Name Jon Olson

Age 32 years old

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc: 

I was born in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada and my family moved to Nova Scotia shortly thereafter. I grew up in the small town of Truro and after high school I went to pursue my Bachelor of Arts with a Major in History and Minor in English at Saint Francis Xavier University. Once I obtained my degree, I moved to Dartmouth and got a job working as a Security Checkpoint Coordinator at the Halifax Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. I now live in Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia with my wife, daughter and three cats.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My short story Forgotten Flight was released as an eBook on Amazon and Smashwords.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing since I was 7 but it’s only been in the last three years that I’ve taken it up seriously.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Once I had my first short story, “Sightseers”, published in the Sirens Call eZine Issue #4 from Sirens Call Publications.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A love for horror and my overactive imagination.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t think I have one yet.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Initially, Forgotten Flight was called The Tragic Flight of Commander Caulfield but that title was horrible. Once I finally figured out that I was going to present the story as a ‘found footage’ piece, I settled on Forgotten Flight.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

None that I’m aware of but if they’re more than welcome to find one.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

It’s pretty realistic in its presentation as I wrote it in a very similar manner to the transcripts from NASA’s Mercury Program. To be effective I needed it to sound as realistic as possible.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really, just my interest in the history of manned spaceflight if anything.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most?

Stephen King’s early work and comics.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Any of the writers in the horror writing group Pen of the Damned.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin and The Will to Win by Robert Herjavec. I always have a fiction and non-fiction book on the go at the same time.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I recently read 2389: A Space Horror Novel by Iain Rob Wright and Agilka by Stephen Brown so they are two authors who have grasped my interest.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m currently working on a space horror novella tentatively titled The Dead Rock. I have a few short stories in the editing stage that I’ll be submitting to publications as well.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The guys and gals of the horror writing group Pen of the Damned. They are fantastic and extremely supportive. Thanks Joseph Pinto, Nina D’Arcangela, Tyr Kiernan, Thomas Brown, Blaze McRob, Zack Kullis, Hunter Shea, Magenta Nero, Craig McGray and Christopher Liccardi!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Realistically and in the grand scheme of things, I don’t think so but I’m not saying that I’m not going to try either. Supplementing my income with writing would be nice though.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

The content would remain the same but I would invest more time in marketing if anything.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My interest most likely came from reading comics.

 

 

 
Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s an unedited bit from The Dead Rock:

Yorsten cleared his throat and began.

“Before we begin, I just want to apologize to anyone who had their time off cut short.” He looked at Garnett and then over at Murphy before continuing. “As you know, I’ve been with the LSC for over twenty years and never in that time have I ever been given a job in this rather unusual manner.

“Twelve hours ago, I was initially given a salvage job to recover a failing satellite in low earth orbit and was prepping the Bandit for that job. I then received a call from the big man himself, Jim Jenkins.”

Garnett heard a couple of gasps. Jenkins was the top dog for the LSC and was rarely involved in the assigning of any job.

“That’s kind of weird,” Harris said.

Yorsten nodded. “I had met him on a few occasions and gotten to know him enough to make small talk. To be honest, when I spoke to him, he looked and sounded stressed. Without missing a beat, he ordered me to stop prepping the Bandit for the low earth orbit job. When I asked him why, he said that I was to begin prepping immediately for lunar insertion and landing.”

Garnett looked over at the others who shared his look of bewilderment. The lunar landing jobs weren’t just given out to anyone.

“It seems that they found something in the mountain range, Mons Rumker.”

“Found something?” Murphy asked. “What have they found?”

Yorsten sighed. “Jenkins said that he didn’t know or at the very least wasn’t letting on that he knows. Whatever was found is manmade and not on any maps, charts or reports.”

“Could it be one of the early Zonds or Lunas from the Soviet days in space?” Garnett asked.

“We don’t know.”

“Well, shit, what do they know?” Harris asked.

“We’ve been given a set of coordinates that I’ve already plugged into the Bandit’s navigation system.” Yorsten looked at them, stopping when his eyes fell on Stokes. “What’s on your mind, Stokes?”

“Why are they sending us?” he asked.

“We’re salvagers. It’s what we do.”

“They have no information, or at least none that they’re willing to share. So why aren’t they sending in a team of surveyors? Or at the very least, one of the probes to give us a better indication of what we’re going in to salvage exactly.”

“Jenkins didn’t have an answer when I asked him the same thing,” Yorsten said. “Look, folks, I have my reservations about this too. That being said, like it or not, they call the shots.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have Attention Deficit Disorder so I find sitting at the computer/notepad and trying to focus long enough to complete a longer piece of fiction very challenging.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Comic author Grant Morrison. He’s an incredible author and managed to take Batman’s entire history (even the silly 1960’s show) and spin it all together so there was a coherent and believable story.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Ian MacDougall created the cover for Forgotten Flight.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

What I found hardest was overcoming my initial fear and sense of doubt about self-publishing it.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That there’s a hell of a lot about self-publishing that I don’t know. Hopefully that will change over time.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Joining a writing group has been very beneficial.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thanks for sticking with me so far and I hope you’re enjoying the ride!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

A comic of some sort. Spiderman probably.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I find humor in a lot of things. Anything to do with animals will make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Arnold Schwzarzenegger. His life story is incredible and I’d love to just sit back smoking a stogie with him listening to his stories.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Father. Husband. Friend. Author.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Dabbling in bodybuilding/powerlifting, writing music and drawing.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Sopranos is my all-time favorite television show.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

A medium-rare steak would be my favorite food. I like red and navy blue for colors. For music, metal and funk.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Illustrating comics.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I do and it’s www.jonolsonauthor.com.

Horror Author

Member of the Horror Writer’s Association (Affiliate level)

Twitter: @jonolsonauthor

Facebook: www.facebook.com/authorjonolson

 

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/Jon-Olson/e/B00GXF1N3E

