Name Mary Louise Davie

Age awesome. (OK 50, but its awesome – I’m 100% comfortable in my skin for the first time.)

Where are you from

West Milford, NJ originally Scotch Plains, NJ.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I grew up in Scotch Plains NJ the daughter of a musician (Robert “Hutch” Davie) and a model/actress turned fantastic English Teacher so there was plenty of music and encouragement for creative endeavors. And my mother was big on education – obviously. I started school at University of Maryland and finished at NJCU attending for Checmical Engineering and World Languages – an odd combination to be sure but I always loved the sciences and languages/writing.

Scotch Plains was rather rural during my younger years and so I rode horses, built tree houses, and basically enjoyed the outdoors.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am thrilled to share my latest book “Target Earth: You Only See What You Want To” I really enjoyed writing this one in a different way – the humor, the action and the way the government handles this,…its awesome!

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

It’s something I have always done since I was Eight. Except for a few years when I was eleven when I was into poetry and a few years later when I wrote and performed songs.

When I was in my twenties I would write novels and maybe show them to a friend and then put them on a shelf and start the next. I have to admit, sharing them, much better!

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Actually, long before I became published, I felt like a writer, spending my time in the worlds I created in my head before coming down to Earth and the let down. The process felt true and unavoidable.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book (which was really like my tenth or eleventh to me) was written because I was researching black holes as I didn’t 100% buy what ‘they’ said about them. As I developed my own theory I wanted to run a scenario to see if it worked. That scenario became Sanacion: The Black Hole Mission. And the characters became so real, became my friends so they made me write Sanacion II & III.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write what I feel, partially outlined, sometimes entire scenes mapped out and sometimes the characters take me a whole different direction that I hadn’t expected. I actually like when that apens as I think its truer. So there isn’t really a true style in there, but with eachbook I write I find myself taking on something new. Introducing a new type of action scene(s) or location style, I try and incorporate something new to allow growth and expand the story.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title was actually something different originally. I didn’t want to give too much away, but in the end I had to name it what it screamed out; that’s why the second part of the title is so important – You Only See What You Want To, all through history our reactions as a country, as a world, we have only seen what we want to!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My message is always similar. While not everyone, there are those who react one way to all things, see everything as a threat and then there are the scientists, apolitical at best, who only see the truth of something, not the fears.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Depends what you mean about realistic. I am a stickler about making the details correct from the roads in DC to the science for the Space Bridge and Moon Base. All that is realistic but it isn’t real as of today – maybe in 2022 or around that time – I hope!

 

 


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Obviously not, but they are based on what I feel would happen in those circumstances.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I taught myself to read with a set of heavy vinyls of Alice In Wonderland that came with a copy of the book. I played it over and over again as I learned to read the lines while I heard the imaginative tale read out loud.  I think that made me want to create the same thing for someone else. Over the years I have read many books as I was a speed reader and ate them like sustenance – but rarely was really touched by any one writer. I loved Antigone by Sophocles, I love the works of T. S Eliot, and I love non-fiction – I eat up science and math.

As far as a mentor – my mother. She was an incredible grammarian but she couldn’t write to save her life. But she helped me with the mechanics.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Kimberly Stanley Robinson. Have always had her body of work on my mind to check out and many of her books are on my Nook. I just recently inally made some time as I don’t like to read when I am working on a project as a rule & the last couple of years I have been touring non-stop & rarely have the time.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite writer is hard to choose. I like individual works of many but can’t seem to find one where I love everything, I will say that Arthur C. Clarke either grabs me in every book or takes me on a trip with the first part and I end up taking somewhere else in my mind.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have been traveling with Wizard World ComicCons for the last 2 years across the country – Nashville, Austin, LA, Reno, San Diego and much more plus traveling on my own to a few conventions in Maryland and Pennsylvania or Maine. I give presentations either about NASA and the cool stuff they have done and are doing as well as detail their plans for the Moon or Mars or Europa. I love getting people excited about space and sharing a common love with them. While travel is tiring it is also envigorating!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Thomas Rodriquez. He does an incredible job translating what I am thinking and representing what the book is about.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Actually writing it versus just watching what happens in my head. I loved the life it took on, where it was going and sharing it was a true labor of love.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I became intrigued with some of the scientific theories I developed and wish I had a lab set up (which I plan to do when I move) so I could improve upon them.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just the same advice I often hear – read tons, and write, write often and write anything – it will get better as you read and re-write and re-write again.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just thanks. Thank you for joining me on this journey. I love writing and I love the finished project but even more I love the feedback from everyone and the shared interests. I also love the devotion to some of my characters. This is the coolest – at one con someone came as one of my characters – Lenora from the Sanacion series – too cool!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Well as I said, I learned how to read from Alice in Wonderland but after that I remember the book that I read some of, my mom read me a lot of called “The Five Little Peppers and How They Grew”. Besides being a really good book – when my mother read it I saw it like a play in front of me. It started the whole love of everything, both reading & writing.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A lot now; old movies, Terms of Endearment, and thinking of my mom. (She passed away in 2003.)

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Einstein. He always thought his biggest mistake was the constant C – I would like to disscuss this with him, maybe push him at the age he stopped theorizing and settles into rock star status.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I’m not really here – look to at the night sky, and you’ll find me.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Horseback riding, guitar/piano-songwriting, sketching out things I develop for my books…

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Quantico, Expanse-for now – we’ll see, I’m waiting for all this Sci Fi they say is coming to TV and Movies!

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite foods – Oysters, Brie cheese, and Pringles. Oh, & Duck! As far as my favorite color – there is this shade of green. I am partially Blue-Green color blind but there is this one shade of green I see which was also the color of my first 10 speed – I’m partial to it!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Act. I was a model in my twenties but only because I was trying to get into acting. When I finaly got offered a part it was at the same time as I was offered a real job. Also it was a horror film. So far only Jaime Lee Curtis was the only one who had gone on to have a career so I took the real job. I’ll never know if anything would have happened.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://sanaciontheblackholemission.blogspot.co.uk/ or http://www.marylouisedavie.com

Press Package available at: http://sanacionsite.wordpress.com/

twitter: @MaryLouiseDavie

instagram: marylouisedavie

e-mail: mldmdc@optonline.net or Sanacion@icloud.com

Blog site: http://sanaciontheblackholemission.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Sanacion-sanaci%C3%B3n/251502074922394

