Name Rhue  McDonough

Age

Old enough to have plenty of life experiences.  (smile)

Where are you from

Central Texas and the Florida Panhandle

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I’m a back woods ranch kid who grew up on the family places, one in Texas and one in Florida.  Formal education was a BS in Nursing and a Masters in Deviate Behaviour Psychology.   I chose to work hospitals because I could work the schedule around my horse training and competitions.

 Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m excited to now have my new young adult Equestrian Series “Real Deal Cowgirl: Jessie Quinn and Dejni Series” on Amazon, iTunes, and Nook.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing out of necessity to have bedtime stories to read to my young children.  Town was 49 miles away with one small store and no books. Those kids are adults now so it was a while back.

Then technical medical writing became necessary as part of an RN position I held.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Actually, I consider myself more of a creative person who enjoys the process of many creative avenues.  I’ve enjoyed a lifelong relationship with Plein Air Art.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Inspiration for my most recent work was my desire to create a tribute to Dejni, my Russian Arabian of 28 years.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Straight forward, I’d say—not too flowery.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

That was easy.  Every ranch kid wants to be the ‘real deal’, not a faker, or pretender.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Mostly, I want the reader to feel the thrill and happiness—the fun–that comes with bonding with a great horse and realize the amount of responsibility that comes with it.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

A very large percent.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Both. Any time you live on a remote ranch working with stock, protecting them from wildlife predators, you have plenty of experiences of your own and you see others have a few wild events happens.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I’ve been reading since I was about 5 years old before I could even pronounce the words or know what they meant—never have owned a TV—so I’ve read hundreds of books.  I have to say the straight forward style of Hemmingway and Stephen King is what I like best, even though I’m not a true horror fan.  Yes, I know that doesn’t make a lot of sense but King is such a Master in the use of words.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Lots of James Scott Bell and I re-read The Maltese Falcon. Also, several re-reads of Kings short story collection in the Skeleton Crew.  I very much like reading the older classics but have read some recently.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

“Toward the Brink” series and “Horror at Pine Ridge” series by Craig McDonough has been fun to read. Also, Nick Stephenson  “Leopold Blake Series”

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m now working on a new Clean and Sweet Western Romance Series. I’m pleased so far with how it’s coming along.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

At this point I’m focused on the enjoyment of writing and delivering a good reading experience.  We’ll see how things develop.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not really.

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When you live in the remote country you learn to entertain yourself with what’s available, reading, writing, and drawing.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Taken from “Real Deal Cowgirl”

“Don’t you make coffee in town?” he asked, knowing she had troubles in Caldwell.

“I don’t get to help Mama in the kitchen anymore. I used to, you know, but Glenn doesn’t let me in there now.”

“Has he told you why?”

“He says I don’t know how to do anything right. He says I’m too clumsy.” Her head lowered for a split-second. “But, hey! I don’t believe him. He’s nothing but a city man who won’t even get his hands dirty. I’m not clumsy. I’m a cowgirl!”

Jess didn’t want her father to know all of the mean things Glenn Smith said to her. She sure didn’t want her mother to know, either. Glenn was very careful to speak differently to Jess in front of her mother. He was a sneaky man, and Jess didn’t trust him for a single minute.

“One thing I can tell you for sure, Miss Jessie Ann Quinn, you’re a top hand and you’re not a darn bit clumsy. You do every single thing around this ranch the way it’s supposed to be done,” he told her in a firm tone full of conviction.

“I know Glenn doesn’t understand girls. He sure doesn’t know a thing about a cowgirl like you. Don’t let it bother you, honey. I’m happy as a pig in mud with your coffee.” He picked her up and swung her around the kitchen just to make her laugh.

“Dad, we don’t have any pigs in mud.”

“And we ain’t gonna have none,” Uncle Buddy chimed in as he lumbered through the kitchen door. Everybody laughed because Uncle Buddy always swore he’d never be a pig farmer.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have to make sure I don’t throw any editing into the first draft.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

There’s just too many great authors out there to claim only one or two.  I’m a prolific reader which makes me love many, many books.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, and I wouldn’t want to either.  I’ve already traveled more than enough in my life.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My husband, Craig McDonough, did my covers.  Each cover is a true life photo of Dejni.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Being inside at the computer for so many hours.  I’m an outdoors woman.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I certainly did learn. Of course, the craft of writing is a large learning curve.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Only that writing the book is the easy part— marketing is the hard part.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Only that I hope each reader gets a fun glimpse into ranch life and how exciting it can be.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

One of our cowboys brought me the ‘S’ book from an encyclopedia set and a dictionary.  I also had an old Bible.  I was about 4 -5 years old.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Horses!   They make you laugh and /or cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d love to talk with the Dali Lama.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“Cowgirl To The Bone”  Because that’s what I am.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I paint in oils, love Plein Air painting. I have several guitars and enjoy playing Old Blues and Country.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t have TV, don’t care for it and I’m not fond of movies.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Fried Okra.  Most colors, but not Blue.  Blues, Country, old Rock.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I am an artist and go back and forth between art and writing.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.rhuepmcdonough.com/

Amazon Authors Page  http://www.amazon.com/Rhue-P.-McDonough/e/B00U8AX95A/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

 

