Name: Alex Grayson

Age: 34

Where are you from: Northeast Ohio

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I live with my husband, daughter, and son on two acres of land. We moved here from Florida in 2012. The bitter cold can be a pain, but we still love it. When I’m not playing mom and wife, I write full-time. I did get a bachelor’s degree in Healthcare Administration, but I didn’t really get a chance to use it before I started writing. As of right now, unless my writing goes down the crapper, I’ll continue writing. But it’s nice knowing I have a degree to fall back on, just in case.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Latest news is my upcoming release for the third book in The Jaded Series, Unveil Me. It releases December 10th. I’m very scared about this one because it’s so different than the other two in the series. I’ve also already started writing on the fourth one, unnamed as of yet. This one seems to be going a lot more smoothly than the other three as I’ve been looking forward to this one the most. However, I have a lot to live up to with this one.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing January 2014. I had recently found the extent of the writing community on Facebook and was wowed at it all. After communicating with fellow book lovers for about six months, I decided to start a blog and my own book. The blog took off first, while the writing was slow going. Eventually, I got so engrossed in the book, I decided to stop with blogging and concentrate on writing. When I started writing, I really thought I would never finish it.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I didn’t consider myself a writer until I released my first book and found people actually liked it.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I know this is lame but there really wasn’t any inspiration. Or I guess you can say I inspired myself. I was a point in my life where I wanted to make a change. After seeing how big the writing community was, I knew I wanted to try my hand at being part of it. I’ve always loved reading writing. I just never thought I was good enough to do anything with it.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really. I just start off with basic word. I don’t do outlines or timelines. At most, I’ll write down a few key points I know I want in the book.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It took me months and months to come up with a title. I actually had help from my niece. I knew I wanted something to show the state the main character, Bailey, was in. After tossing idea after idea out there, we finally came up with Shatter Me. The other titles for my later books wasn’t near as difficult to come up with.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes! Never, ever bow down to someone that treats you badly. Never be scared to speak up or ask for help. And never be ashamed or blame yourself for the behaviors of others. Pay attention to what’s going on around you and if you see something that isn’t right, tell someone. You just might save a life or help someone that desperately needs it and is too afraid to ask for it themselves.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The only realistic thing in the series is the town the series takes place in. I created it after the town I live in. As far as the abuse, not realistic at all. However, for others in similar situations? Very realistic.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, nothing was based on personal experiences or real life events.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

I wouldn’t say there are any books that influenced my life, but there are some authors out there that have made me strive to be a good writer. HS Strickland, Kim Black, and Allison Wilson are to name just a few. They’ve helped me in so many different ways there’s no way I could ever pay them back. If not for them, I probably wouldn’t be where I am today.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading Dirty Bad Strangers by Jade West and an ARC Broken Angels by new author Kirstin Cope.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes! JC Santo, Jillian Anselmi, and brand new author Kirstin Cope, who will be publishing her first book soon.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m still waiting for the third book in my series to release on December 10th, but I’ve started on the fourth book in the series, which is the last.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Need. My need to finish what I started and to prove to myself and others that I could do it.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I certainly hope so. Lol. There are so many stories going on in my head that want to be put to paper. It would take me years to get them all down. As long as people continue to like my work, I’ll continue writing.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope, not a thing. I write what the characters want me to. If I altered it, it wouldn’t be from the heart or feel genuine.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As I said before, I’ve always loved writing, but I never thought I had the imagination for it. I would have to say that my interest to actually START writing came when I kept reading books that I wanted to go a certain way, but didn’t. I decided to write stories the way I wanted them to be read.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The fourth book in The Jaded Series will be highly emotional. There will be instances that go past the norm and will likely be unconventional. But it’s necessary for the story. It’ll be a bittersweet read.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I’ve always been easily distracted. I’m a very slow writer because I have to concentrate so hard on what I’m writing for it to come out the way I want it to. Finding the right words is a challenge for me.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Kristen Ashley is my all-time favorite author. Her writing is so unique. She’s written books from bikers to ghosts to PI’s to unconventional heroes and more. No matter what subject she writes, it always comes out amazing. Not many authors can pull that off. To have that talent is special.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do when I attend signings


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kim Black at TOJ Publishing.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Originally I was terrified I wouldn’t put enough details in, but that’s no longer a problem. I’ve actually been told I put too many in my first book. Lol. Now it’s determining how much is too much, but I also don’t want to put too little.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I’m seriously terrible at grammar. Lol. I also learn that we never stop learning when it comes to writing. There is always something out there that us authors don’t already know.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up. Don’t let others tell you that you can’t do it. Push forward to the end. The rewards are amazing and you’ll feel good about yourself afterwards.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Just to say thank you so much for taking a chance on me. To have them pick up my book with so many other choices out there is so humbling. There is no way I could ever express my gratitude.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

As a kid, it was a goosebumps book. I can’t remember the name though. As an adult, The Devil’s Necklace by Kat Martin.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Many things. I’m a very emotional person. Lol. My kids make me laugh every day. So does my husband. As far as crying, simply listening to a sad song can bring on the waterworks.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?.

I would love to meet author A.M. Wilson because she’s been such an influence in my life. And up and coming author Kirstin Cope, because she’s a sweet and hilarious woman I’ve recently met on social media. Meeting her mom and Godmom would be amazing as well, as some of the stories she tells about them have me almost peeing myself laughing so hard. I’d also love to meet Norman Reedus. I’m a huge diehard Daryl fan.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Haha! Never really thought about it. Something witty maybe?

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading is my biggest hobby.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Walking Dead, Supernatural, The Big Bang Theory. I also enjoy horror flicks.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music.

Favorite food is homemade lasagna. Color is blue. And music is anything that’s not classical.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

If not for being a writer, I would have enjoyed working in the medical field.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? https://alexgraysonauthor.wordpress.com/

 

 

 

 

Author Links:

 

alexgraysonauthor@gmail.com

https://www.facebook.com/Alex-Grayson-Author-447316145407080/

https://alexgraysonauthor.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/AlexGrayson10

https://www.pinterest.com/alexgraysonauth/

 

Book Links:

 

Shatter Me:

US Amazon http://tinyurl.com/kawj8b2
UK Amazon http://tinyurl.com/poo7hqb

CA Amazon http://tinyurl.com/q4deqtm
AU Amazon http://tinyurl.com/o6zsqww

 

Reclaim Me:

 

Amazon US: http://tinyurl.com/lsxq72q
Amazon UK: http://tinyurl.com/jvzotg5

 

 

Unveil Me Pre-order Link:

 

Amazon US: http://tinyurl.com/qj7ra9n

 

 

 

