Name  Genevieve Ryan (Author name: Gen Ryan )

Age: 28

 

Where are you from: Springfield, MA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc 

I just wrapped up all my classes for my Ph.D. in Forensic Psychology. I am currently working on my dissertation that focuses on maternal filicide and developing a preventative form to help get mothers the help they need before committing this horrific crime.

I have been married to my high school sweetheart for almost ten years (yes I married at 18.) We have a daughter named Emma, who is 8 and a fur baby named Chewbacca (Chewy) who is an American Eskimo and super white and fluffy. Don’t tell him this though-he thinks he’s a trained guard dog!

I am a Full-time college Professor teaching primarily psychology and humanities courses. I love what I do!

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Well, I self-published my book for less than a month in October of 2015. Then, I got offered not one but TWO publishing deals! I was in shock. I didn’t know what was going to happen when I wrote my book. It is dark, focuses on some deep psychological issues, but has romance to keep all the ladies swooning. I didn’t know what to expect, and here I am working on the first round of edits with a projective date for a release date in February. How cool is that?

Now I am working with the best team at Hot Tree Publishing. I can’t say enough amazing things about these ladies. They have been nothing but kind, supportive and just all around amazing. I have heard some horror stories about publishing a book and honestly, this has probably been one of the best experiences so far. They include my on all of the decision and constantly are asking for my feedback. You can see that they love what they do and making authors dreams come true. So, all you wonderful ladies if you’re reading this…Thank you for taking a chance on a newbie like me!

So currently, I say to myself daily-pinch me please is this my life!?!

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always loved writing. I liked poetry a lot in school, so I stuck with that for a while. I was a theater major before switching so creativity, writing, etc. always called to me.

But when I turned on my computer was when I decided to continue and get my Ph.D. after finishing my masters.  I started writing Beautiful Masterpiece a few years ago when I started the program to help ease my stress. The characters were pounding in my head and well, when you read the book these are characters you can just let sit around!

Now, I have a publishing contract and many other book ideas! I am so excited to be writing and sharing my stories with the world.

Again, pinch me, please!

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I got the email offers. I know, everyone says you are always a writer, but it felt real to me then. I legit think I had a moment when I was like “Wow, I’m doing this.”

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always had a love for criminal behavior and the need to understand what makes criminals do what they do. Hence, why I got into Forensic Psychology. I have a lot of stories and many years of school (and binge watching Criminal Minds, Law and Order and Dexter) where ideas have come to me. I liked how these shows focused on the crime, but I always wanted more. So, I decided to write about it!

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really. I write much like how I talk. So modern I guess!

But, I do love shifting POV. I like to get in my character’s head. So right now all the books I am writing do switching POVs.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Ah! Good Question. You’ll have to read it find out!! Muahhhhhaaaa ß—— that’s my evil laugh!

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

That no matter what your past is, you can overcome it. Al of us, even those of us with the scarred pasts that eat away at us, deserve happiness, and maybe even a happing ending!

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I’d say it’s realistic to what would potentially happen with this given plot. I can’t give much away here, but it is real, nothing totally unrealistic.

 

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No personal experiences. Madison, one of the main characters, her personal appearance was based off my myself. She received the same degree I have. But other than that, the plot and what not or not based on anyone I know! Just all from my crazy head.

 

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

From when I was little, I always read. I loved getting lost in books and movies. I wouldn’t say it was just one author or one book that gave me that push, but rather, finally having enough confidence in myself and my work to send it out to publishers.

I definitely couldn’t have done without my best friend who guided me and gave me the much-needed eye roll now and then to just do it! She also has her own editing company-Freedom Writing Services. She helped me a lot with developing myself as a writer.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Lawless by T.M. Frazier. I am a sucker for a guy on a motorcycle. I haven’t started it yet, but it is sitting on my kindle and my next read. I won this on a Facebook online raffle offered by Reflections of a Book Geek and can’t wait to dig in!

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’ve fallen in love with Colleen Hoover. I mean who hasn’t?! She is like the hot thing right now. I just spent $115.00 on signed books of hers to start my signed paperback collection for my spare room that I’m  doing over as my writing/work room. Sh, don’t tell my husband.

 

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Right now I am working on edits for Beautiful Masterpiece. I tend to work on one thing at a time. Working FT, kid, husband, etc. can be pretty demanding, and now I have a writing schedule to adhere too! BUT lately, I find I am writing a little each week of Book 3 in the Thin Red Lines series. Each one of these books has prior characters but are from different POVS.

