Name:  

JC: JC Santo

Age:  

JC: 28

Where are you from:  

JC: Waco, Texas

A little about your self (ie your education Family life etc): 

JC: I was born and raised in Texas. Growing up I loved reading and writing, was co­editor of my high school newspaper. I just recently finished up my associate of Arts degree and have plans to return to school for my Bachelor’s. My high school sweetheart enlisted in the Navy and we ended up getting married which is what lead me to Virginia, where I’ve been for the last five years.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?  

JC: I am in the process of writing my second book and I am loving it so far! I hope the readers will enjoy this story. I’ve also confirmed three signings I’ll be attending next year!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?  

JC: I loved writing when I was younger, but never thought it could be anything more that a hobby or something that was kept private. After reading so many romance novels, I decided to give myself a shot at something I’ve always enjoyed doing.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?  

JC: When I started getting reviews for Inevitable Love. I had some from my beta readers, but when people I’d never met or talked to started leaving reviews saying my book gave them ‘feels’, that’s when it hit me.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?  

JC: I wanted a strong heroine, most of the books I read have the men coming to save the day, I wanted to do something a little different.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?  

JC: I don’t think I do. I write much like I talk.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?  

JC: One of my beta readers actually came up with it. I wanted the word Love in it somewhere, she toyed around with different ideas and came to me with Inevitable Love. It just fit perfectly.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?  

JC: I wanted to show some of the different ways deployments affects family members and the service members. I also wanted to show that you don’t have to give birth in order to be a mother.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

JC: There are quite a few little tidbits throughout that are similar to my real life. As far as locations and military procedures that are talked about, they are all real. I live in the Norfolk, VA area, most of the places listed are some that I frequent often.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  

JC: Some are based on my own personal experiences and those of some of my friends, while others are completely fictional. Most of the military experiences are based off one of my best friend’s enlistment in the Navy, while a lot of Tessa’s background comes from my own life.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?  

JC: Go Ask Alice was a big one when I was younger. It’s a diary about a young girl who gets lost in the world of drugs and alcohol. That book stuck with me for years, I am still in love with the powerful and heartbreaking message it gave.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?  

JC: I just finished Breeze by Ashley Hampton…such an amazing read!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

JC: Ashley Hampton, Alex Grayson, and Shae Scott.

Fiona: What are your current projects?  

JC: I’m currently working on book 2 in the Navy Love Series, Love Unwanted.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.  

JC: Talk Nerdy to Me, it’s a private facebook group I’ve been it since it started a couple years ago. The girls in there have become like a second family.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?  

JC: I hope it can be one day.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?  

JC: I don’t think so, it may not be perfect or exactly what people expect, but I love it and I’m incredibly proud of myself for writing it. I didn’t do it to please other people, I wrote it because that’s what was in my heart and in my head at the time.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?  

JC: No idea, I remember in school other kids hated being forced to do essays, while I loved them. As long as it was free range papers, now give me a research paper and I despised it.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? 

JC:

We toss our trash and walk out of the shop. Marshall walks me to my car and plants a kiss to my forehead before walking away. I climb in and shut the door when a light rap on my window causes me to look up to see Marsh standing there again. I press the window button, unsure what he needs.

“I know Tessa is giving you a hard time right now and is thinking the worst of Reed. And I know you’re confused and frustrated with both her and Reed, but know that if you feel like Reed is worth the risk, take a chance and go after what you want, cupcake. I’ve known Reed for awhile now and I know he has some issues, but I can guarantee you, when that man decides to finally let love in, he’s gonna love fierce, just like everything else that he does.”

With that he walks away, leaving me speechless.

Reed has a cheerleader

.

Copyright JC Santo 2015

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  

JC: With Inevitable Love I wrote out of order, so going back and trying to piece the puzzle together was a challenge. With Love Unwanted I’m trying to write in order, but that also can be a challenge, sometimes random scenes come to me when I’m not ready for them.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? 

JC: Ahh, that’s a tough question, I love so many. I have to say J.K. Rowling. I love that she was able to create this entire magical world with her words, every time I read a Harry Potter book, I felt like I was in that world. Her books are mesmerizing to me. I love that even now I can pick one up and not only remember so many details, but also still get completely engulfed in the wizarding world again.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?  

JC: I haven’t yet, that will change come summer of 2016.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?  

JC: Anhalt Photography and Design

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?  

JC: The writing was easy for me, the publishing was hard. I had no clue what to do or where to start. Not to mention the fear of absolute rejection.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?  

JC: I never realized how much time and effort authors put into their books before. I know that sounds terrible, but I didn’t. I’ve learned that promoting your books can make a drastic difference in sales.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?  

JC: Promote and Network. Get in good with some blogs, find an experienced author who’s willing to mentor you through it. It can easily become very overwhelming, it’s nice to have someone walk you through the challenging parts.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  

JC: Thank you guys for the support so far, and I hope y’all will continue on this crazy journey with me!!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?  

JC: Oh I have no idea.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?  

JC: My sons can make me laugh on a daily basis. Now for crying, anything dealing with military homecomings.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?   

JC: I’d love to meet

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ? 

JC: I have no clue! I hope that my boys will put something about my being a good mother and my husband better say what a wonderful wife I was! Other than that, it doesn’t matter to me.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ? 

JC: Reading, obviously. If I’m not reading or writing, I’m doing some sort of crafting, I’m currently obsessed with making those burlap wreaths!

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?  

JC: I love anything on Bravo, NCIS and Sons Of Anarchy.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

JC: I love texmex food. Or just some Taco Bell and I’m happy. My favorite colors are lime green and navy blue. And I love country music, but I’ll listen to just about anything.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done? 

JC: Before I started writing I’ve spent the past five years as a stay at home mom and a full time online student. So if I wasn’t focused on writing, I would probably be doing the same thing, focusing my attention on my school work and spending my days with my boys.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? 

JC: I do not have a website up at the moment. I have a ‘like’ page on Facebook and an

Amazon author page.

Goodreads: ​https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/JC%C2%ADSanto/e/B016XLZBLC/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=144%209814668&sr=8%C2%AD1

 

Facebook: ​https://www.facebook.com/JCSantoAuthor/?ref=hl

Book Links:

Free on KU!!

US: http://amzn.to/1LWXwND

AU: http://bit.ly/1LWXAwZ

UK: http://amzn.to/1LC4HZA

CA: http://amzn.to/1RhRIfD

 

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1OMDOD9

 

