catch his breath, I don’t know which – but I don’t even let him get a centimeter from my lips before I’m on him. Fuck apologies and fuck oxygen, the only thing I need is his lips on mine and his body surrounding me. I want him to obliterate everything in my mind besides him, besides what he does to me.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time to write… L And when I have so much in my head, sometimes I can’t think of the simplest word! It’s infuriating!


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I can’t answer this because I have way too many lol but I love how they are all different in their ideas and the way they write.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t travel at all for my books and honestly haven’t even researched much on the web either, but if I ever did need to, I would do it in a heartbeat. I’d travel as far as I needed to, as much as I needed to.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Robin with Wicked By Designs designed all my self-published covers and I won’t go anywhere else. But all my books signed with the publishing company are designed in-house, but I must say, they rock as well! Just wait till you see the cover for Rewriting Destiny ❤


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Keeping it to the point. Sometimes I go off on descriptions and I sometimes hate that in books, so I try to keep it straight to the point, but it can be hard.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I have a fucked-up mind lol but seriously, that anything is possible if you put your mind to it and have faith and work hard enough.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t let anything or anyone stand in your way. If you want to write something, do it. If you want to publish a book that people think is wrong or won’t sell, do it. If it makes you happy and something important to you, do it.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I freaking love you! Thank you all for your support. I never would have thought a year ago I would have self-published so many books, had an amazing fan base, met some great people, and got a publishing contract. I owe all of that you all, so thank you.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It may not be the actual first book I read, but the first book I can remember liking was Blood and Chocolate by Annete Curtis Klause. Also, Companions of the Night by Vivian Vande Velde. And a two book series, Ruler of Darkness and Daughter of Darkness by Steven Spruill.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A lot of things and for different reasons. Clowns scare me and make me cry tears of fear. Death makes me cry tears of sadness and despair. Friends and jokes make me laugh and cry tears of happiness. My kids make me both laugh and cry in happiness and sadness and anger.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Tim McGraw because I love him! Seriously, I cried when he got married to Faith Hill (bitch).

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

The wicked witch is dead! Lol no, I have no idea. Hopefully something like “a great daughter, sister, mother, wife, and famous author. She will be missed.” Something like that?

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

fishing, sewing, reading, reading, reading, playing games, xbox, reading, hanging out with my dad, reading, playing with kids, hanging with family, arts and crafts, and reading.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love drama, comedy and romance. HATE horror. Love Buffy the Vampire Slayer TV series, Charmed, and the food network. Also love the moves Backdraft, ET, Dirty Dancing, and Top Gun. Oh, and anything John Wayne for my dad!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music ?

Pizza, burgers, pickles, ice cream, steak and potatoes. Green, black, silver, and blue. And anything country.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Maybe something in Marketing or admin.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No L Does someone want to help me make one?

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Shelly-Morgan/e/B00T9SHYM6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1450693275&sr=1-2-ent

