Name: H. Berkeley Rourke

Age 77

Where are you from Arizona, U.S.

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc :

Always say I was a warrior as a boy (veteran, U.S. Army and U.S Air Force), a teacher in another life, and a warrior of the word (attorney) in later life until I became a writer.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

WIP is a staggeringly difficult story of domestic terrorism in the U.S. Best news lately is I am a great-grandfather for the first time this month (Nov. 2015)

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Began writing seriously, aside from jotting down anecdotes in earlier years, during my law career at about the age of 60. Published first two books about five years ago. Began writing as an attempt to tell the story of a woman I loved, her tribulations in life. Found it almost impossible, was not good at biography. Began serial murder novels while working as a prosecutor of serious criminal acts.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably in the first couple of years I began–several people liked my style and my stories. I think if you have a reader, even one loyal reader, you are a writer. Maybe not an “author” yet, but a writer for sure.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Probably what I saw as a lack in law enforcement, a failure to communicate well between police departments.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not any that I can identify by name, no.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

If you are referring to writing style I have no title. If forced to the wall I would say a mixture of realistic and historic information that is then placed into a context of fiction.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

It depends on which novel. One novel I wrote called Tsunami, A Love Story, has an open question about gun violence in our world but maybe not a political stance. Others are simply stories.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Again it depends on which of my books you look at. In the western series of books I have written called the Ross Hendershot series there is a lot of flora, fauna, local history of Yuma, Arizona that is pretty factual. In most of my books the story is out of the whole cloth.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

An amalgam maybe of people could be identified I suppose.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Too many to render titles. A mentor was and has been since I was in high school my English teacher, Bill Brennan.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished a wonderful book by David Alexander Mc Calden titled Woman With Wolves. I am also reading an older book titled Full Force and Effect by Tom Clancy. A few days ago I finished an erotic novel by Scarlet Flame entitled Bounds of Love.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Many. Sahara Foley, Jean Kilczer, Julie Northup, Frank Scozzari, Carole Gill, Mary Dean, many others. I read a lot of Indie writers and do reviews for Amazon and Goodreads.

 

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

In publication with Creativia is a book in my Hendershot series called Revenge for Janie. I also have in queue with Creativia a book titled The Ghost Rapist. I am currently engaged in work on a book titled at the moment The Sons of the Fatherland which is a domestic violence story and I am also working on a book titled Thoughts of Murder and Mayhem (that is likely to change) which is one in a series of five at this point that will grow to six.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

A large group of friends and readers that have encouraged me and bought some of my books and my publisher Creativia.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Not really.  At least I do not look at it as a way to earn money. Who knows what happen in that regard? But the likelihood of it becoming a career, no I don’t think so if for no other reason because of my age.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Probably. Every time I read one of my tales I rewrite the thing. I don’t know if that is a characteristic of writers but I would bet it is.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes. I used to jot down little vignettes I called them. My wife told me I should consider trying to write a book. She would pick those things up and read them and liked what she saw.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here are the first couple of sentences of the book which is currently titled “The Sons of the Fatherland.”

“Two men lay in a ditch. They were dressed all in black. They were bald. There were tattoos on each of their bald heads. The tattoos were of swastikas, the age old symbol adopted by the Nazis of Germany in the 1930’s. It was also the symbol of The Sons of the Fatherland of the U.S. in 2016. The two men wore red armbands emblazoned with the swastika as well.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, I am too wordy. I tend to write sentences that are too complex and too long. So the editing process and the rewrite process is very serious and sometimes difficult for me.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

If you are talking about a genre I would answer Stephen King. I love the development and the intertwined character stories he tells. I have no one favorite author. I read in just about every genre and over time have read practically all books by some authors. I enjoy the James Patterson factory novels just because they are entertaining. I enjoy novels by David Baldacci because they are intricate. I just enjoy reading.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, I have not done that to this point.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Of the twelve novels I have published ten have been done through Creativia and those are all covers done by theillustratedauthor.com , Melissa Stevens.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The eidting.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, something from each. I will give you one example. It comes from Tsunami. It is hard as hell to depict courtroom scenes and if you do so accurately it can be boring for the reader.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes I do and it is emphatic. Do not choose to publish with so called “Vanity Publishers” if you cannot publish traditionally. If you publish Indie find a good publisher like Creativia.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to read my books, and to those of you who have offered reviews double the thanks.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No. In my freshman year of high school I read over 150 books. It was when I was encouraged to start reading. I have never stopped.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Everything and anything about life.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

If I could meet Bill Brennan again and say thank you to him for his encouragement and teaching I would do that in a heartbeat. But alas he is gone.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Warrior, Teacher, Warrior of the Word,  Writer.  It tells the story of my life as to all the time after age 17.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Yes, many.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I am addicted to The Walking Dead, I like Blue Bloods a great deal though I don’t always agree with the political views of the stars or the show. I enjoy watching films about the sea, about the earth, about life in far off places.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

Mexican Food. Blue and darker colors. All genres of music but for very few.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Explored the seas with Jacque Cousteau.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

No blog, My website is http://www.berkandhisbooks.com/  on Wix. I have a page on Facebook and an author’s page on Amazon as well.

 

 

