Name – Lynn Mullican

Age – Hmm, do I have to give it? I’d reverse the numbers if it would make me younger, but in this case it won’t.

Where are you from – Phoenix, Arizona

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc. 

I’m married to my wonderful husband, Patrick who has been very supportive of everything that I do. I have three awesome adult children, Cassandra, Joeseph, and Bridget and three adorable grand-daughters, Aeva, Zoe, and Rhea. We have two cuddly yet mischievous cats, Murray and Wilbur.

Wilbur has a thing for feet, so I start my mornings off petting him with my feet while I sip on a cup of coffee. At night, Murray always jumps in bed and tries to steal my spot, so I have to push him toward the middle so I can climb in bed. Once I’m in, he cuddles up next to me.

I work a full time job, and write part time. That is, until I make it as a full time writer. I say that with the determination I will get there. My husband usually gets home from work before me, so dinner is usually ready by the time I walk in the door.

I’ve attended college for Information Technology, Criminal Procedures, and have a degree in Massage Therapy.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I recently published a short horror story titled, The Awakening. I have also published another novel, titled Bad Elements: Blood for Blood, which is the second in the Bad Elements series. I’m currently editing the third installment in the series, titled Bad Elements: The Hybrid. Also, I have stepped outside of my boundaries to write a religious horror novel titled, The Shadow of Evil, which I’m currently writing.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing when I was about eight years old. I had to write a story for school. Ever since then, I’ve enjoyed writing.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

At about eight years old. I know that seems a little young, but I knew what I wanted to do and eventually I was published.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Well, the first book I wrote has not been published. One of these days, I’ll jump back on it and get it published. But, my first published book, Bad Elements: Crystal Dragon was partially inspired by the movie, Unleashed. Originally, the book was supposed to be a psychological thriller. But, after several different inspirations, including my family, and the premiere of True Blood, it became a horror/paranormal/adventure.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I do. It’s one thing to be inspired by a famous author, but it’s another to try to imitate their writing. You can’t truly be an original if you model yourself after another author.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Crystal Dragon was named after the main character, including the “Dragon.” Crystal studied martial arts, as well as I, so the “Dragon” is a major aspect to her character. So, Crystal Dragon just came together. The series name, Bad Elements came after I was speaking with a co-worker about something at work. She used the phrase, Bad Elements at one point, and it just hit me. The Bad Elements phrase plays some significance to the story.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, there are a couple of messages in the book; first off, don’t let anybody trap you into believing or try to change you into something you are not. Two, family is important, keep them in your heart, don’t forget them. Three, don’t hold grudges, either let it go, or let them go. Either way, get rid of the grudge. Four, not everybody is perfect. (BTW—if anybody reads the series, keep these messages in mind. Hint, hint. This is significant, as well.) Five, people do make mistakes. And, sometimes they can change. Perception is all in the eye of the beholder if you don’t know the facts. Learn the facts behind people’s actions and reactions. 😉

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Hmm, I guess that depends on if you believe in vampires and werewolves. There is some realism in some sense. It just depends on how you look at it. Again, perception is key.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

A little bit of both. I say that with a smile on my face.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, Robert McCammon’s A Boy’s Life, Stephen King’s The Green Mile. There are more, but too many to list. I never really had a mentor, but some of my inspirations are Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Robert McCammon, and Edgar Allan Poe.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

They’re So Vein by Susan Stec

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Susan Stec and A.J. Brown

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Bad Elements: The Hybrid is in the process of being edited. I’m looking at a 2016 release (not sure on the exact date just yet). I’m writing The Shadow of Evil. I’ve started writing The Dead Ones. I’m putting together the concept and storyline for The Owning, Bad Elements: Rise of the Underground, The Changeling series: Immortal Blessings, and The Changeling Series, The Inevitable. I’m also revisiting the idea of a screenplay for Bad Elements: Crystal Dragon.

As you can see, I have a lot on my plate. But, this is a good thing! I’m on a roll!

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

A co-worker.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, I do. I’m bound and determined to become a full time writer of books, screenplays, etc.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I would not.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It originated in elementary school after we were assigned to write a short story.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Bad Elements: The Hybrid

The ground beneath Gloria gave way, throwing her down a rocky ravine. Bryce’s blood coated her, dirt sticking to the mess, muddying her skin and clothes. As she tried to regain her footing, the bone in her ankle cracked, tossing her to the ground. She fell and struck her head on a rock.

Gloria came to a standstill next to a small creek. Blood erupted from the open head wound. She laid still, the pain in her ankle growing. She was weak, scared, and afraid to move, leery of catching the dragon’s attention. Maybe if she stayed still, it wouldn’t locate her.

A faint and distant splash in the creek caught her attention. Only it came from the opposite direction from where the dragon was. Weakly, she lifted her head. The beast stood before her. Her mouth dropped open. The werewolf’s claws dug into the earth.

She swallowed hard. Its canine face lowered, saliva dripping from its mouth.

Their eyes met.

She lowered her gaze. All she wanted to do was bury her face in the nasty creek and pray that it would go away. In the nearby distance, there was another splash. It was faint. As it moved away, its footsteps softened. Maybe the dragon found something else to pursue. Tears welled up.

The werewolf growled. Its saliva dripped into the water. It inched in towards her. Her tears fell into the creek.

