Name – Regina Puckett

Age- 61

Where are you from  

Tennessee

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’ve been married to my high school sweetheart for 43 years. We have two daughters and four grandchildren.  I work for the same university where I graduated and studied English and Art.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I released a new children’s picture book, Brothers of the Heart.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in earnest in the seventh grade. I’ve known ever since I read Gone with the Wind I wanted to write.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 It never really occurred to me that I could actually become a writer until I was a stay-at-home mom with my two daughters. After they were both old enough for me to have a few minutes to myself I wrote my first full length novel. (It was atrocious)  It took several years to become a published author.  My daughters were grown with children of their own before a publishing company offered me a contract on Concealed in My Heart.  My book was with them for seven years before my rights were returned and I released it as an indie author.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 A dream, but it took two years of plotting before I penned the first word.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I jump into writing with both feet.  When I first started writing I would plot and plan only to change what I was doing halfway through because of something my characters said or did.  Now I simply have a brief outline in my head and I begin typing.  I let whatever is going to happen – happen.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 I struggled with the title Concealed in My Heart.  When the publisher accepted the book its title was Remembering love, but they already had another book published with that title.  Every title I came up with they rejected. I decided to flip through the dictionary and look at words for inspiration.  I saw the word ‘concealed’ and I loved the sound and feel of it.  Concealed in My Heart actually fits the book better than Remembering Love, so I guess it was all for the best in the end.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 To never give up no matter how hopeless your situation seems at the time.  Something better is always waiting for you.  You just have to tough it out and wait until it finally arrives.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

 I try to keep my characters real. My main characters act in the same way I would in any given situation.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 No.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 I love J. K. Rowling and her Harry Potter series.  Her characters almost feel like they’re family.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Anna Karenina by Teo Tolstoy


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 I’m forever discovering new authors but I’m so proud of my daughter, Charity Parkerson.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

 I’m taking a breather until the 1st of the year but I have three steampunk books planned for 2016, A Man Called Rat, Building the Wind and Alone in Forbidden.  These three books will be put into a box-set called The Men of Forbidden.

 

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My own determination and pigheadness.  I never thought about failing because writing is not about arriving at your destination –it’s about the journey.

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 Anything you put your heart and soul into is a career but for me it’s more than that – it’s my passion.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 No.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

 After reading Gone with the Wind, I wanted to become a writer.  That story grabbed my heart and I wanted to become someone who had the ability to grab someone’s heart by simply creating a story they would never forget.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 A Man Called Rat


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 I hate rewrites.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 I love J. K. Rowling.  She created characters I’ll never forget.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 Only in my own head.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 I search different sites that offer photos I can purchase the right to use for my covers and then my daughter, Charity Parkerson, puts them together for me.  She always does an outstanding job knowing how I want the cover to look when finished.

 

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 I work hard at creating characters people love or love to hate.  Sometimes it not easy writing the ones people hate, because I always want to write only about nice people.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 I have to make myself slow down.  I’m always hurrying to the end because I want to know how the story is going ends.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 Never give up.  There are million other writers out there trying to get noticed so if you don’t love writing just for the sake of writing, it’s a good bet you’re going to walk away disappointed.  Not every author will become a number one bestselling author but if you always write the best stories you can write sooner or later you’re going to have people knocking at your door wanting to know when your next book is coming out.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 If you’ll give me a chance I’ll do my best you give you a little piece of my heart and soul.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 My family

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 Jesus.  It would great to sit and listen to him.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

 I’ll try to do better next time

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

 I paint, make jewelry and sew.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 NCIS, Castle and Downton Abby

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

 I live in Tennessee so they might throw me out if I didn’t love country music.  I love Taylor Swift’s music.  I’m a big fan of potatoes and cheese.  Yellow is my favorite color.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

 I wanted to be a ballerina but of course I can’t dance nor have I ever had any lessons.  It doesn’t help that I’m also old, short and dumpy.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://reginapuckettsbooks.weebly.com/

 

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Regina-Puckett/e/B004S3ORSG/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

