Name H. W. Vivian

Age 27

Where are you from New York, NY

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  I went to college for business, and I grew up in a single family home. I lived with my mother, but I was very close with all my uncles, aunts, and cousins on her side.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 I’m backed up on manuscripts – I write faster than I can publish. In early 2016, I plan to get to work releasing the second novel to my first trilogy. The first book, a YA/Fantasy, is called, War of Rain, and the second will be called, The Goddess: A War of Rain Novel. I’m currently working on my 8th manuscript.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing two years ago, in the latter half of 2013. I had picked up the outline to my first novel, Chasers, which was only 5 pages long, and decided to query it to fiction magazines as a short story. When the editors kept telling me that they thought there was more to the story that was not sufficiently explained in the 5 pages I presented them, I decided that it was time to expand my story, and see where it’ll take me. Six months later, I had a full-length novel.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 After I published my first novel.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Just the fact that people thought there was more to the short story I wrote than even I knew about.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I think so. I’d describe it as direct and straight to the point – honest, if you will.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 I came up with the title of Chasers because the story was based on a dream I had when I was 19 years old. I just had this feeling of something chasing me in the dream, and that’s what was happening to the main characters – they were being chased by something scary, and they had to work together to get out of the town where they were trapped.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 Just never limit yourself to possibilities.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

 I think it’s pretty realistic for the fact that not all children get along all the time, the way the three main characters in Chasers did not get along at the beginning. Furthermore, not all men and women end up together romantically, and that is exactly the case with two of the main characters. They did not end up dating by the end of the story – either with each other or with other characters – but they maintained a close bond with each other that will never be broken.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All events and characters in Chasers are based on personal experiences and acquaintances.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 The Animorphs series, written by K. A. Applegate, was what inspired me to write fiction. She has a way to get into anyone’s minds, and even the minds of animals, that just amazed me so much. I wanted to be able to understand everyone as deeply as she could understand her own characters


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Artificial Absolutes, by Mary Fan. I met her at the Brooklyn Book Festival 2015, and we clicked immediately!


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 Only Miss Fan for now.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m so backed up on manuscripts that I don’t know where to begin! There is a fourth novel that I wrote under a different pseudonym that I’ve wanted to get out to the public for some time. There’s also the second novel to the War of Rain trilogy that I want to publish. I’m also currently writing my 8th manuscript, entitled The Wishing Kingdom. And, like I said before, there are just a bunch of other manuscripts in between that are still waiting to be published somehow.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Current events. My novels are really based on current events.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 Definitely. Not one that necessarily promises monetary rewards, but soulful rewards.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Nah. Everything that was meant to be written is in there.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

A combination of K. A. Applegate’s literary influence as well as my voracious desire to write down my dreams.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

The Wishing Kingdom revolves around how people discover what they want to wish for, and how they go about fulfilling their wishes. If people want to know the rest, I’m afraid they will simply have to read it once it comes out J


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Not really.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

After all these years, K. A. Applegate is still my favorite author. It was through her works that I learned how to empathize.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 Yes. For example, when I started writing The Wishing Kingdom in August, I had never been to Fort Worth, Texas, which was where the story begins. And so I booked some tickets to that city, and had a lot of fun doing research there!


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 A childhood friend of mine, Theresa Flaherty. You can find her easily on Facebook.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Really just finding the time to do it.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 I always learn more about philosophy through writing my books. I would brainstorm on certain chapters or characters, and when I finally get that, “Aha!” moment, I realized that I’d not only made a plot breakthrough, but also a breakthrough on life.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 Just never stop writing, and don’t be afraid of writing about topics that others may label as “uninteresting” or “silly”. Just write.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I really hope you enjoy my stories!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was such a long time ago. I’m pretty sure it was something by Dr. Seuss, haha.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Nothing specific, but I definitely laugh at things that others may not find funny, like hard times or difficult situations. I think I’ve been through enough of those to understand how to brush them off my shoulders. What makes me cry is watching others being unkind to one another. I’m really big on kindness, and that’s another lesson that I learned from writing – always be kind to people.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

There are actually a lot of people in the past, who I’d like to meet – specifically writers like Fitzgerald and Christie. A writing career is one that definitely promises struggle, and there are so many writers who struggled during their lifetimes only to become wildly famous after their deaths because they would not be able to claim the profits that the big publishing houses are making from their names. I’d also like to ask them their thoughts on self-publishing just to see whether they think going that route might be more, I suppose “helpful” to modern writers’ commercial success.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I guess… “A big fan of humanity”, only because all my novels have been based on my observations of human beings.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love the outdoors. I hike and jog whenever I can.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love comedies, so anything that makes me laugh. I also laugh in dramas too sometimes.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music.

 Vegetarian food, red, and anything that’s not rap (yes, I even like country).

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Honestly, nothing else. Being a writer is everything I’d like to be.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? www.H-W-Vivian.com. There’s a contact page for anyone who’d like to keep in touch!

 

Facebook (2)www.facebook.com/hwvivian7 and www.facebook.com/alexchu4355

Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/H.-W.-Vivian/e/B00JRFBDZU/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1448166072&sr=8-1

Goodreads page: https://www.goodreads.com/HWVivian

 

