Name: Angela Campbell

Age: Old enough to know better

Where are you from: South Carolina

A little about your self, i.e. your education, family life, etc:  

I’m a simple gal who watches way too much TV, loves movies and superheroes, and rescues animals in her spare time — which there doesn’t seem to be enough of. I also write books because books are awesome.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I recently released a novella titled “Gorgeous Nightmare” as part of a boxed set — “Here Be Magic: 8 Magical Tales From The Realm Of Paranormal And Fantasy.” It’s a romantic suspense with paranormal elements. Can a reluctant psychic stop a deadly killer before the woman he loves is murdered?


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I lost my mother to cancer when I was young. Books and movies were my escape and helped me survive my grief. I started writing in middle school because I wanted to mimic what I loved, and it was the only career I ever truly wanted to pursue. I compromised with my father and went into journalism so I’d have a steady paycheck. I’m a journalist by day, and I write fiction on the side. It keeps me sane.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably when I first saw my byline in my high school newspaper. Honestly, I can’t remember a time when I didn’t consider myself a writer.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I read my first romance novel at 16 and immediately endeavored to write one, too. Many offbeat attempts (and a couple of decades) later, I managed to publish my first novel through Carina Press. To be honest, the first book I wrote is buried somewhere in one of the boxes I have in storage. I’m pretty sure it was terrible, and it’s not the book I finally managed to get published. I’m fortunate that I now have published four full-length novels.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’ve been told my writing is both quirky and straightforward. I try to find humor in everything, even dark topics.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I’m terrible at titles. Although my editors have welcomed my suggestions, I’m pretty sure they came up with each of my book titles using some amazing strategy I’m too inept to grasp. I did title my novella “Gorgeous Nightmare” simply by searching Amazon for all of the title names I originally came up with for it. “Gorgeous Nightmare” was the first to return no exact matches, so I used it. See? I told you I was terrible at titles.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

If there’s any message in “Gorgeous Nightmare,” it’s probably this: Don’t let anyone underestimate you, but if they do, use it to your advantage.

If there’s a message in the rest of my books, it’s to embrace who you are. I love writing about misfits — people who are outside the norm.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

In “Gorgeous Nightmare,” hopefully a lot of it is realistic. I did quite a bit of research into my heroine’s profession and the serial killer is based on a real urban legend/possibly real serial killer known as The Smiley Face Killer. The story features a psychic hero, and whether or not you believe in psychics, my goal is to help you suspend your disbelief into thinking, hmmm, what if…?


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, and thank goodness.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m working on finishing the fourth book in my psychic detectives series from Harper Impulse.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I doubt I’d be published without the support of my writing critique partners. They’re wonderful authors who give invaluable feedback. Abby Niles, Pamela Hearon, and Cynthia D’Alba.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, but I would probably change some things in “On the Scent,” the first book in my psychic detectives series. When I wrote it, I had no intention of writing a series, and I think it shows. I would have plotted a little more strategically, I think.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s the blurb for “Gorgeous Nightmare,” which isn’t related to my psychic detectives series: Dakota McBride is doing everything she can to fit into her new life in Asheville while guarding secrets that could get her killed. An unexpected run-in with Tyler Jackson—her older brother’s best friend and her long-time fantasy—puts everything in jeopardy. Dakota is a woman being hunted by a deadly serial killer, and Tyler seems hell-bent on protecting her, same as he always has. Through dreams, he’s foreseen her impending death. What neither Tyler nor the killer understand is that Dakota doesn’t need a protector. Heaven help anyone who threatens her now…

 

The novella is now available as part of the HERE BE MAGIC boxed set for only 99 cents. I’m fortunate to be included with seven other great authors, all of whom I admire.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing a series, it can be a challenge not to forget elements of your world building or aspects of your characters you’ve already established.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Pamela Hearon is probably my favorite author. As one of her critique partners, I’m amazed at how easy she makes good storytelling seem. I’ve also seen her grow as a writer, which I’m in awe of. She’s also a wonderful person.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publishers designed my novels’ covers. I designed my own cover for “Gorgeous Nightmare.”


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding the time to write.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

It seems like a laughable cliché, but anytime I finish a book, I’m reminded that anything is possible if you put your mind to it.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just keep writing. Perseverance is a writer’s best trait. One of my favorite quotes is “Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up” by Thomas Edison.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My cat makes me laugh often. She’s a real character. Seeing children or animals suffer makes me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would like to meet and why?

Yes, so many. Jesus Christ, for obvious reasons. I’d also love to have been able to meet Charlie Chaplin, Elvis Presley, or Jane Austen because they were all innovative creatives I greatly admire.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I considered being a teacher, but I think it’s one of the hardest and most under appreciated professions out there. My students probably would have left me duct-taped to my chair because I’m such a wimp. Ideally, I would love any job working with animals.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

You can learn more about my books at AngelaCampbellOnline.com.

 

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Angela-Campbell/e/B005Q4AAMS/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_4

