Name: Shelby Reeves                                   

Age: 23

Where are you from: Florence, AL

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m happily married to my wonderful husband and together we have a son, Deven. I am a Food Support Manager at Walmart, working my way up the ladder to Assistant. Other than writing, photography is my passion. Harry Potter and Alabama Football are my obsessions.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Cover reveal for Shattering the Pieces and Reviving the Pieces, books 5 & 6 in the Pieces series is December 11th, 2015. Torn into Pieces will be releasing soon. I don’t have a definite date set, yet.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

In high school I always wanted to write something, but I never had the time. It was something that called to me, something I craved to do. About 2 years after I graduated, I started my first novel.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I published my first book.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to write something suspenseful, a book which captured the reader’s attention and held it.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write first person/present tense.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The male character, Adam, was helping Kaylee pick up the pieces of her life.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Domestic violence happens more than you think to women. I want readers to know the signs so maybe they can help someone.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

In my life? None of it is real.

Adam’s first name came from my husband’s best friend who died from cancer.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

So far none of them have not came from my life, but you never know.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Molly McAdams books always inspire me.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Illustrated book.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Lady J, Franny Marie, Jamie Summer, and MA Scott are just a few.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Breaking Free of the Pieces and Saving you


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My best friend, Mary Lynn.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Hopefully.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I wouldn’t.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not really. I just knew I wanted to write.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

A girl steps into my line of vision, plastering a smile. My night is fixing to suck. “Hey, would you be willing to do us a huge favor?” Brandy winks at me suggestively and I resist an eye roll. Brandy is part of the Delta Sigma sorority here at UK. I’ve personally never really liked her at all.

“What is the favor?” I ask, already knowing it will be some crazy shit.

“I have a pledge who lost a dare and she has to kiss a frat guy in a closet, blindfolded.”

See what I mean? Crazy right? Where do these girls come up with this stuff?

What the hell. I guess I might as well since I have nothing better to do. “Sure, why not.” I half-heartedly shrug, not caring how dumb this proposition is.

“The rules include you being blindfolded as well.” And it just got crazier. Again, I ask, where in the hell do these chicks come up with this crap?

My mouth speaks before my brain conjures up a more appropriate response. “She better not be ugly, Brandy.”

“Brad you know me better than that! Would I have an ugly girl in my house? I think not!” She huffs. Brandy has me there. “Now, follow me.” Absentmindedly, I follow her to the nearest closet like a lost puppy.

Everything goes black as she covers my eyes with the blindfold. I am then shuffled into the closet and left there.

Okay, what the hell is with the damn blindfolds if we are in the damn dark closet? Why in the hell did I agree to this? I ask myself that same question five more times before the door finally opens and closes. Hell, how am I even supposed to know where she is or even if she really is in here? There better be an actual chick in here.

I stretch my arms out slowly, trying to feel something, anything. “This is so stupid,” I mutter under my breath.

“I know,” the girl whispers back. At least I know there is someone in here and she agrees with me on how stupid this whole ordeal is.

My fingers finally touch the smoothest, silkiest hair possible. Here goes nothing. I dive in, bringing her mouth to mine. The first kiss is awkward because let’s be honest, it’s hard to kiss in the dark, let alone while you’re blindfolded. I mutter an apology and we try again. Not only was her hair soft, but her lips are plush. We didn’t stop with one kiss like we were supposed to, nor did we stop at two…or three…or four. I couldn’t make myself stop, and neither could she.

I bring my hands up to cradle her face as my tongue devours her. Her hands fly up to my hair and tugs. The growl I tried to suppress, breaks free as I back her up against the wall.

The banging on the door comes way too soon. I wasn’t ready to stop, but the banging continues.

We break apart, panting like we just ran five miles. Then she is gone, leaving me standing in the broom closet, reeling.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing details trip me up sometimes.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Molly McAdams writes so fluently I fall in love with her stories from the first sentence.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, I have not.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Lindee Robinson Photography designed most of them. Sara Eriew designed a couple of them and Cover Me, Darling. Everyone I have worked with so far has been amazing. All of them are so talented!


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

When the characters are not talking and you are stuck.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Do not rush just to get published. Take your time.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up. It may seem like you will never reach your goals or achieve your dreams, but keep at it and you will.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you from the bottom of my heart. You don’t know how much your support means to me.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not specifically, but I did read a lot of Lurlene McDaniel in high school.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Just about everything makes me laugh and sad books and movies makes me cry. P.S I love you gets me every time.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

J.K Rowling because she created the magical world of Harry Potter.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Honestly, I have never thought about it. I really don’t know what I want it to say.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Photography and scrapbooking.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t get to watch my TV, but I loved One Tree Hill. It’s my favorite show to date.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite food? Gah, that’s a hard one! My little family and I eat Mexican a lot so I guess you could say that’s our favorite. Favorite colors are blue and yellow. Music? I love listening to just about anything, but my favorite genres are Country and Rock. Keith Urban and Nickelback all the way!

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I would still be working my current job as a Food Support Manager at Walmart. I’m working my way up to Assistant Manager. Maybe Photography, too.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.facebook.com/shelbyreevesauthor

 

Amazon Authors page  http://www.amazon.com/Shelby-Reeves/e/B00SKQFXFI/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1449300450&sr=1-2-ent

