Name – Jan Romes

Age – Old enough to know better, too young to resist

Where are you from – The Buckeye State/Ohio

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  –

Married to my high school sweetheart for more years than seems possible, I’m also a mom to a son and daughter, and grandma to four fun and energetic grandkids. I worked many years for an electric company as a clerk/dispatcher until my husband gave me his blessing to quit my day job to write. (I couldn’t ask for a more supportive spouse) Directly after quitting my job I took online writing classes to learn the proper way to create my characters and stories. It’s been an incredible journey since.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news? –

This morning I signed a contract with The Wild Rose Press for my book, Wild Goose Chase.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing? –

I was drawn to writing because of my love for books. I read a lot and wanted to try my hand at writing the stories that were forever in my head. My husband worked the graveyard shift. When he left for work, I would writer via a typewriter. Those early stories are tucked away because they need a lot of work. Someday I may revisit them. My big break came in 2011 when The Wild Rose Press published my book, One Small Fib.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer? –

It felt real when I finished my first full length novel, but my confidence soared when I signed my name on a contract with The Wild Rose Press.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? –

My love for reading.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? –

I consider my writing style to be fast-paced and humorous; not slapstick funny but witty with an edge of sarcasm.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title? –

The title for Wild Goose Chase came at the midpoint of the story. The tentative title had been 16 Things. As the story progressed, I realized the characters were on a wild goose chase.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? –

Great question, Fiona! I think my core message is that two imperfect people can be perfect for each other.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic? –

There are realistic situations in the book but none that come from personal experience. Some of the snarky comebacks from the characters are probably the most realistic part because I’ve been known to say similar things. *grins*


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? –

None whatsoever. It’s completely fiction.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Love Story by Erich Segal. The book and movie stirred a lot of emotions in me. Erich’s writing style was simple and the plot (though tragic) was based on unyielding love.

Authors that inspired me are: Nora Roberts, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Jennifer Crusie, Jude Deveraux, etc.  Their writing styles appealed to me in a big way.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

It’s a collection of stories – Tales of the Cacao Tree by various artists, with some great photography included.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes. A ton of new authors have snagged my interest – in all genres. At the risk of leaving someone out, I’ll just say there are too many to mention. There is so much talent out there that it boggles the mind. I’m happy to made have read their stories and feel honored to have personally met a few of the authors.


Fiona: What are your current projects? –

I’m working on a story tentatively titled, Bachelor No More. From there I plan to write the sequel to No Sweat Pants Allowed – Wine Club. The title for the sequel has not yet been determined. I also have an idea for a 3-book romantic suspense series.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. –

Friends; locally, statewide, countrywide, and international.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career? –

I do. It has become my fulltime job. I try to write every day. Sometimes life happens and prevents me from sitting in front of the computer, but I always keep a notebook and pen handy so I can jot down the thoughts that ricochet around in my head. When I’m not physically writing, I’m thinking about writing.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? –

I have yet to work with my editor on my current story so changes may be forthcoming – nothing major I hope. (fingers crossed)


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? –

It stemmed from my love for reading.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current work is Bachelor No More. It’s loosely based on the TV episodes of The Bachelor/Bachelorette. Instead of exotic locations, I chose a city an hour from where I live. As in all romance novels there will be a happily-ever-after, but getting to that point will definitely test my hero and heroine.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? –

The intimate scenes. Making them different from book to book can be taxing. Each person’s physical relationship in real life is different from everyone else’s, so I want it to be that way for my imaginary characters too. I also struggle with the heat level. Readers rate love scenes according to what they’re comfortable reading. I want to strike a happy medium for those who don’t like a lot of steam and for those who like a little more. At the same time, I want to be true to my characters. If they’re extremely passionate I have to let them be who they are.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? –

I don’t have a favorite. I like authors who inject humor even when there is serious love at stake. The wit or snark has to be done at the right time though.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? –

I don’t have to travel with regards to my books, but I find it helpful to discover new places because it gets the creative juices flowing.


Fiona: Who designed the covers? –

I’m a hybrid author, which means both traditionally and self-published. For my books with a publisher, they provide the cover art with an idea from what I’d like to see. For my self-published books I have Deborah with Tugboat Design create my covers.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book? –

With the aforementioned intimate scenes, I also find myself using too many sentence tags: i.e. She smiled. He smiled. In the final editing process, I take many of them out but they’re there in the first and second drafts.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? –

I’ve learned to be patient and let my characters take the lead.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers? –

Consider your reading audience, but be true to your writing style. Listen and learn from constructive criticism – sometimes you have to sift through it; only keep what you think will make you a better writer. Writing a full length story requires dedication. You have to put your bottom in the chair, even on the days when you’d rather be doing something else. Lastly, believe in yourself. You have something to offer the reading world. Not everyone will like your stories, but chances are good many will.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just a sincere thank you for taking a chance on me.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? –

I don’t. When I was young I would visit the library weekly and take home a stack of books to read.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? –

Sad situations as well as happy ones.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why? –

I think it would be interesting to sit with Ernest Hemingway and have a conversation about writing. I envision him as a cut-to-the-chase kind of guy whose take on life and his career would inspire me.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ? –

She was kind and compassionate and also wrote books.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ? –

I love to read, find new ways to stay fit, and garden.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching? –

NCIS and The Big Bang Theory

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music –

Mexican food. I love most colors but I navigate to browns/tans/beige when I pick out clothing. My current music tastes include Ed Sheeran, Neil Diamond, Taylor Swift.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done? –

I can’t imagine being anything other than a writer, although I like to sing (even though I don’t have the voice for it).

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My blog – www.jantheromancewriter.blogspot.com

My website – www.authorjanromes.com

 

Amazon author page http://www.amazon.com/Jan-Romes/e/B005OMZICY/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1449242857&sr=8-2-ent

