Name  R.K. Pavia (Rebecca Kate Pavia)

Age 39

Where are you from

Lincolnshire, England

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I live with my three amazing kids and lead a pretty quiet life. We live in the countryside on an ex-RAF housing estate, and it’s the best place to live if you want a safe environment with none of the hustle and bustle of a city or town.

I left school with only a handful of qualifications, but I went on to college a couple of years later and gained a couple more in Drama and Media Studies. The Media Studies has been of no use whatsoever, but the Drama came in pretty handy when I set up my local town’s first Am-Dram group in almost 80 years.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I published my first novel, The Sanctum of Souls, at the beginning of October.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written since I was a young teenager, always having a strong desire to create, and tell stories.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Honestly, October 9th 2015, when I published TSoS.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was a story that came to me almost in its entirety back in 2012. I guess if there was inspiration involved it was my favourite game at the time, Dragon Age: Origins. I started writing fan fiction for that and regained the writing bug. I think I realised I could actually do it and things just snowballed from there.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, not really. I just write as I think. I would say my writing is pretty simple – most of the time. I am prone to wordiness, though.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Like the story, the title just came to me. If I believed in such things – which I’m not saying I don’t – I might call it divine intervention.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

If there is, I’m not sure what it is, lol. I guess there’s some discreet messages about guilt in there. About not hanging on to it, etc.. Other than that, no intentional messages.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

None, as it’s fantasy.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

There’s a touch of my life in there, I suppose. In a way. I think it’s well enough hidden. 😉

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

There are many I’ve enjoyed over the years, but as far as influence in writing goes, that would have to be David Gaider, lead writer for Bioware’s Dragon Age. His writing style is probably the most like mine – and the one I have aspired to emulate.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’ve just finished The Watchmage of Old New York by C.A. Sanders. Fantastic book!

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I should be working on the second book in my series, The Gadrionis Chronicles. However, I’m tinkering with the idea of going back to my comedy novella, Rise of the Sketelons. I think I need a light-hearted break from all that serious fantasy… yeah, like I write serious fantasy. 😉

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Well, during writing TSoS, I was diagnosed with cervical cancer, so the most obvious ‘entity’ would be my oncologist. Other than that, my Facebook friend, and fellow author, Jim Procter. He’s been there through thick and thin – my virtual rock.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’d like to – but no. I’m afraid I suffer from far too much of a lack of confidence in my ability for that to ever be a reality.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Oh yes! I published far too hastily. To be honest, when I was diagnosed with cancer, I didn’t even know if I’d live to finish my book, let alone publish it. That was in my mind when I rushed to hit publish.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think it must have been in Sunday School, of all places. That was the youngest age I remember having the opportunity to write stories. That was the best thing about going.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

This is the first bit of Rise of the Sketelons.

“Steve! Over ‘ere. ‘Ave ya seen this?” Frank, son of Jim, first general of the order of High Globins, called to his watch mate, keeping his eyes firmly fixed on the thing stuck in the ground.

“What is it now? Can’t you just watch? You know, like a watchman should. The clue’s in the name, friend.” Steve said, picking remnants of grape from under his claw-like nails.

“I was watchin’. Then I watched this thing come up from under the ground. I’m still watchin’ it now.”

Steve winced as he stabbed his own finger with a nail. Deciding whatever had distracted Frank this time might be more interesting than recycled grape skin, he left his post on the right side of the north wall and walked the five-feet to the left side of the north wall. Frank was peering over the edge, his beady, black eyes bulging as they strained to focus.

“Okay, I’m here. What is it?”

“I dunno, Steve. But it’s bin wigglin’ about and gettin’ further out the ground for ‘bout ten-minutes now. Hey, ya think it could be one of them mile-a-minute trees Fanny keeps ‘arping on about?”

Steve pressed his round body against the wall, leaning over as far as he dared. He didn’t need to search for Frank’s mystery thing as there it was, clear as day even from thirty-feet up.

“No, Frank. I don’t think that’s a tree. Quick! We’d better get down and tell your da… I mean, the general.”

“Why? What is it?”

Steve paused to allow a dramatic expression to take over his face. “It’s a sketelon, Frank. A bloody sketelon. Now, let’s go!”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Dialogue. It’s the one thing that doesn’t come easily for me. I find myself having to work at that a bit more than other aspects.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

If I had to pick one, it would be David Gaider, who I mentioned earlier. I love the easy way he draws you into a world and the humour that mimics my own.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Nope. That’s the wonderful nature of fantasy writing for you. All you need is in your own mind.
Fiona: Who designed the

 

 

covers?

I did. All but my most recent poetry collection, The Dark Ones. That mainly consisted of a stock image – though I did do everything else.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finishing it.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes. I learnt that I CAN finish a book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes. Don’t listen to advice. Forge your own path. Write your own way.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Buy my book. It’s good.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I have trouble remembering what pain relief I took ten minutes ago. No, sorry. 😉

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My children make me laugh. Everything makes me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d want to meet Tolkien and ask what he thinks of the LotR movies.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

‘She was happy to be weird’ because I am.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Playing video games and listening to music. Oh, and a bit of photography.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Do you want the full list? Ok, here’s the abridged one:

Supernatural, Once Upon A Time, The 100, Grimm, The Strain, The Last Ship

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pasta/Purple/Most but not jazz

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’ve always longed to be a psychologist. Might still do that – one day.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Just my Facebook page at the moment. It’s www.facebook.com/RKPavia

US – http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016FRYYZI?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

 

UK – http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B016FRYYZI?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

 

