Name: Kirstin L. Cope

Age: 25

Where are you from:

I’m from Largo, FL but I moved to Shelbyville, TN in February. I consider
TN my home, I love it here and I would never go back to FL. it’s too hot
and I can’t stand the beach 😉

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I went to Seminole High School, my home life is hectic lol but I wouldn’t
have it any other way. I have two little girls Syriana (6) and Remi (3). My
kids are everything to me, and they’re a blast even though at times I am
possitive they are trying to land me in the looney bin lol. I have an
unhealthy obsession with coffee, dark romance novels, and writing. If I’m
not spending time with my kids I’m most likely reading or writing. I love
the winter and I’m counting down the days until it snows again lol

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently done with the first book in my debut series ‘Broken Angels:
Genesis’ and I am now in the editing process. I have to say this is my
least favorite part haha I’m a bit grammarly challenged 😉

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was about 7 or 8. It started out with poetry. It
was an outlet for me and when I got older it got me through a lot of things
going on in my life. When I was about 19 I started writing short stories,
but never showed them to anyone. I started the book I’m currently working
on several times and every time I tossed it, I doubted myself a lot. After
a few rough years in FL I came to TN to be near family and decided it was
time to write my books and stop worrying if I thought it would go anywhere
or what people would think. I got about 75% through the first book and
decided I was happy with it and started contacting various people for
advice on self publishing. I got a response from one of favorite authors
Alex Grayson (author of ‘The Jaded Series’) and she has been amazing. With
her help I found an awesome women to do my cover, Kim Black, and a group of
equally awesome beta readers. I’m hoping for a January release. Don’t quote
me on that though lol

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have always loved to write but I didn’t really consider myself a writer
until I got through the first draft of my current book. Now that I am so
close to being done and seeing a cover with my name and my title on it, it
really makes things real for me.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The background topic for this book is something I have always had a soft
spot for, and with my love of dark romance I thought why not make a book
that (hopefully) thousands of people will read and use what I love to do to
help bring the issue to light. The back story has strong ties to human
trafficking. This is something that goes on in our own country everyday,
yet so few people really know or hear about it. In our country this illegal
organization is only second to the drug industry, and not my much. All the
facts in my book are real, and it is set in Miami, FL a city/state with a
frighteningly high number of human trafficking.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really, other than really only writing in the darker areas of romance,
and first person point of views, my style varies depending on my subject. I
do like multi part books and the ‘Broken Angels Series’ is split into 6
parts between 2 books. I also like to tell my stories through multiple
characters. I feel you get more when you can see through the eyes of
different characters in the book. Other than part 1 of book 1, ‘Broken
Angels’ goes back and forth between the two main characters, Alec and Mac.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I felt that because of what Alec does with his life, it kind of makes him
like a guardian Angel, but he is broken and feels he is beyond redemption
because of his past. Mac never really got a chance to just be an innocent
little girl and she is just as broken as Alec because of her own past. So I
thought ‘Broken Angels’ fit my story well.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes. The story shows that even with the darkest of pasts that at times
makes you feel stripped of all goodness, and makes you feel like you have
either no purpose (in Macs case) or consumes you with vengeance (in Alec’s
case); there’s hope for redemption and happiness through love.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

All of the facts about Human trafficking are real and the things that
happen to the characters are things that, although are fiction in this
case, happen everyday. Most people think of sexual slavery, and forced
prostitution as problems that only happen in other countries. But that’s
just not the case, it is a very real problem right here in America and it
deserves more attention.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own
life?

No. Although the events in my book unfortunately happen everyday in America
and all over the world.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I would have to say Alex Grayson’s ‘Jaded Series’, Pepper Winter’s
‘Monsters in the dark’, Tillie Cole’s “Hades Hangmen Series”, and Elle
Charles’s “Fractured Series’. I love dark books that end with healing and
love. Alex Grayson is definitely a mentor to me, she has helped me get my
book to where it is in a lot of ways, from referrals, encouragement,
advice, and her genuine kindness. I messaged her simply for advice on self
publishing and got a friendship and so much more.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Aside from my own due to editing, I am reading Aven Jayce’s “Jameson Hotel
(Dark suite) Series 4-6’

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I am an avid reader, so there are a LOT of authors that catch my attention,
though not exactly ‘new’ in the world of books they are new to me; most
recently it has been Stevie J. Cole & LP Lovell and Tillie Cole.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m working on multiple books right now, my main focus is on ‘Broken
Angels: Genesis’ but I am also working on book 2 ‘Broken Angels:
Redemption’ and I’ve started a few chapters on possible spin offs from this
series as well.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family
members.

