Name : Julie Seedorf

Age: Old enough

Where are you from: Minnesota

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc: I have a husband, three children, five grandchildren and I have worked in the computer field, owning my own business before quitting my business to write full time.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My new cozy mystery, The Penderghast Puzzle Protectors will be out after the New Year.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing as a child, and then turned to plays and poetry for fun in my personal life. I began a career as a columnist in 2005 and my Fuchsia Minnesota Series was accepted by Cozy Cat Press in 2012

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

That’s a hard one. It took me a long time after my first books came out to introduce myself as a writer when someone asked about my career. I still think it’s a dream.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote my first book as a lark on my blog. I wasn’t feeling well and was trying to recover from an illness. I was depressed so I started writing this fictional tale. Each morning a new chapter would be in my head and it got me up every morning. So I have to say God inspired me by putting the silliness in my head each day and bringing me out of my depression.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Quirky? My books aren’t typical; they have quirky moments and quirky characters and are full of silly imagination. There also are moments of heart in the books, too. My columns are also silly and at times very serious. It depends on my mood when I am writing and how I want to develop my characters.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I have an active imagination so things just pop into my head. If it feels right I use it. Of course it has to be approved by my publishing company, Cozy Cat Press.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

It is a subtle message. We live in a world of rules and restrictions. Look at the same color neighborhoods and houses. We live in a world where we are restricted in what we put in our yards etc. We tend to forget about the child inside of us and the joy of living. My books are a little bit of a satire on life. Granny is over the top. We have a view of aging that is totally wrong. Yes, aging is not fun but there is the stereotype of old people and I come from a mother who was on her roof fixing it at 90 years old so my characters are quirky and defy what we believe about aging. My writing allows us to dream of what we would like to be even if our bones are creaky. The same with community of Fuchsia, it doesn’t buy in to the stereotypical communities we live in today.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Not much. They are silly and pure fantasy. They are meant to make people laugh. Having said that there are real emotions as the characters develop in the later books that explain why the characters are who they are. My characters have heart.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The only experiences is my character Granny, who  is loosely based on my mother who believed she could do anything no matter how old she got.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I believe every book influences my life in one way or another. The ones that influence my life the most are the inspirational ones about faith and also those authors that share the ups and downs in their lives, teaching me about moments that can change my life for the better.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading a book by Cozy Cat Press Author Joyce Oroz called $cent of a Swindle.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes, I like to read new authors. One recently is Jane Firebaugh. I loved her book, Antiques and Avarice. It’s a Cozy Mystery.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I just finished the start of a new series called The Penderghast Puzzle Protectors. I am working on the fifth book in the Fuchsia Minnesota Series. I am also working on a kids book with my grandson and I have another book of my columns in the works.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 The other Cozy Cat Authors, they are wonderful support. It is a mini family. Also some writer friends living all over the world.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, it is my dream career that took me many years to have the courage to try for it.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think so. However, it’s not out yet. Ask me again in a few months.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My interest in writing originated with reading. I wanted to be able to spin the tales too.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The Penderghast Neighborhood has been hit by crime, an unusual crime. Someone is stealing squares out of their floors and strange things seem to be happening at a vacated house in their neighborhood. When a dead body is found  in the vacated house the residents of the neighborhood become involved in a 100 year old puzzle, leading them to secrets about their community they didn’t know existed.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Trying to keep all the details straight. Things pop into my writing that I hadn’t planned and then I have to figure a way to get myself out of the dilemma I created with my writing.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have many favorite authors such as Catherine Coulter, Max Lucado etc. Lately every new book I read by an author seems to become my favorite author. I love variety and I learn from all of them.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I travel in my state and Iowa. I haven’t branched out much from that.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publishing company contacts the cover designers and they vary.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Starting a new series was hard. I already was comfortable with my characters from the Fuchsia Series and I had to be careful to create entirely different characters for the Brilliant Minnesota Series.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I am comma challenged.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 Write from your heart, never give up on your dreams and start writing. Also it’s your work. Don’t compromise what you believe is right.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love getting to know my readers. They give me hope to continue my writing and make my day better. They are awesome.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I started reading at a very young age.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My grandkids make me laugh. Silliness makes me laugh. The world and the violence today make me cry. Homelessness and sick children make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would like to talk to my dad. He died when I was 19 and I didn’t have a chance to know who he was when he was young and how he felt about things in the world. Conversation was different in those days and I wish I would have listened and asked more questions.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Not sure I’m going to have a headstone. I may be scattered.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I like to crochet, work with stained glass, try new crafts and see what happens.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I usually watch the crime shows. I think it is the mystery writer  in me.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

Favorite Color: Hot Pink, Favorite Food: Donuts and Stuffing Favorite Music: All kinds

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have liked to have been a teacher.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I have a blog and a website. My blog is http://sprinklednotes.com and my website is http://julieseedorf.com

 

amazon.com/author/julieseedorf

Twitter: julieseedorf@julieseedorf

Facebook Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/julie.seedorf.author

 

