Name: Xyla Turner

Age: 34

Where are you from: Brooklyn, NY

A little about your selfie your education Family life, etc  

Xyla Turner was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. She is an avid reader of romance novels and a sucker for sassy females and dominant males. She is a high school educator and a groovy Aunt. Outside of reading, Xyla likes to spend time with her family and friends and travel. She writes different genres, but her favorite is romance. Xyla has her Bachelor’s degree in Education and Masters in Education Administration.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Xyla: I just started a new series called Line of Duty, which will features Herod and heroines in the law enforcement field. This will connect with my League of Bosses series, that is filled with short stories that will expand as I continue.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Xyla: I started writing last year at a point in my life where I felt frustrated with life. It was at a point where I needed to write or cry and since I cried enough, so I started to write all of my concerns, ideas, thoughts and what I wanted out of life. Thus was born The Chase.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Xyla: I think I considered I was a writer after I wrote the third book with ease. Not that it was the best, but when I looked up and saw there were forty-five thousands words in two weeks. I thought, okay Xyla. You may be on to something.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Xyla: My writing gears mainly in the first person and is more down to earth. I like to get to the story and not fill it with fluff or filler. My characters talk like everyday people and they go through common issues.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Xyla: The title kind of made its self. The heroine is constantly running from the hero, thus causing a chase.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Xyla: Yes, there are several messages. Successful people have problems too.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Xyla: A lot of the book is based off of real events or circumstances. I’d rather not get into which ones. J


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Xyla: Definitely events in my life.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Xyla: The Babysitter’s Club


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Xyla: Right now, I’m reading Church STILL Ain’t A Showplace for Saints by  Angelia Vernon Menchan.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Xyla: Line of Duty Series and I have two other main stream novels are coming.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Xyla: Other authors, indie and published. They have really embraced me and supported me


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Xyla: Yes, I see it as a possible career, but my primary careers takes precedence for now.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Xyla: Yes, I would have cancelled the Pre-Order! Besides that, the story is the story.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Xyla: 10-80 – A Line of Duty Series Excerpt

D’asia & Ryan’s first encounter!

What was this guy’s deal? He knew the rules. I didn’t make them.
“What! You need a snitch? Huh? Well, I don’t snitch. Shit, I don’t even know anything to snitch about. You must need something from me, right? I just want to be left alone and mind my business. That is all I’m trying to do, but you go out of your way to interrupt that. What do you want from me? Huh.” I exhaled.
“Your time,” He said as I reared my head back in confusion. “What? We can’t even get dinner or grab lunch. Shit, I’d take coffee.”
I was shaking my head. “Are you crazy?”
“Apparently, I must be.” He shook his head too. “Those are the rules, right? You always do what you’re told?”
“Don’t do that.” I spat. “You think because you color outside the lines of the law, everybody does?” I laughed at the ridiculousness of what he was proposing.
It must have sounded like the cackle of a hysterical woman. As I was in the middle of my own private joke, he had one of his own. Before I could stop him, he bent down and kissed me full on the lips and inserted his warm, sneaky tongue in my mouth.
He completed invaded me, as he pulled me against him, while I, initially, pushed back. Then he tangled his tongue with mine and my fight ceased. My tongue pressed back against his, as he took more of me. The fight left my arms and a new battle ensued. Grabbing the back of his short hair in my small fist, caused him to growl mid-kiss. Sending all sorts of signals throughout my body. It was on fire. He had lit the flame. The cop.
Oh no.
The cop.
My hands dropped from his hair and I pushed him away. He let go but stared at me with unadulterated lust in his eyes. His chest was moving up and down as mine was doing the same.
“W-what are you doing?” I asked out of breath.
“I don’t know,” He replied, just as puzzled as I was.
“Don’t do it again.” I shook my head, trying to jar myself to leave.
Like immediately.
My legs finally moved towards the door.
“Have dinner with me,” He yelled after me.
I shook my head.
“Lunch?”
I kept shaking my head.
“Come on. Coffee?” He pleaded once more.
“No,” I said with as much finality I could muster up.
I reached the door and nearly ran out of the store.
What in the world was wrong with me? Letting a cop kiss me in a grocery store refrigerator.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Xyla: Yes. It is hard for me to keep up with the characters. This is the bane of my existence.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Xyla: Kristin Ashley and Sylvia Day have coined books that I’ve read several time as in more than 10. I just love their characters and wish I would live that life. They come alive for me!


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Xyla: Not really. Although in 2016, I will be traveling a lot for different events.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Xyla: Dynasty CoverMe has designed most of my covers.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Xyla: Yes. Do your research, network and listen to readers.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Xyla: Thank you so much for your support. I truly appreciate your trust in me to deliver a good book.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Xyla: Baby and animal videos. Also, my nieces and nephews. They are cute!

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Xyla: The President of the United States. He is just awesome!

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Xyla: Empowered to Empower!

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Xyla: I eat mostly American Food, but I have a whole list of things that cannot touch the other. I like Pink and I like Gospel and Old School Hip Hop

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Xyla: A Spoken Word Artist

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Xyla: Yes,

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Xyla-Turner/e/B00VK3NAS0/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