That would again be Alex Grayson. I asked quite a few people/authors for
help/advice and she is the one who was willing to take the time out of her
own writing career to help me. I was mostly ignored by a lot of the people
I contacted.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I definitely hope so 🙂 I guess time will tell for sure though.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in
your latest book?

No, I have started this book so many times and other than small critiquing
here and there I am finally happy with it 🙂

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have always loved to read, my Mom and my God-mother also love to read,
and when I had some things happen in my life writing was a great way to
express my feelings in a non-harmful way. It grew to be something that not
only helped but that I really enjoy as well.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I can’t share too much more than I have already, but I will say that it is
an emotional read. Grab the tissues and maybe a glass of wine 😉 it is not
all rainbows and kittens. but it’s not all dark either. There is a light at
the end of the tunnel.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The subject itself is difficult. It’s hard to write knowing just how real
some of the situations are. The characters are hard sometimes to write
because I love them so much, but to make the book what it is I have to
cause them pain and tragedy. But I like to think I make it up to them at
some point. Also part % in book @ has been a major pain because there is a
lot of military aspects in it, without my little brother I would still be
pulling my hair out to get it just right.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you
about their work?

Hmm that’s a very difficult one to answer lol I don’t think I could narrow
it down to one honestly. I can say my top authors would be Alex Grayson,
her books are the definition of healing and happiness from tragedy and
pain. Pepper Winters, she writes amazing dark romance that falls more in
the taboo side of writing, and Gemma James, she is another that falls in
the taboo dark romances that have a more twisted version of happily ever
after. there are sooo many more but I’ll stop with these three. I just
really like the dark side. As my Mom says ‘I’m a little morbid’ lol.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet, but I am hoping to 🙂

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kim Black is designing my covers, she is amazing at what she does and I
wouldn’t use anyone else.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Putting myself in such a dark place in order to try and really grasp the
characters emotions.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned you should never doubt yourself. I have written this book so many
times and never thought I could be good enough a writer to get anywhere. At
some point you just have to let go of your fear and go for it.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes. Do not ever give up. Not on writing, not on your ideas, and not on
yourself. If you work hard enough anyone can accomplish their dreams. It’s
not sales or ‘making it’ that brings satisfaction. It’s doing it to begin
with. That is the best reward, telling yourself you’re going to do it, and
then actually finishing. This is not an easy career path, you have to
really really want this to make it.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope if you take nothing else from my book that it at least helps you
know your past does not define you. Whether it be abuse, drugs, loss or
anything else. They are unfortunate circumstances in your life, not the
definitions of it.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Jeez lol I do not. I know It was an Edgar Allen Poe book my grandmother had
that really started me on writing poetry though, I think I was 7 or 8.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A lot of things make me laugh. My kids, my crazy family, and my insane but
awesome friends. Things that make me cry? Certain things/people from my
past. Books and movies (I will totaly ugly-cry during a sad movie) and my
kids growing up, I want them to stay little forever lol

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love meet Alex Grayson, I want to tell her personally how much she
really helped me stick with my writing and make it a reality.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

LOL umm, never really though about it.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Do reading and drinking coffee count? Haha. I love to draw, that’s
something I have done for as long as I can remember and take pictures that
I can edit; I love photo shop it’s addicting lol.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch TV much, I know a 25 year old who doesn’t care for TV I must
be crazy right? I do have a thing for horror movies though, any horror film
whether it be those super cheesy ones that are really gory or well done
movies I love them all; much to my Moms dismay, she has been forced to
endure them with me (she makes me leave the lights on haha). I tricked her
into taking me to see The Grudge and within 15 minutes she was screaming
and had a group of middle schoolers laughing at her (sorry Mommy, I love
you!)

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

I love cheese cake, any kind of cheese cake and salads, yes I know they so
don’t go together but I love them. My favorite colors are blue and green
(which is why they are the main character’s eye colors in Broken Angels)
and music…I love almost all music with the exception of really girly
stuff like Taylor Swift and Katy Perry oh and boy bands yuck lol. I
especially love 80’s hair metal, blame it on my mom and God-mom, but I do.
I love Ratt, Iron Maiden, Styx, Savatage I could go on all day lol. I also
love country and dark electropop stuff like Melanie Martinez and Halsey.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I want to be an Occupational Therapist Assistant, and I still plan on doing
so, my oldest daughter has some special needs due to auditory and sensory
integration disorder, and I have a friend I have known since fourth grade
that has cerebral palsey, I used to go with her to her therapy at school
and I knew that was what I wanted to do when I grew up. I was that weird
kid who watched Discovery Health channel instead of cartoons at age 7 lol

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
I do it is http://www.facebook.com/kirstincopebrokenangels

