Name Jodi Vaughn

Age LOL! NICE TRY!

Where are you from

I was born and raised in a small town in Mississippi

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I grew up in the country outside of Lexington, Mississippi. I am the youngest of five children. My mother had me late in life so I was kind of like an only child. I graduated high school went to nursing school and moved to Jackson, Mississippi where I met my husband. We’ve been married 17 years and have one son and two labs.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I hit the USA TODAY best seller’s list last week!

My latest release, LOST WITHOUT YOU, comes out December 8! It’s the first in a new contemporary series.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always had stories in my head and sometimes I wrote them down. Once we moved to Arkansas, I had a really bad time and felt isolated. So one summer I sat down and wrote VEILED SECRETS. It was the first book that got published. Writing, for me, is like an addiction. I want to know what happens to my characters and I’m always coming up with new stories.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I first wrote VEILED SECRETS and I went to my first writers meeting is when I considered myself a writer. After that I began telling people that I was a writer when they asked me what my occupation was.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was going through a really hard time and I had lost someone I considered a good friend. (She didn’t die! I just realized she wasn’t a good friend)

Writing became an outlet for me, to create characters that were almost like friends. Okay, they are friends! I’ve invested a lot of time with these characters and I want to see good things happen to them.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

That’s a loaded question! I think I’m a pantser. But I had started to make myself plot out a story before I began. Of course the story changes once I start writing it but it does give me a map as to the direction of the story I want to take.  Anything can happen once I start writing and the characters tell me what they want to do.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Well for the title of my RISE OF THE ARKANSAS WEREWOLVES series, I wanted the first book to be memorable. I also did a search on Amazon to see what was taken. For some reason BY THE LIGHT OF THE MOON kept resonating with me. After that, I knew I had to have Moon in the title of each of the other werewolf books.

Coming up with a title involves me writing down key words that I associate my book with.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want readers to grasp the fact that no matter what you’ve gone through in your life, You have the power to change your future.I want readers to see my characters and feel empowered to change the direction of their life for the better.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

In all my books I always put some experience in them. You never know what’s real and what’s fiction!


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All the above!!


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

My first romance was THE FLAME AND THE FLOWER by Kathleen Woodiwiss.

I’m heavily influenced by all of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s DARK HUNTERS series!


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Larissa Ione’s LETHAL RIDER. I adore her!  And I’m also behind on my reading. L


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Cristin Harber and her Titan series rocks!!


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I just finished a project for the SOMEWHERE, TEXAS boxset that comes out in Feb. I am writing the fifth book in my RISE OF THE ARKANSAS WEREWOLVES series and am wrapping up LOST ALL CONTROL which is the second book in the CLOVERTON SERIES>


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Jodi Thomas. She was the first professional writer that took an interest in me and encouraged me to write


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

DARKSIDE OF THE MOON is my latest release. I don’t think I would change a thing.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As a young child my mother would always take me to the library. That’s where my love of books began.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The fifth book in my RISE OF THE ARKANSAS WEREWOLVES (Sorry no title yet) is Lucien’s story. It is also set in Arkansas and it’s going to be pretty dark for my werewolves. They are going to be facing an evil they’ve not seen before.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Some days it’s really hard to write. But I just push through and keep putting words on the paper until I get something I can use. I think writing is one of the hardest jobs there is but I wouldn’t want to do anything else!


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

That’s a hard question!!

Jill Shalvis is my favorite author. She can pull you into a story, make you cry and make you laugh. When I met her, I actually cried over her. Yes, I know. Very embarrassing.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Yes. This year along I had to go to Las Vegas, Atlanta, Louisville, not to mention the different book signings I had to drive to.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kim Killion. She nailed the look for my RISE OF THE ARKANSAS WEREWOLVES


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Writing the ending. When I plot out the book I usually don’t write the ending. And when I finish the rough draft I still don’t write the ending. I save it for the very last.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I think I learn something from every book I write. The most important thing I have learned is not to judge someone. My characters have a very hard background and sometimes we jump to conclusions about someone. But we truly don’t know the battle they are facing.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing. Every day. The more you write the better you become. And don’t listen to the negative people who don’t believe in you. You need one person to believe and that needs to be you.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I have the best readers in the world. I am thankful  for them every day. I would not be where I am without the love and support of generous readers.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

As a child? The Hungry Caterpillar

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband makes me laugh.  When people do bad things, that makes me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to meet my grandmother. She died before I was born and I’ve always been curious about her. I wonder what she would think about me writing?

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She encouraged me to go after my dreams.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I ride with my husband on his Harley. I’m hoping to get my own soon.Maybe once the weather warms up.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love SONS OF ANARCHY, TRUE BLOOD, ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK, THE ORGINALS. Just to name a few.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods: Steak, sweet potatos, chocolate and wine!

Colors: I love turquoise and red

Music : ANYTHING. Like seriously anything. When I’m writing my werewolves I tend to listen to the harder stuff like Linkin Park and POD

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Librarian

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://jodivaughn.com

 

Author Amazon Page

 

http://www.amazon.com/Jodi-Vaughn/e/B00FMVDOX2/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1449181874&sr=8-2-ent

Here’s the link for DARKSIDE OF THE MOON http://www.amazon.com/DARKSIDE-MOON-RISE-ARKANSAS-WEREWOLVES-ebook/dp/B015DIQ994/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Here’s the link for LOST WITHOUT YOU

http://www.amazon.com/LOST-WITHOUT-YOU-Jodi-Vaughn-ebook/dp/B017UPS0CC/ref=sr_1_7?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1449182011&sr=1-7&keywords=jodi+vaughn

 

 

 

Author Bio

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jodi is an USA TODAY bestselling author of the RISE OF THE ARKANSAS WEREWOLVES series and writes paranormal romance as well as contemporary romance. Born and raised in Mississippi, her deep Southern roots and love of the paranormal led her to write Southern Paranormal novels. When she is not conversing with characters in her head, she can be found at her home in Northeast Arkansas with her handsome husband, brilliant son, a temperamental swan, and yellow lab that is fond of retrieving turtles when duck season is over.

Find her on Facebook, Jodi Vaughn, author.

Follow her on Twitter and Periscope @JodiVaughn1

Sign up for her newsletter and check out her website http://jodivaughn.com

Find her on Instagram at VaughnJodi

 

 