Scared, she whispered, “No, please no.”

A sharp pain bore into her skull. She screamed in pain, her arms flailing up and over her. The full weight of the werewolf fell atop her, pushing her further into the water. Its fangs tore at her flesh. With her face burrowed in the murky water, Gloria succumbed to her death.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I work a full time job and write part time, so I don’t have a lot of time to write. This is why it takes me a while to write a book. That, and the editing process takes forever.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? 

I have a couple, so I’ll have to narrow it down to Stephen King. He’s crossed different genres, and broadened his writing style. He’s very detailed, sometimes almost too detailed. I still love his work.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Unfortunately, I have not done much. I have a full time job, so it kind of restricts me a little bit. I’m hoping to start doing more traveling in 2016.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Vic Weiford designed the Bad Elements series book covers, Crystal Dragon, Blood for Blood, and The Hybrid. He’ll also be doing the cover for the fourth installment, Rise of the Underground. Vic has also completed the cover for The Shadow of Evil.

I did the cover for Sacrificial Blood and for The Awakening. Rebecca Hamilton did the typography for The Awakening.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book? 

Finding the time to write and edit. Plus, the editing takes about two times longer than the writing.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? 

Yes, it’s called patience. I never expected anything to happen overnight, but I have learned you really need to have a lot of patience. Writing a book is a very lengthy process. It’s not as easy as it seems. I put my heart and a lot of hours into my books. The Hybrid took a little more out of me than the other books, though.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing. Keep reading. Learn the editing process. Trust me, you will need it. You can’t rely on just the Editor to do it for you. Also, don’t give up! I don’t care if you get 100 rejection letters, and your feelings get hurt. It’s going to happen. Learn to take constructive criticism. Use that criticism wisely and learn from it. It’s only going to help you if you really want a writing career.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Welcome to the dark side! I hope you have enjoyed my books. I must say I’ve enjoyed sharing the dark side of my mind with you.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read? 

Children’s books, no. Other than that, it would be Carrie by Stephen King.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Well, that depends. If I’m extremely tired, I’ll laugh at anything, regardless of how stupid it may be. A lot of things make me laugh though, it just depends on my mood. Cry? Well, I hold family, children, and animals near and dear to my heart, so I’m very emotional when it comes to certain subjects.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Leonardo DaVinci. He’s actually my ancestor, so I would love to meet him and discover what went through his head while he was painting.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Do you want something dark, twisted, and edgy? Then you’ve come to the right place.

It represents my writing, and my sense of humor. That, and I’d like to put a smile on my family’s face. As for anybody else walking by my grave, I’d like to make them do a double take at the headstone and around the graveyard.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Dancing, hiking, reading, camping, shooting, martial arts, dabbling in photography and graphic design.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

American Horror Story, The Walking Dead, The 100, Salem, Penny Dreadful, Masters of Sex, and Ray Donovan. Some of my favorite shows ended. L Sons of Anarchy, Nurse Jackie, True Blood.

Films? Hmm, Young Frankenstein, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Gone Girl, Nothing to Lose, Shrek (yes, I said Shrek. I love it!), Uncle Buck, Planes, Trains and Automobiles, Alien, Predator, Star Wars, and some of the original great horror flicks like Halloween and Nightmare on Elm Street.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Pizza, hamburgers, steak, chimichangas, Doritos, Coke, Chips and salsa, Green chili burritos, oranges, grapefruit, shrimp, crab, spaghetti, chicken parmesan. Yes, I love the food that’s not so good for me, which is why I try to watch what I eat. So, some of these particular foods I look forward to when I treat myself to something yummy. J

Black, purple, burgundy, and emerald green.

I have a very broad selection of music, so I’ll try to keep this to a minimum.

Rock’n roll, heavy metal, country, Classic Rock, oldies 50’s-60’s, new wave, alternative, etc.

Some of my favorite artists are: Marilyn Manson, AC/DC, Trace Adkins, Toby Keith, Heart, Lady Gaga, Five Finger Death Punch, Beatles, Elle King, Aerosmith, Blondie, Cyndi Lauper, Evanescence, En Vogue, Gretchen Wilson, In This Moment, Halestorm, Joan Jett, Metallica, Ozzy, Rob Zombie, Salt-N-Pepa, Lynyrd Skynyrd.

There’s more, but we’ll stick with this.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A screen-writer (I’m actually shooting for this at some point). Or a director. Or maybe a dancer.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes, I do. Here they are, including some of the links to my books.

http://lynnmullican.blogspot.com/

https://lynnmullican.wordpress.com/

http://www.amazon.com/Lynn-Mullican/e/B0055WRN3U/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1448501231&sr=8-2

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4842137.Lynn_Mullican

https://www.facebook.com/Author.LynnMullican/

http://www.amazon.com/Crystal-Dragon-Bad-Elements-Book-ebook/dp/B0088FAQS0/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

http://www.amazon.com/Blood-Bad-Elements-Lynn-Mullican-ebook/dp/B00VOG9JRO/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

http://www.amazon.com/Sacrificial-Blood-Lynn-Mullican-ebook/dp/B00D9WCS0G/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

http://www.amazon.com/Awakening-Lynn-Mullican-ebook/dp/B017GQDWYQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1448501522&sr=1-1&keywords=the+awakening+lynn+mullican

