Name Collette West.

Age I’m in my thirties.

Where are you from

I’ve resided in NY and PA.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m single.

I’m a dog owner.

I have a bachelor of arts degree.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

The latest book in my New York Kings series, GAME WINNER, was released on December 4.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing novels about five years ago when the company I was working for folded.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t think I ever will to be honest. I still have to pinch myself.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

To come up with a happy ending.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I enjoy alternating first person POVs between the male and female character.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Every title in my New York Kings series has the word GAME in it (since they are baseball romances). I chose GAME WINNER for Jake’s story because I wanted to see him come out on top after battling through so much heartache.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

You don’t always get what you want, you get what you need.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I think the loss that Jake suffers is one a lot of men can relate to, but really don’t speak about.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

They are 100% fictional.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

My editor, Cate Hogan, has been a fantastic mentor to me.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading RYKER by Sawyer Bennett.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’d like to read the OVER THE FENCE series by Carrie Aarons.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m in the process of developing a spin-off series that would feature the guys on the New York Kings minor league team, the Stockton Beavers.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My blog tour coordinators – Nicole at Indie Sage and Amanda and Damaris at Good Choice Reading.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would write a scene going into more detail about how Jake is a minister’s son, but doesn’t necessarily want to live that lifestyle. Religion is important to him, but at the same time he’s open to what life has to offer. He’s more guilt-ridden about not being the perfect son and confuses that with not living up to his religious beliefs.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From being an avid reader.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is an excerpt from GAME WINNER.

A lot of unanswered questions hang in the air, but for one glorious moment, when Scarlett’s voice pierced through my troubled mind and touched the innermost region of my heart, I was able to forget all about my ex, Roberta Bennett.

Jackson and Colt are wrong. The reaction I had to her voice was akin to something holy. Yeah, I’ve had strong feelings for a girl before, and I’ve been burned badly because of it. But there was something so remarkably pure and genuine about the whole encounter with Scarlett that I refuse to see it tainted.

I take a knee and face the outfield wall.

Bowing my head, minister’s son that I am, I begin whispering the quick prayer I always say before the start of every game.

“Dear Lord, please protect me and my teammates from injury and help us to play to the best of our ability in the field and at the plate.”

But, tonight, I don’t stop there. I add in one last request.

“And, God, if you really did send Scarlett Moore into my life for a reason, please give me a sign that she’s someone worth taking a chance on.” I release the breath I was holding. “Amen.”

I raise my head and immediately notice that Scarlett’s on the big screen again, only she’s somewhere in the stands this time, ready to watch the game. But, as the camera pans away, I put a hand down on the outfield grass to steady myself.

Turns out she’s sitting directly behind home plate, right next to Roberta.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The whole left brain/right brain thing – creativity in characterization needs to work analytically within the confines of a specific plot.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite author is Catherine Gayle because she writes from the heart.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Sarah Hansen, Okay Creations.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Creating mounting tension with a big payoff at the end.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

The emotion a reader feels is what they’ll take away from a book.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Refine. Rewrite. Relate.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

With so many reading choices out there, thanks for sticking with me.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Mother Goose.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The honesty of a sincere person.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Mary Shelley. She was a woman writer ahead of her time.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Author of GAME OVER … I have a wry sense of humor.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I’m an avid sports fan.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

TV: The Americans, House of Cards, Homeland

Films: Documentaries or indie flicks

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods: Italian, Chinese, Mexican

Colors: Blues and greens

Music: Country, Folk, Rock (1960s-1980s)

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’d be involved in helping some kind of charity.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Collette West
sports romance author

Like me on Facebook.
Follow me on Twitter.
Friend me on Goodreads.
Sign up for my email newsletter.
Buy my books on Amazon.
Buy official New York Kings Fan Gear.

 

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Collette-West/e/B00IO1VR3Q/

 

New York Kings fan gear:

http://newyorkkings.logosoftwear.com

 
Links:

http://www.amazon.com/Collette-West/e/B00IO1VR3Q/

 

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/%22Collette%20West%22?

 

https://itunes.apple.com/us/author/collette-west/id830692301?mt=11

 

http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/ColletteWest

 

https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/search?query=Collette%20West&

 

