Name: Debra Druzy

 

Age: Older than the internet, younger than dirt

 

Where are you from: Long Island, New York

 

A little about yourself.

I’m a married stay-at-home mom, writing contemporary romance in between running errands and doing household chores.

 

Tell us your latest news.

My Valentine’s Day novella, Dare Me, a Candy Hearts Romance from the Wild Rose Press, is releasing February 1, 2016.

 

When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in 1999 when I worked in NYC and commuted by Long Island Railroad.

The more books I read during those lengthy round-trips, the more I itched to write my own.

 

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m not sure. It’s been sort of a mild evolution. However, in 2011, when I joined RWA and LIRW to connect like-minded people, it kind of solidified the writer’s lifestyle for me.

 

What inspired you to write your first book?

Thea Devine’s Secret Pleasures and The Barbarian by Ann Jacobs in Secrets Volume #2 from Red Sage. Devouring these stories riding the railroad made me forget all about the long commute. One night I came home from work and simply started to write…and I haven’t stopped.

 

Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to keep things simple, use a conversational-style in alternating third-person point of view, and play with alliteration.

 

How did you come up with the title? 

For Sleeping with Santa, I asked my sister, “What’s the sexiest thing you can do at Christmastime?” She said, “Sleep with Santa,” and the title was born.

 

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I wouldn’t call it a message, however the underlying theme I kept in mind while writing Sleeping with Santa is: The heart wants what it wants.

 

How much of the book is realistic?

All of it—it’s fiction, it has to be plausible. It’s life that doesn’t have to make sense.

 

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think the only way to write authentically is to pull from elements of truth and experience while playing with the “what/if” factors. So, yes…and no.

 

What books have influenced your life most? a mentor?

Besides the books I’ve already mentioned, and Paul Zindel’s The Pigman and John Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath from my high school assigned reading, Till the Stars Fall by Kathleen Gilles Siedel inspired me to construct multi-dimensional characters from the ether.

On the craft of storytelling, I keep John Truby’s The Anatomy of Story at my fingertips.

 

What book are you reading now?

My Kindle is fully loaded with so many books but I haven’t started reading anything new since I’m in the middle of the Christmas crunch at home.

 

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

My two gal pal authors: Arla Dahl’s Immoral Virtue Triology is scorching hot. And Stephanie Kepke’s Goddess of Suburbia is a chick lit with heart and humor.

 

What are your current projects?

I’m midway through revisions for a story that follows Sleeping with Santa. Same setting. Different hero and heroine.

 

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Napoleon Hill’s book Think and Grow Rich and Thought for the Day emails help me stay focused on my definite chief aim and writing goals.

 

Do you see writing as a career?

I do, one day. For now, my career is caring for my children until they are grown and on their own.

 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

A typo.

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Reading romances and wanting to change the endings to suit my own idea of a happily-ever-after.

 

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Like Sleeping with Santa, my current work-in-progress is a sweet ’n spicy contemporary romance—what I consider domestic romance. This time two divorcees get a second chance at a happily-ever-after in spite of interlopers and obligations. They’re ordinary people with extraordinary bonds.

 

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Besides the shameless self-promoting that comes with the territory, the hardest part of writing is physically sitting down at the keyboard while doing mom-stuff. Story ideas pop up all the time, so I send myself text messages of things to remember.

 

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Cherry Adair is my favorite author. She is a tireless force: an amazing woman, talented writer, wonderful mentor, and savvy self-promoter. I don’t know how she does it all and remain so fabulous. I’d like a double-dose of essence-of-Cherry.

 

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Luckily for my lifestyle—no!

 

Who designed the covers?

The covers artists at The Wild Rose Press designed both. RJ Morris did Dare Me. And Sleeping with Santa was done by Angela Anderson.

 

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Carving out time and taking hours away from things I need to do for my family.

 

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I need to plot the destination of the story otherwise it will lose direction, or worse, hit a wall. It’s easier for me to write with a map than to try to figure it out along the way.

 

Do you have any advice for other writers?

There is pain in the pleasure and pleasure in the pain. Don’t quit. And write the story of your heart. You can totally do this.

 

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Drop me a note, I’d love to hear from you: debradruzy@gmail.com

 

Do you remember the first book you read?

Not thee first – but the ones that stand out in my memory are Sticky Stanley, Millicent the Monster and The Monster At The End of This Book.

 

What makes you laugh/cry?

Cry: A moody song. Too much wine.

Laugh: My family. Adam Sandler movies. Impractical Jokers. Dopey things in general.

 

Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Mark Twain, because his way with words makes me chuckle and think.

 

What do you want written on your head stone and why?

No headstone for me because I’ll be cremated, divided between my immediate family members who’d want a piece of me, and set on a mantle or a shelf, preferable inside a lovely bottle like I Dream of Jeannie. However, I wouldn’t mind if the bottle was engraved with something along the lines of: Magical Fairy Dust, Handle with TLC.

 

Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Does caring for my family count? Finding new ways to keep them in line, entertained, and off each others’ last nerve.

 

What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love quick comedies because my attention span is limited. I can’t follow serials because I don’t commit my time to television. Any Rom-Com works for me. Corny, steamy, classic—I’ll take it all.

 

Favorite foods / colors/ music:

Food: Pizza, sushi, dark chocolate

Colors: Silver, black, dark blues

Music: Specifically—Rick Springfield, Sergio Mendes, Herb Alpert, Foo Fighters. In general—classic rock, 80’s, pop.

 

If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Hmmm… Doing what I enjoy versus… what else is there? Professional Cloud Gazer.

 

Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.DebraDruzy.com

 

 

Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/author/debradruzy

Sleeping with Santa: http://amzn.com/B00P9J2U14

Dare Me: http://tinyurl.com/zypbxex

 

