Name: Suzan Tisdale

Age: Classified

Where are you from: Illinois

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I’m married to a most wonderful man. We just had our ten year wedding anniversary in April. Together, we have four children and three beautiful grandchildren. I have an Associates Degree in Paralegal Studies. Yes, I used to work with attorneys. They say writers are nuts, but we have nothing on attorneys.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Lots of new books coming out in 2016. I’ll be returning to The Clan MacDougall series with three new books. I’ll also be launching a new series from Frederick’s Queen, titled The McLarens and Mactintoshes.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing since childhood. I was horribly shy so writing was a great way to escape. I published my first book, Laiden’s Daughter, in December 2011, and as they say, the rest is history.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When Laiden’s Daughter started selling 400 copies a day. 😀

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wrote it for my mom. I wanted to give her a Kindle for her birthday and I thought it would be a hoot if the first book on it was something I’d written.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I think my style has changed and matured over the past four years. I’m not quite as bad a pantster as I used to be. I plot better now. I have five dry erase boards that I use to outline, define characters, and make timelines.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For my first book? It kind of popped into my head.

 

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Even though the world is filled with bad guys and evil, there is always hope. Good will always conquer evil. There are good, decent kind people in the world. And never, ever give up.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Laurin Wittig and Carmen Caine were the first two historical romance authors I discovered. I had never read any kind of romance novel before them. Because of them, I got hooked on this genre. My mentors? Tanya Anne Crosby and Kathryn Le Veque.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m re-reading Julie Garwood’s “The Bride”.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members

. Indie authors as a whole. Specifically, Tanya Anne Crosby and Kathryn Le Veque.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes! I write full time. It is my day job. And my night job. And my up-before-dawn job. 😀

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’d have made it bigger.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’ve just finished up Isle of the Blessed. This was a book that was originally released this summer, as part of the With Dreams Only Of You Collection. I’m releasing it as a single on December 8, with bonus content. The first part of the book is the love story between Graeme MacAulay and Josephine MacAdams and a very special Roman Gladius. The second half of the story is about Albert MacAulay and Laurin.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Meeting deadlines!

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My all time most favorite is Julie Garwood. I love her stories, her characters, the fact that she makes me laugh and cry.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Nope. But I’d like to!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have two cover artists. Carrie with Seductive Designs and Dar A.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just write the damned book. Worry about the other stuff later. You can’t promote a book you haven’t written. You can’t sell a book you haven’t written. Don’t worry about anything but that first draft.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love, love, LOVE my readers! They’ve gotten me through some of the most difficult times of my life. They’ve encouraged me, supported me, and loved me through good times and bad. I would not be where I am today without them.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“She finally typed The End.” Because I’ve written 15 books and have yet to write the words, ‘the end’ because I never want to close any doors. There is always one more story.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Does spoiling my grand kids or napping count as hobbies?

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love action films. Fast & Furious, James Bond, anything with Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson. I also love old movies, especially westerns. John Wayne is one of my heroes.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’d love to be the supreme omnipotent despotic ruler of the universe for about a week.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.suzantisdale.com is my website. My blog is http://yourcheekywench.com

Follow me on FaceBook at www.facebook.com/suzantisdaleromance

Twitter@suzantisdale

 

Amazon Authors Page USA http://www.amazon.com/Suzan-Tisdale/e/B006JYU628/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1448322515&sr=1-2-ent

 

UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/Suzan-Tisdale/e/B006JYU628/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1448322709&sr=1-2-ent

