Name: Chudney Thomas

Age:36

Where are you from:

Born in Brooklyn, raised in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, live in Florida.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

I come from a massive multicultural, multiethnic family, opionated and lively family. I love food,music and books.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Chudney: I’m working on my next release Full Force and just release Love in an elevator a contemporary as part of the Hero’s, Hunks and Hammers anthology.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Chudney: I’ve always written stories but I didn’t start writing seriously until after my second child was born in 2005. Then I started writing a book about my mother because neither of my girls knew their grandmother.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Chudney: I’m going to say in 2006 or 2007 when I found Romance Writers of America, specifically my local chapter the Central Florida Romance writers.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Chudney: Full Circle came about because of a conversation with a friend. It was essentially a question, with all these kick ass heroines (whom I love) in paranormal and Urban Fantasy; what happens to the other females?

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Chudney: I don’t think so.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Chudney: I felt that the character had in fact come Full Circle. She’d tried life outside her pack, and tried to ignore her fate but it just brought her right back to Drake and their pack.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Chudney: It would be that you are more than what you think you are and sometimes there are people out there who believe in you more than you believe in ourselves. Maybe it’s time you followed suit.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Chudney: All of it except for the Paranormal parts and maybe the people wanting to kill you parts ( I don’t think everybody has experienced that, though some have). I Think every human being has been in situations with friends,family and lovers.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Chudney: Ria’s very maternal and I am too, but that doesn’t mean I based her character specifically on myself. It’s more like she is an amalgam of different people, I know and observed.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

Chudney: Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women, Jean Rhys’ Wide Sargasso Sea, Banana Yoshimito’s Kitchen and a host of others.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Chudney: I don’t think I could choose. But in terms of an actual Mentor and friend. Katie Reus.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Chudney: I’m re-reading Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling Series.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Chudney: Sonali Dev

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Chudney: I’m editing, Full Force, Sequel to Full Circle. And drafting Full Throttle the next book in the series.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Chudney: RWA, when other writers groups required you to already be published before you were allowed to join, RWA  took in a fledgling writer and made me feel welcome and encouraged me to write.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Chudney: Yes. It’s not a hobby. I’ve invested time, effort and passion into this craft.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Chudney: No I think I did the best I could at the time and I’ve learned a lot in the process.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Chudney: I’ve always love to read. I would rewrite stories in my head if they didn’t end the way I wanted. But I got serious after my second child.

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Chudney:

A low pitched growl reverberated through the room. The sound of paws hitting the door followed. A yelp of pain penetrated the door and brought every wolf in the room to attention. A reminder that the silver coated door caused momentary pain and they were holding one of their own against his will.

“Do you think we have the wrong wolf?”

“No, he decided his fate when he agreed to get rid of Central Florida’s Alpha and his mate.”

A second weaker yelp reached their ears.

“It’s not much of a trial if he’s drugged.”

“When the time comes he won’t be. The Council has a flare for the dramatic.” Thomas tucked his shirt into his pants he eyes locked on her. She was accustomed to the tug of war between Thomas and the Council. “Besides Drake Neilson won’t fight a drugged wolf. He might be angry at the attempt on his mate’s life but he has honor. Your job is to make sure Alpha Neilson’s mate is safe.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Chudney: Each book is different. It takes me a while to settle into a rhythm.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Chudney: I have a few favorites. Patricia Briggs I’ll pick for this one. There’s a breath and depth to her work that sucks me in and wrings me out and makes me read it over and over again to see why it works.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Chudney: No, not really. I travelled to quite a few conferences this year to see what I could reasonably expect to do in terms of conferences. I don’t think I’ll do that many again.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Chudney: My very talented graphic artist Jaycee Delorenzo of Sweet’n’Spicy designs.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Chudney: Time. Having the time to write.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Chudney: Never give up. Never give in. And, when in doubt break the work into smaller chunks.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Chudney: It doesn’t matter how slow you write as long as you write, same goes for editing. Just keep going.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Chudney: Thank you! Thank you for taking a chance on me! Thank you for you kind words and your interest in my book! And know that it is appreciated.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Chudney: Know, but I do remember Enid Blyton and Beatrix Potter were in heavy rotation.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Chudney: What makes me laugh? Good jokes with good friends and anything by Paul Keens-Douglas a Caribbean Storyteller I grew up listening to. What makes me cry? It’s as simple as a sappy commercial or sometimes I’ll sympathy cry when comforting a friend.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Chudney: My maternal grandmother she died when my mother was young so I never met her.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Chudney: She lived and lived well.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Chudney: I craft. i don’t think I can call myself an artist. I like playing with paint and paper. I also knit blankets at a very slow rate.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Chudney: We cut the cord with cable recently so I tend to binge watch. I like Vikings, Scandal, Orphan Black, Game of Thrones to name a few. I love Bond movies but I also have the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice on hand as well.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Chudney: Did you know chocolate is a food group? As for colors, blue but to be honest anything that bright and full of life. Music: If you ever got a hold of my I-pod or my Pandora stations you’ll see that my music is really eclectic. I like anything from Classical to Rock, to Alternative to Pop, to Reggae and  Soca.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Chudney: Probably dance on Broadway but more than likely I would have been a radio DJ.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Chudney: www.ChudneyThomas.com

 

Book links:

Full Circle: http://www.amazon.com/Full-Circle-Central-Florida-Pack-ebook/dp/B00NX11RBY/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Anthology: http://www.amazon.com/Hunks-Hammers-Happily-Ever-Afters-ebook/dp/B013J85PQS/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Full Force: http://www.amazon.com/Full-Force-Central-Florida-Pack-ebook/dp/B017ZTU68O/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

 

