Name: Marina Adair

Age: Closer to menopause them prom

Where are you from: Northern California, USA

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I am a screenwriter turned romance novelist who has a thing for burgers, beer, and Jane Austin novels—sometimes simultaneously. My relationship with peanut butter boarders on unhealthy and I hate mayonnaise. I am also a mother, wife, crazy-cat-lady in-training, and I love reading.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Marina: I am happy to announce that I just released the seventh book in my St Helena series, NEED YOU FOR ALWAYS. It follows the story of what happens when a one night stand gets a second chance at forever.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began telling stories when I was six or seven. I was sick a lot as a kid, so stories were my escape. I would sit in my room for hours on end making up elaborate stories with Barbie and Ken. But I didn’t start writing professionally until about 10 years ago.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Marina: When I finished my first novel and sent it out to an agent.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Marina: I read Falling for Mr. Dark and Dangerous by Donna Alward and looked at my husband and said, “I want to write books that make other people feel exactly what I’m feeling right now.” The next day I started my first romance novel.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Marina: I am a major plotter—to the point that it drives my author friends and loved ones crazy. I plot out time to plot . . . seriously. I even make a plot chart that shows all of the major turning points in each of my plotlines, color coded of course, so I can make sure that they all working together.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My agent and I brainstormed for titles. Honestly, coming up with titles is always so hard for me, and the more book I write, the harder it gets.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Marina: I love stories that deal with women reclaiming their identity. After a divorce, suffocating parents, or a major life altering experience. I also love exploring different kinds of healthy love.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Marina: I love to eat, so all of the research into Greek cuisine was real J The story I am working on now, the first in the Destiny Bay series, follows a man who owns a hard cider company, so I am looking forward to researching all of the different kinds of hard ciders on the market.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Marina: I have a lot of writers who have influenced me along the way. Aaron Sorkin, screenwriter and creator of the West Wing, is the master of dialogue, Alfred Hitchcock remains one of the best storytellers on the planet and in my life, and of course, Jane Austin.  But the most influential person in my writing was the brilliant screenwriter and my mentor, Barnaby Dallas, who reminded me, “The only thing you have to do to become a writer is write.”

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just started Worth the Wait by Jamie Beck and I am loving it.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Marina: I just finished editing the third book in the Heroes of St. Helena series, NEED YOU FOR MINE, which comes out March 2016. It is a friends to lovers romance that follows elite smoke jumper, and all around ladies’ man, Adam Baudouin, who finds himself in a faux-mance with town’s good girl. Only one kiss and Adam learns that there is more to the milk and cookies art-teacher that he’d love to explore. But first he has to convince her to trust the town’s most notorious playboy.

 

I also have a new series coming out in August of 2016, the Destiny Bay. It centers around a small costal town in Washington State, where romance blooms as readily as apples. There will be nosy old biddies, small town charm, and lots of emotion and romance. Oh, and did I mention the men? Rugged, sexy, and looking for love.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Marina: My group of friends at the local Romance Writer’s of America chapter. I met so many lovely women who have helped me through all of the ups and downs of the industry.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Marina: Absolutely. Writing is my full time job and it is how I support my family. It is the most challenging and most rewarding career I have had.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Marina: That is a slippery slope, Fiona! There are always things I would change, but I can’t seem to think of one now. Ask me when the next book publishes, then I am sure I will have a list of things 😀

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The second book in my Heroes of St Helena series, NEED YOU FOR ALWAYS follows two people who are struggling to find happiness after both suffering a life changing loss. We meet gourmet foot truck owner, Emerson Blake, and former special forces soldier, Dax Baudouin who learn what happens when a one-time fling gets a second chance.

Emerson is the kind of chick we all dream of being: brassy and tough, but with this fierce ability to love. Dax has so much swagger he could melt the panties off a nun, plus he is just so capable—there isn’t anything the man can’t handle. Except falling for Emerson.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Marina: Keeping it fresh. With every book I want to give the readers a new journey and experience. So I work hard to make sure each book is better and unique from the past, while still giving readers what they expect in a Marina Adair book.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Marina: Screenwriter Aaron Sorkin. He is the godfather of dialogue. He can say so much with so few words.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Marina: No, I have set most of my novels in places that I have lived over the years. Or I make up a place, like Sugar Georgia series is completely fiction.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Marina: My publisher.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Marina: Easy…Sit your butt in the chair and write.

 

 
Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Marina: SEE SAM RUN. It was one of those early learn how to read books from the 60’s. I can still remember the cover!

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Marina: Any commercial with an animal makes me cry. Life makes me laugh.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Marina: I just got my first Erin Condren life planner and I am obsessed with decorating it. I get to use stickers, stamps, colored pens…all of the stuff that made elementary school so fun!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Marina: Scandal! OMG, I love Scandal so much. The dialogue is so smart, and the characters so complex. And the drama!!!!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Marina: Peanut butter. Orange. Country music, because every song tells a beautiful story.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Marina: Continued being a competitive cheerleading coach.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Marina: www.marinaadair.com

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Marina-Adair/e/B0084HYVSI/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

