Name: Caris Roane

Fiona: Where are you from?

Caris: I’m originally a California girl but I’ve lived in Arizona for the past 24 years.

Fiona: Tell us a little about yourself, your education, family life:

Caris: My father was a lumberjack and later an elementary school principal. My mother was a teacher. She read to us kids when we were young, which prompted my love of reading. Writing was something that intrigued me from the time I can remember.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Caris: I’m working on edits for AMBER FLAME, the fourth book of my Flame Series featuring a shifter wolf and an extraordinary fae woman. I’m hoping to have the book released in the next couple of weeks!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Caris: I began writing because I fell in love with Georgette Heyer and one day had the thought, ‘I could do that’. The rest is, as they say, history!

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Caris: When I completed my first manuscript. Then it began to feel real.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Caris: My first books were Regency Romances and I’d say both Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer inspired me. I wrote them for Kensington for 18 years. More recently, I’ve been published in paranormal romance. I was with St. Martin’s Press for 10 books but felt the call of self-publishing, which I do exclusively at this point.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Caris: I think every writer does. It’s your voice, how a story feels right to you as it leaks from your pen onto the page.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Caris: AMBER FLAME is part of the flame series, so ‘flame’ it was. As for ‘amber’, that’s the name of the drug that is used within the scope of the series. In this case, the amber flame drug causes wolf females to happily work in sex clubs when ordinarily they’d shun it.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Caris: That life is about growth on a personal level and that you’re always growing, so embrace it!

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Caris: It’s all realistic except the paranormal bits, lol!

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Caris: Nothing from my personal life or anyone I know.. Though I binge-watch TV a lot, so it’s probable that my stories end up as an amalgamation of all that I’ve recently viewed.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Caris: Joshilyn Jackson’s SOMEONE ELSE’S LOVE STORY

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Caris: AMBER FLAME, of course. But once I have that launched, I’ll be writing EMBRACE THE POWER, the 9th and final book of my blood rose series.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Caris: My aunt wrote for Harlequin’s Superromance line. She definitely encouraged me.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Caris: Absolutely. It’s a tough one and always has been. The digital revolution offers pros and cons as well.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Caris: Funny you would ask. I got done with hard-copy edits on the book and decided I had to do a major rewrite. So, that’s what I did. Usually, I do a quick read-through at the hard-copy point, then publish the book. Not this time.


Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Caris: Yes, here’s the opening to AMBER FLAME:

Chapter One

 

Fergus saw a glint of something metal slide out of his challenger’s black leather wrist guard. Before he could move, the skewer pierced Fergus’s gut then punctured the base of his heart.

A searing pain drove through his abdomen.

His whole body seized.

A blow followed as Sydon, the contender in the wolf dominance battle, used his fist to knock Fergus into the sand.

Fergus landed on his side and the air fled his lungs.

He had only one chance of surviving the illegal skewer stab; he had to shift. With a thought, he transformed into his wolf shape.

Since Fergus’s heart was leaking blood, he couldn’t move and he couldn’t defend himself.

But Sydon didn’t stop. He added more blows with his fist to Fergus’s head.

Fergus watched Sydon leap into the air.

Shit, this was going to hurt.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Caris: Everything! Coming up with the right idea, deepening the characters, getting the plot just right, having a satisfying climax sequence, developing the theme, every damn thing!

Fiona: Who designed the cover?

Caris: Carol Webb of Bella Media Management

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Caris:  Again, it was discovering I needed to do a serious rewrite at exactly the same moment I was ready to publish the book.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Caris: Write a lot, read a lot and never give up.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Caris: I love you, I write for you, I work hard for you and you are always in my thoughts and in my heart.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Caris: Well, one of the first was GONE WITH THE WIND when I was 14.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Caris: I’m really horrible; I like dark humor. As for weeping, touch my heart with anything sentimental or remotely sad and I’m gone.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Caris: I would like to meet Jane Austen and ask her just how shocked she is that after 200 years her books are still being read and now being made into movies. I think she’d faint.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Caris: ‘She Never Gave Up’, because it’s the most important thing in life and in a writing career. You have to stay with it no matter how freaking hard it gets. You have to.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Caris: I love to garden and I make jewelry with altered dominoes and bead dangles.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Caris: Right now, anything with Sherlock Holmes. I’m especially fond of ‘Elementary’.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music  

Caris: Green is my favorite color, I love all kinds of music and as for food it’s a tie between Mexican and Italian!

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Caris: Write and direct films.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? http://www.carisroane.com/

Blog: http://www.carisroane.com/journal/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Caris-Roane-150858114985050/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/carisroane

Newsletter: http://www.carisroane.com/contact-2/

 Again, thank you for the opportunity!

Caris Roane
New York Times Bestselling Author

www.carisroane.com

Amazon Authors Page               http://www.amazon.com/Caris-Roane/e/B0043YWE1M/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1  

Link to AMBER FLAMEhttp://www.carisroane.com/amber-flame-4/

