Name  Robin D. Owens

Age

Too old to answer the question.

Where are you from

Denver, Colorado

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Ah, I am single with cats (I write about telepathic animal companions, so I use them as material, or they use me as a slave).  I am 3rd generation Coloradan so I grew up and have family here, though I went away to college in Washington, D.C. and Bloomington, Indiana.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The very latest is that I am working with a cover artist for my second Celta/Heart Series novella that I will be self-publishing.  I have notes for this novella.  Really.  The first novella, Lost Heart, is done and will probably be coming out in the spring, March, I hope.  It will be my first venture into self publishing.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote as a child, told myself stories before I went to bed.  After a bad relationship break-up (okay, I was dumped.  He regretted it. 🙂 ) I took a writing course and began seriously writing.

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After the course, I joined Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers, and that group taught me to write — the critique groups.  I still belong to a critique group, and RMFW.  I think I could be called a writer after my second manuscript.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The course I took was in romantic suspense.  My first manuscript (full), was a terrible romantic suspense.

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes, hard to describe, but, yes.  Rather conversational, like this, unless my heroes/heroines are more uptight.

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first published book was HeartMate.  It’s a fantasy romance — a world colonized by Earth people with psi power that is essentially magic.  A Celtic-pagan society, but rather set up governmentally like the English Regency period.  It’s also a fated-mate series.  That is, there can be people who are fated to be your soul mate, but I call them HeartMates, and there we are.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I cycle through outer themes like religious and political tolerance, but I think at the core of my books is identity.  Find who you are and be who you are.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I write fantasy romance, fantasy, and paranormal romance (the Ghost books).  The ghost books are set in Denver, as was my short-lived Mystic Circle series.  My ghost seer can help phantoms move on — that’s, of course, not real.  But my historical research and the ghosts of the Old West that she deals with were usually real people.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some of them, yes.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers and my critique group has greatly influenced me.  My mentor/friend is Kay Bergstrom who writes as Cassie Miles.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Fiction: Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews.  I’ve been reading a lot of non-fiction about Operation Mincemeat in World War II, so The Man Who Never Was, and Operation Mincemeat by Ben Mcintyre.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I read new authors, and new-to-me authors, RJ Blain is a new author I’m reading now.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Currently I have to revise the first novella to be published in 2016, Lost Heart.  I just finished sending in the page proofs for Ghost Talker out in February.  And am writing new words on Ghost Maker, due in April.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Hmmm.  I just had the chance, but no.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I liked to tell stories, and tell stories to myself before I went to sleep.  My parents read to me as a child, taught me to read early, I read a lot, always, and continue to do so.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My most recent book is Heart Legacy, a Celta novel, so it is set on the planet Celta with a heroine who wants to escape her family and has a love for her telepathic cat, Baccat.  She’s just met the stableman, the hero (yes, this is a daughter-of-the-house/stable man story, and a Cinderella story, too).  Stridebeasts are somewhat like llamas, but bigger and stronger.

Lori nodded to the stableman, ignoring the heat she felt in her cheeks at her embarrassment from staring at his bare chest.  She went up to the fence and greeted the small stridebeast herd.  They looked good, cared for over the last two weeks as well as she would have done.  In that, she approved of the man.  He stood near the opposite end of the stables, and had donned a tunic, which was a pity.  She could have studied his chest more.

 

I am here also.  Pet Me!  I did well and deserve your attention!  Baccat’s haunches tensed, then he leapt for her shoulder.  Lori stood straight and still, muttering a couplet for the invisible shelf that set on her shoulder to take her Fam’s bulk.  He thunked down.

 

You did well.  She scratched the side of his head.  She hadn’t seen her Fam since she’d slipped from the house before dawn to feed him proper food.  The family had grudgingly allowed her to keep him and that was one thing she didn’t have to hide from them any more.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Oh, always, and it varies from book to book.

 

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have a lot of favorite authors. I, myself, am most like Jayne Ann Krentz, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick.  I like to reread books, so I like different characters, and, of course, writing animals.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I would travel a lot more if I could!  Since Celta is a made up world, I don’t really need to travel, though I have some places based specifically on Earth sites.  Such as the Residences (intelligent houses),  which are usually castles.

For the Ghost books, I’ve traveled to the towns important to my historical ghosts, most in Colorado and Wyoming.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Berkley Art Department (Penguin Random House Art department), and, for my upcoming self published novellas, I’m working with Cora of Cora Graphics.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

It depends on the book.  In Heart Legacy, the latest, it was making a young heroine mature and strong.  In Ghost Killer, it was keeping the action going.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I always get better with my techniques, I hope, my writing.  But in Heart Legacy, I learned a lot about llamas, horses, and stable design… 🙂  In Ghost Killer, I researched Jesse James, his gang, and his killer, Robert Ford.  In the book I just turned in, I had the premise that a poltergeist was messing with Buffalo Bill’s grave, and I researched William F. Cody, and my main ghost in that book (Ghost Talker coming in February), Texas Jack Omohundro.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read.  Write a million words, 10,000 hours.  Join a writing organization for moral support as well as networking.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thanks!  Without readers I’d still be telling myself stories before I go to sleep.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I learned how to read on The Cat In The Hat.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Oh, I’m an emotional person and easy to laugh and cry.  Humor is individual, but characters in hard places making hard decisions will make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I change who I want to talk to from the past on a daily basis.  Probably, right now, it would be Jack Slade, the phantom featured in my first ghost series book, Ghost Seer.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Writer.

Because I did and do.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I read, I play computer games, I embroider.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I LOVE The Librarians.  I am crushed that Forever only lasted one season.  I like Dancing With The Stars, I particularly like watching the creativity and techniques of the professionals as they teach their celebrities.  I love

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Chocolate.  It’s the holidays and I love those almond crescent cookies with powdered sugar.  Colors: red violet, maroon.  Music:  I listen to a lot of Celtic music for my Heart Series, a lot of Western music for the Ghost series.  I do soundtracks for my books.  I have trouble with vocals and like New Age stuff.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I was a paralegal for a long time, and I have my Masters in Information Science (Librarianship), either of those careers are excellent.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I mostly interact with readers on Facebook, but this is my info:

Website: http://www.robindowens.com

Blog: On Writing & Publishing http://robindowens.blogspot.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RobinDOwens

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Robin-D.-Owens/e/B001HCRY18/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

Thanks for the lovely interview!

Merry meet and merry part and merry meet again!

 

 

 

