Name Amy Ruttan

Age: I’ll keep that information to myself. *winks* But if you want a general age, hurtling towards forty.

Where are you from: Toronto, Ontario

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

 Married and a mother to three great kids. Also new mother to a fur baby. A crazy cockapoo named Willow.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My next books will be out in February 2016. It’s two books about brothers and they’re interconnected in a miniseries titled Sealed by a Valentine’s Kiss.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Professionally I began really writing with the goal of publication in 2006, but I’ve always have been writing. It was one of my favourite subjects in school.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I sold my first book back in 2007, but I sold my first book to Harlequin in 2013.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was always my dream and I wanted to prove to my kids that you can make your dreams come true.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I plot first and then write. If I didn’t plot out a rough outline I wouldn’t be able to keep on task or keep the GMC’s of my characters straight.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I don’t title my books. Harlequin titles my books and that’s fine. I suck at titles! It’s nice not having to sweat out a title. I love the titles the Medical team come up with.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 It varies from book to book, but the gist is love and believing in it.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

I do a lot of research for my medical scenes or if I write the book in a location I’m not familiar with.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, all the books are fictional. Sometimes I get inspired if I read a medical article or something, but that’s about it.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor? 

I grew up reading Laura Ingalls Wilder, Roald Dahl and L.M. Montgomery when I was a child. My first romance was a Presents, but I can’t remember the title or author. The first single title romance I read was Connie Mason’s Ice & Rapture. She was my grandmother’s favourite author. My grandmother loved romance novels, so I devoured Connie Mason and Johanna Lindsey’s books.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Art of Raising of a Puppy by the Monks of New Skete.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I love working with Amalie Berlin and I love Jennifer Hayward’s Presents. My daughter and I enjoy the Wings of Fire series about dragons by Tui T. Sutherland.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

 I have three contracted books I’m working on now. I can’t really give much detail, but I’m pretty busy for the next year.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My local RWA Chapter the Toronto Romance Writers and the Harlequin forums. The community members there are great!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. It’s my job and passion.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, not a thing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 I’ve always been writing and drawing little stories. It’s just always been there.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a little excerpt from my last release One Night in New York:

 

“You need to find someone, Sam. You’re lonely.” Kimberlyn’s plea popped into his mind. “I know some nice girls,” she had said repeatedly.

Sam had always rebuffed her. The last thing he wanted was a relationship. He didn’t have time for one. Still, he kind of wished sometimes he had someone, even if just for a moment.

Sam was knocked out of his reverie and his drink was splashed down the front of his sweater when he was whacked by an icy wet scarf.

“Holy crackers! It’s cold out there,” a big puffy yeti said, sitting down on the bar stool next to him as it began to pull off its layers.

“Bloody hell…”

“Oh, my God. I’m so sorry.” As the last layer came off a beautiful redheaded vixen reached for a napkin and began to dab at his sweater in a futile attempt to soak up the expensive Scotch that had seeped into the fibers. “I can’t believe I did that. I didn’t see you there.”

“Obviously not.” Sam wiped away the chunk of snow that was melting in his eye. “Then again, I don’t how much you could see with that many layers on. It’s not that cold outside, lass.”

Her brown eyes widened. “You’re Scottish.”

“Half,” he mumbled, snatching the napkin from her hand and trying to fix the damage to his sweater himself. When he got agitated his accent came out thicker. His mother was American, but since his father had mostly raised him in the Highlands he had more Scot in him than Yankee, though he had been born in Manhattan at the hospital he was currently completing his residency in.

“I hope it’s not designer,” she said with concern.

“What’s not?” Sam asked confused.

“The sweater.”

He chuckled. “Hardly. No, it’s not designer. I just like it, that’s all.”

And he did. His gran had knitted it for him. It was a blue-gray V-neck sweater, which had seen better days, but it gave him a sense of home.

She smiled, a lovely warm one that made his heart skip a beat. There was something about red-haired women that made him melt just a bit. Maybe it was something about gingers sticking together, even though his hair was more auburn and hers was a bit more mahogany than the classic ginger.

Bloody hell. Why am I analyzing hair color? How many drinks have I had?

Then he remembered the Scotch currently soaked into his sweater had been his first and he’d only had a taste of it.

“I’m really sorry. Can I replace the drink I spilled?” She asked.

“That you can do.”

“I have to say I’m disappointed.”

“How so?” he asked.

“I thought you were going to answer me with ‘Aye.’”

Sam laughed. “No, I only save that for when I’m really tetchy. My name is Sam, by the way.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Balancing writing time and my family time.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t really have one favourite author, but I love books that are exciting, different from the norm. I like traveling to different places in my reading and being swept away. I like humour and sexual tension as well. If it keeps my interest, I’m hooked.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. Not really, though most of the conferences are in the states. So I sometimes can get there.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Harlequin’s art department. I wish I knew their names because they always do a good job.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The middle, because I can see the end and I try not to rush it.

 

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 I learned a lot about the brain in the book I just finished writing. That was interesting.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up. Keep trying, keep learning. Just keep going.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 I want to thank all my readers for reading my books. It means the world to me.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 Scrambled Eggs Super by Dr. Suess.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 Lots of things. Depends on how the mood strikes me.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 I’d like to meet my paternal grandfather. I never got to meet him.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I’m still standing.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I like to crochet.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 Anything British. I’m a huge fan of British comedy.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love hamburgers and pasta. Colours, I like forest green and music Queen would be my favourite band.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would love to be a radiologist. I find that fascinating.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? My website is www.amyruttan.com

 

This is the link to my Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/Amy-Ruttan/e/B002UBVGUK/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1450134328&sr=8-1

Thanks for having me!

