Name : Serena Grey

A little about yourself i.e. your education Family life etc  

I’m the last of three children, a book lover. I’m married to an amazing man, no children yet. I just hit thirty, which I still find to be a bit unbelievable. I wake up most mornings still thinking that I’m sixteen.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I published a new book a few days ago. Lost In You. It’s the third and final book in my Swanson Court series, a romance series featuring Landon Court, a handsome hotel owner who doesn’t do commitment, and Rachel Foster, a magazine writer who decides to have a fling with him, but ends up falling in love.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I really can’t say. I remember making up stories as a child. I used to read a lot, especially romance novels, though I also read espionage, classics and everything I could lay my hands on, but I think I read maybe one Harlequin/Mills and Boon/Silhouette romance every week. In my teens, I was writing stories like those I read, as well as unbelievable short romance stories/fantasies where Leonardo di Caprio always somehow ended up in my town and fell in love with me…


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I always knew that I was a writer. It was only a question of when I’d be published. I always thought I’d find an agent, get a deal, at some point in my life, but then the self-publishing wave rolled in, and there was no excuse to procrastinate anymore. I wrote my first short romance, Awakening, to test the waters, and I continued that series because the response from readers was encouraging, and self-publishing, with the amazing support system from fellow authors, reviewers, and readers, felt perfect for me. I haven’t stopped writing since then.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

If I do, I don’t believe I have a term for it. I like to close my eyes and meditate on my characters, their lives, their emotions, their desires. I try to empathize, to feel what they feel, so I can out it down on the page in a convincing way.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have read and loved so many books, that I can’t really say. I love books in multiple genres. I love those old chick-lit novels, Sophie Kinsella and Wendy Holden. I love Nick Hornby’s writing. I think Sylvia Day is a goddess for writing the Crossfire Series. I have read Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre, enough times to have most of the words tattooed in my heart. I’m obsessed with A Song of Ice and Fire by George R R Martin. I’m a Potterhead, a Twihard, I’m Greysessed. You get the picture… Total booknerd.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m doing this thing where I’m mixing Literary Fiction and Classics with books by contemporary romance authors. I recently finished Sophie’s Choice by William Styron… no words. It humbled me. I moved on to Never Let You Go, a reimagining of the Hansel and Gretel fairytale by Katy Regnery. Then Grey, by E.L James and Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer, both of which I enjoyed. I have North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell on my next-to-read list, and I’m dying to read The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Most of the authors I read now are new, as in, they only started publishing in the last five years or so. I love the Colleen Hoover books I’ve read. Though I have this thing where I buy her books as soon as they come out then save them for as long as possible before I read them, it’s weird, and I have no idea why I do that. When I finally read Maybe Someday, I cried my eyes out and now I’m saving Ugly Love.

I adore Cassia Leo. I read Relentless when it came out, and she has been an auto-buy for me since then.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m just finished the last book in the Swanson Court Trilogy. It’s called Lost In You and it’s about two people, Landon and Rachel, learning to trust their feelings for each other above their fears. I’m also working on a series of novellas, and a standalone novel.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Kboards. It’s this marvelous writer’s forum, where people are so helpful, established authors come to share their stories… I got a lot of inspiration from that place. Facebook is also a very inspiring place once you get to know people in the writing and reading community.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Of course.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Because writing is such a solitary pursuit, I think most writers, myself included, have to contend with that inner voice, a lot more than people in other careers do. There’s nothing as discouraging as a negative inner voice, making the author concentrate on what’s wrong with a story, instead of what’s beautiful about it.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write, Write. Write. No matter how difficult it seems.

Don’t fret too much about the first draft, just pour it out, and perfect it later.

Never let negative reviews make you stop doing what you love.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

You are awesome. You’ve made my dream of writing a reality. I love you.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I’m silly. I’m addicted to silliness. I laugh at myself all the time. Movies, books, and music make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Don’t even go there. Too many people. I’m intrigued by the powerful men of Renaissance Italy and ancient Rome. I’d like to be J.K Rowling’s bestie for a day.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Reading, Movies, TV series, Music, Chocolate and everything else that’s bad for my teeth.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Downton Abbey. I loved Mad Men and I’m crazy about the Walking Dead. I love The Mindy Project and Silicon Valley too.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’d be driving the whole world crazy until they let me be a writer? I don’t know. I’d be designing living spaces, that’s what I’m formally trained for.

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, I have a website. www.serenagrey.com.

I also stay in touch with my readers through Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Goodreads.

 

Amazon Authors page  http://www.amazon.com/Serena-Grey/e/B00DBLKXQG/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&linkCode=ur2&tag=riblbefab-20

