Name Alex Blackmore

Where are you from

London

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I was born in London and raised in the green fields and cider country of Somerset. I trained as a lawyer and then practiced in the City for five years before escaping to write and run my own business.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Killing Eva (my second novel) is due to be published on 26th November, which is very exciting.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing almost as long as I can remember. When I was at law school I wrote a novel about a lawyer working in the City (where I was headed next). It was oddly prophetic. But not very good..

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m not 100% sure I do yet..

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I felt a need to record elements of life and put them together into some sort of structure. I guess it’s always been a way of making sense of life for me. I was also very inspired by other writers. I’ve been reading crime books and thrillers since I was a teenager, I love them.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Pacey and political apparently! I like books that move quickly when it comes to thrillers/crime. I think I have a very visual style of writing if you know what I mean.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I actually can’t remember. Eva is the main character in the book and she’s under threat all the way through so the title makes sense.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Question the world around you, especially what you’re told by those who have a vested interest in being believed.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

90%

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I was lucky enough to get feedback and comments from the late Henning Mankell. He was a great writer and an interesting man.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Steve Jobs biography. A Brief History of Seven Killings, Marlon James. In Bitter Chill, Sarah Ward.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I’m doing a panel with some great female authors in December – Sarah Ward and Amanda Jennings.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

Killing Eva (a thriller).

www.theglasspineapple.com (fashion website).

Attempting to take a holiday.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Lovely friends.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Hopefully! It doesn’t pay the bills at the moment though..

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t think so.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

From reading. The inspiration of the way words come together on a page to create a picture, an interest and a suspense.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Having to kill off characters that remind me of people I know!

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’ve loved Hening Mankell’s books, they’re so original. There’s just a raw truth to them and he doesn’t get caught up in gore for the sake of it. They also make you think and the suspense he creates is unbeatable.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

A little yes, but I use a lot of locations I’ve lived in – I had a conversation with Henning Mankell once and he told me books should never be set somewhere you haven’t lived!

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher No Exit found someone super talented.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Getting my ideas in order. I had a lot of them.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I have a tendency to be overly wordy…

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just write. That’s the difference between people who write that novel that everyone has in them and people who don’t. It’s just as much about hard work and discipline as talent.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I think it may have been The Hungry Caterpillar…

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I find animal cruelty hard to stomach and bigoted views make me angry.  Slapstick comedy makes me laugh and people with really dry hunour

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I’d like to meet Clare Danes to find out what’s going to happen next on Homeland..!

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love hot yoga, cooking mad things and hanging out with lovely family and friends.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Big fan of Game of Thrones. I’m enjoying The Returned, True Detective.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music 

I wear a lot of black but you can’t beat a good scarlet. I’m quite into juicing at the moment, it makes you feel so good! For a less boring answer I’d say cake – a friend once made me a blueberry cake for my birthday, complete with home made blueberry jam and fresh cream. It was insane.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I also run a website that sells emerging fashion designers and independent brands so I’m kind of doing what else I would have done too!

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.alexblackmore.com

 

 

KILLING EVA

AN EVA SCOTT THRILLER

 

Alex Blackmore

 

No Exit Press

Paperback original £7.99 & ebook £5.99

Published November 26th

‘An exciting, fast-moving conspiracy thriller in the classic Hitchcock mould’ – Emlyn Rees

Introducing a gripping new voice and the formidably authentic protagonist Eva Scott

Eva drew back from the dying man.  His breath was hot on her face, the grip he had on her wrist was tight, but she knew that he had just moments left.

 

Witnessing a dramatic death at London’s Waterloo Station triggers a series of events that shatter Eva

Scott’s world.  Dying words uttered on the station concourse awaken a history she had thought long

buried.  But the past is about to be resurrected, in all its brutal reality.

Eva’s life is soon out of her hands.  A genetic key is keeping her alive; but foreshadowing her death.

People from her past materialise and then disappear, testing the limits of her sanity. Inextricably linked to her survival is the potential takedown of an economic power, on which hang the lives of many others.  The only way out is through . . But Eva’s life is no longer her own . .  And it’s killing her.

 

Alex Blackmore’s second novel confirms her place on the thriller scene.  A fast-paced conspiracy with an impressive female lead, Killing Eva ensures that Blackmore will be an author to watch.

Alex Blackmore runs The Glass Pineapple, an online fashion retail start-up championing emerging designers and independent labels to be launched in Autumn 2015.  As well as writing novels, Alex also manages her own copywriting business.  Alex spent five years in the pressure cooker environment of City law, in both Paris and London, before breaking free of the egos and unending document piles to write.  Her debut novel, Lethal Profit, was published by No Exit in 2014.

Alex is currently based in London and Winchester.

Find out more at www.alexblackmore.com @AlexPBlackmore

Praise for Alex Blackmore’s debut thriller Lethal Profit:

 

“This is immensely lively fare, delivered with a skill that belies the fact that this is the author’s first novel” – Crime Time

“A down-and-dirty tale of survival, a la Taken; a hi-tech corporate thriller; a ’70s style political conspiracy; a Bond-style spy drama. That’s a heady, intoxicating mix.” – Crime Thriller Fella

“An exciting, fast-moving conspiracy thriller in the classic Hitchcock mould” – Author Emlyn Rees

“Alex has forged a unique tale” – Mystery People

“A real page turner… one to watch!” – Best Crime Books to Read

“Clever and enjoyable… Recommended” – Amanda Gillies, eurocrime

“Dedication and perseverance paid off” – Adrian Magson

READER REVIEWS for Lethal Profit:

Offer me another Alex Blackmore and I will snatch it from your hands in glee!!

The character of Eva is cleverly put together and the author has left the way open for a second book

A must read book for the summer, Eva Scott gets in to more and more danger as the plot thickens, the twists in this book keep the reader hooked.

This is a rollercoaster of a ride and best read in one sitting as I could not put this book down

I couldn’t stop turning the pages of this fast-paced thriller. It’s an action-packed and exciting book and the cleverly interwoven stories left me breathless. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Excellent book, could not put it down.  Blood pressure took time to settle down after reading.

Exceptional for a debut writer

Great suspense, and a strong female lead!

 

Alex Blackmore is available for interview, features and events

All publicity enquiries and review copy requests to Becke Parker:

email becke@bparkerpr.co.uk / tel 07810 480924

