Name  Wendy H. Jones.

The H stands for Henderson which is my grandmothers maiden name.

 

Where are you from  I’m from Dundee in Scotland. 

Which is famous for jam Jute and Journalism

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am not married but spend a lot of time with my wider family of which is large. I love reading, obviously, travelling, meeting people and am a committed member of my local church. I make the most of life and believe you should enjoy every minute.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am currently writing the fourth book in the DI Shona McKenzie Mysteries which will be out next year. I am also working on a book on Marketing and Promotion for Writers. It is interesting to write a factual, rather than fiction, book.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing four years ago. I had the idea for the first book in the series and sat down to write it. It has been a whirlwind ride from then on


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

From the minute I wrote the first word in the book.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I phoned up a radio programme about writing and publishing. To my surprise I got through and asked a question about starting to write. I was told about National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo as it is more commonly called. This involves writing 50,000 words in the month of November. I started writing during this and haven’t looked back.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think I write in quite a humorous way.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The first word in my title is always Killer’s. The second word signifies something which is happening in the book.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The main message is that good always wins over evil. However, the first book also has another theme but I can’t say anything about this without giving away the plot.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

It is a mixture of realism and fiction. None of the deaths are real. Some of the police detail is real but I also use artistic license. For example the Scottish Police are not armed. However, DI Shona McKenzie and her team are always signing guns out.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Everything is made up. I definitely don’t go around killing people the way I do in books.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have been reading mystery books since I was able to read. I would have to say that all mystery writers are my inspiration.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The Mizpah Ring by Dorothy Stewart


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

As I say, I love all crime fiction so I will read any crime author established or new.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

The fourth DI Shona McKenzie Mystery and a book on Marketing and Promotion for Writers


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Other Scottish Crime writers have been very supportive, as have my friends.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. This is what I do for a living as well as something I love.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

At the moment no, as it has only been out three weeks. However, who knows in the future.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always been a writer. I was given a typrewriter as a child and I started writing books then

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It is still in the process of being written so not much to share at the moment. However, I can tell you that it is called Killer’s Cut.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Making sure that the story arc works well and that all loose ends are tied up. In book one I got to the end and realized I hadn’t investigated one of the murders. I had to sort that out.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

U can’t name just one but Scottish Crime Writers such as Lin Anderson, Alex Gray, Ian Rankin, Ed James and Stuart MacBride are current favourites. They are all different and yet write stories which draws the reader in.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have travelled to different places in Scotland for research but not too far. I did some book signings in the South of England which was fun. I am always being asked to do book tours in Australia and New Zealand so who knows what will happen.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The highly talented Cathy Helms of Aavalon Graphics. The bottom of each cover is a scene from Dundee, the top signifies something which happens in the book.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Ensuring that the ending was tense and kept the reader guessing right up to the last line.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learnt I have a mind which can go to the strangest places in terms of killing people. I also learnt a lot about the process and craft of writing.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write as much as you can and read as many books on writing as you can.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Read with an open mind. Reach as much as you can and I hope you enjoy the books.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I learnt to read when I was three so I can’t remember the first book.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a dry sense of humour so a lot of things make me laugh. I cry at the drop of a hat. My emotions are all over the place.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would have liked to meet Sir Walter Scott, one of the best Scottish writers. I would have liked to talk writing with him. However, as he died in 1872 there’s not much chance of that.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

She entertained people. This is because I would like to think that I did just that throughout my life.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I love travelling, reading books, reading magazines, history and cross stitch.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

All the crime dramas. Downton Abbey. Call the Midwife, Mr Selfridge,

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Any Indian food. I need another one as I am a chocaholic, so chocolate. Favourite colur yellow. Favourite music is opera and classical

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve done a lot in my life before I became a writer; I was in both the Royal Navy and the British Army as a nurse. I also worked in Academia both in posts as a lecturer and a manager. So quite a varied career.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I have both as follows:

Website: http://www.wendyhjones.com

Blog: http://wendyhjones-bookaholic.blogspot.co.uk

 

Author.to/WendyHJones   This is a universal link do will take the reader to the Amazon of their country.

