Name: Michelle Diana Lowe

Age: 32

Where are you from: England

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I was born and bred in East London. Have lived there my whole life. I’ve been writing novels from the age of nine. In 2005, I graduated from Roehampton University.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My debut novel is UnShatter Me. This book is published by UrbanEdge Publishing. I am the first UK author to be published by them.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing stories in pre-school at the age of four. Even back then, I knew I had a message to give the world and I was so keen to express myself using the power of words.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

At the age of nine, I wrote a 30,000 word novel in 2 months. So, that’s when I gave myself the title.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Judy Blume. I have always admired her strong female characters.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No. I don’t believe I do. But two editors have said my writing is poetic, so let me go with that.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I don’t remember how I came up with the title for my very first book. That was over 20 years ago. But I can tell you how I came up with the title for my debut novel, UnShatter Me. It’s based on two broken teenagers who want to heal and move forward with their lives. So, the idea of them wanting to become ‘unshattered’ fits well with the idea of lives repairing themselves.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Don’t let past issues or traumas win. Everyone has the right to write their own destiny.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

All of it. I give advice by signposting and referring vulnerable people, especially vulnerable women, so I know what they can go through. They can often face stigma and be judged by people due to what they have gone through – e.g. domestic violence, sexual violence. Unshatter Me is there to challenge, education and break those stigmas, and let these women know that there is life after violence. You can survive it and go on to live a fulfilling life.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes. I experienced emotional abuse as a child and young adult. It affected me deeply until my late 20s. Life was hard. So I can identify with my lead character Alena Pavlis.

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life?

The biography of Martin Luther King helped to build my confidence and shape my life from the age of ten, when I was severely bullied at school and was crushed emotionally as a child due to problems at home.

Toni Morrison’s ‘Beloved’ also influenced me. That book is breathtaking for so many reasons and moved me deeply as an adolescent.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading Julia Sutton’s book, who is my good writer friend. Her debut novel is called ‘The Lake of Lilies.’ I look forward to reading more of my other author friends’ books too, in the coming months.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Many new authors – especially Julia Sutton and Rebecca Anne Pate. These guys are super talented.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

My current project is my debut novel UnShatter Me. I may have more work in the pipeline in the next year or so.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

God.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It could be a full time career, if that is my destiny.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. In spite of the fact a few people may want me to go back in time and change certain elements or fundamentals of my book UnShatter Me and its characters, I would not. And after all, no one can change the past any way.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I had a fascination for words from the age of three. Words gave me great comfort in times of sadness and strife and helped me to find hope again.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is an excerpt from my debut novel, UnShatter Me:

‘Whizzing off down the road at fifty miles per hour, into the scorching ochre horizon, I am free, for just one moment. It isn’t just bikes that can take off fast, I soon discovered. Relationships can too.’

 

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Editing. The process of editing is necessary, but hard.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

It has to be Zadie Smith. Her writing is exquisite and she paints beautiful pictures with words.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. I did internet research and spoke to professionals online.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Micah Shipp, who was contracted by my publisher.

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Digging into the depths of my soul to write the sections concerning Alena’s traumatic past.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

You learn who your friends really are and the people who support you. You also learn who aren’t really your friends. Sad, but true.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you need anything, you better have plenty of courage and belief, because for every person who lifts you up, three will try to knock you down.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for supporting me.

Thank you for being honest with how you feel about my writing and books.

A writer can only get better by the quality of its audience and the depths of their own character.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Judy Blume, ‘Iggie’s House’.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Funny jokes make me laugh.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Martin Luther King – because he saved my childhood.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Exercise.

Walking

Watching TV and films.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Every film with Queen Latifah in it (she is hilarious!)

White Chicks

Strictly Come Dancing

Downton Abbey

Frasier

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Royal blue is the best colour

I have a very eclectic taste in music – from hip-hop, pop, R’n’B, to jazz, blues, and classical music.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have lived to be a scientist!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.michelledianalowe.com – my website and blog.

 

My Links

Website – www.michelledianalowe.com

Facebook Page – www.facebook.com/MichelleDianaLowe

Twitter Page – www.twitter.com/Michelle_D_Lowe

Amazon Author page – http://www.amazon.com/Michelle-Diana-Lowe/e/B00I4DX6S8/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

UrbanEdge Publishing (Link to UnShatter Me sales page)  – http://www.urbanedgepublishing.com/product/unshatter-me/

Amazon US (Link to UnShatter Me) – http://www.amazon.com/UnShatter-Me-Michelle-Diana-Lowe-ebook/dp/B017AC8T6M

Amazon US ( Link to Heaven Calls For a Angel ) http://www.amazon.com/Heaven-Calls-Angel-Childhood-Cancer/dp/1495369218/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