I’m really into the story in the 3rd one. It is something I was going to write my dissertation on so I am really in it. But honestly, right now my focus is on making Beautiful Masterpiece well, Beautiful!

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My students. Each and everyone one of them has given me the support and encouragement. I know it is my job to give that to them, but every day I see them and watch them reach their goals and succeed, I’m reminded that everything is possible.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely!

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would maybe not self-publish for the short time and just have waited. I didn’t have enough confidence in my writing and my story to think I would get any offers, so I jumped the gun a bit. But, I see everything as an opportunity to learn and grow!

 

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

R.L. Stine and Nancy Drew. I owned every single one of these books. I dragged my poor daughter to see the R.L Stine movie. She has no interest in those types of things, but it was my excuse! (haha).

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It’s being edited so until it’s ready; I will hold off. But here is the synopsis:

 

Madison Harper is no stranger to monsters.

 

After surviving an unimaginable childhood, she fights her past every day and dreams of working for the FBI to protect the innocent from monsters like her own father. Her plans are clear: finish her Ph.D., then join the next class of trainees.

 

Her father’s escape fast forwards her plans.

 

The two agents assigned to protect and instruct Madison offer her so much more than she ever expected. They teach her about love and pain, trust and loss. But not everyone can or should be saved.

 

Will Madison avoid being her father’s last Beautiful Masterpiece?

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing on demand.  I am mood writer, and there are days where I just don’t have it in me. I’m not “feeling it”. I have to force myself to get into the story again. Often this requires a re-read and reviewing notes etc.

 

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Gosh, this is tough. I am just going to be general here. I like any author who isn’t afraid to write about the not so “pretty” stuff. I am a sucker for a good romance but honestly, what romance doesn’t have some angst? Some drama? I love real heroines, those who have real flaws and insecurities. So Harper Sloan-adored her Perfectly Imperfect, Colleen Hoover, and Anie Michaels. I have to add Sylvia Day and E.L James because they certainly paved the way for more sex in everyday books. Real sex not the illusion of sex. I’ll stop here because I could go on forever!

 

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not currently. I do have one Signing scheduled for 2016. The Sinfully Yours Author Event in New Hampshire. Depending on how things go when the book is released, I hope to add more!

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The cover won’t be designed until the New Year but the wonderful ladies at Hot Tree Publishing will be making it and I know it will be amazing.

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

When it ended. I felt lost. It had become such apart of me that I was sad when I typed THE END.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that half the battle is just believing in yourself. Not everyone is going to like your stories, but all that matters is you did it. You were brave enough to take those ideas floating around in your head and put them down.

 

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write. Stop second guessing yourself and just write! Okay, maybe that is more advice for myself, but many writers I speak with have this issue. They always think it has to be perfect the first time. The first draft is supposed to need work! Just get those ideas down and perfect it later.

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for taking a chance on a new author like me. You rock!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t. Probably Dr. Seuss though. His home is about 5 minutes from mine!

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My dog, daughter, and husband make me laugh a lot. My students too! They are always saying things that bring me to tears of laughter. Music makes me cry a lot of the time. Music is amazing and a constant part of my life.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

That I lived a full, happy life.

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Haha! Hobbies what are those? No, just writing and reading mostly. Does shopping count as a hobby? If so then shopping! Yes!

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Walking Dead, American Horror Story. Dexter. Criminal Minds. Bones.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I’m such a carnivore. Give me a big hunk of meat any day and cheese! Yummy!

I love light colors like green/yellow/orange.

I love all types of music. Just depends on my mood which is usually based on what I am writing. Currently, I have Christmas tunes on repeat J I love Christmas time.

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Something in the acting field maybe? I don’t know. I think I am living out my creative side with writing when I sort of left acting and theater on the side. But I do love teaching. When I was a little girl, I always played school. One my aunts made me a huge teaching set, and everyone said I would be a teacher. Here I am, teaching and I must say I love it. Even if my writing becomes lucrative enough where I can just write, I will always teach to some capacity because honestly, it is probably the best career choice I ever made.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website is a work in progress, but I do have Facebook, which I use regularly. Add me so you can stay up to date when the book is scheduled to be released.

Here is my Author FB page: https://www.facebook.com/genryanauthor/?ref=hl

Here is my Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0161JEEBO

Also! Add Hot Tree Publishing! Some amazing authors and an amazing team:

http://www.hottreepublishing.com/

 

 

 

