Name: Camilla Ross

Age 52

Where are you from?

I was raised in Massachusetts, and in 1991 relocated to Connecticut. Now I reside in Sedona AZ.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I was born 1 pound 15 ounces in 1963 so perhaps you can imagine my journey. I Graduated from Cathedral High School in the South End of Boston and attended Emerson College earning a Bachelors Degree in Performing Arts Acting.

I am a veteran, an educator and entrepreneur.  I enjoy writing, performing and producing theatre that changes the human condition.

I am the daughter of two amazing retired nurses. I love them.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Outside of moving to Sedona Arizona, I am the president and producer of the Emerson Theater Collaborative in Mystic, CT. we are coming into our 8th year as a company and I really love what we as a company have done.  We have produced over 21 shows in the past seven years and I am grateful for the experience.

I have always felt that my lifes’ journey has been in phases. So when Josh asked me to be part of this writing project I knew I was embarking on a new phase in my life. Timing is everything! Being part of The I’MPossible Project, with Josh Rivedal is really fun and exciting. Being an author was on my Life list of things to do. So the I’MPossible Project, Reengaging With Life, Creating a New You is really a life changing experience for me.  I am the author of Learning to Lead. What’s nice about this book and project is that it will inspire people to examine what’s important to them in their lives and act upon it.

You can pre-order the book here: http://www.iampossibleproject.com/one.html

As I begin this new journey in Sedona I have dreams and I am working on creating a theatre that will enlighten people about life and its truth. Sometimes the truth is beautiful and other times it’s hard to swallow much like the life’s journey. I am ever evolving into a being of pure love. It’s just taking the time to nourish my spirit daily.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have been writing since I was 11 years old. I began writing as an outlet to help cope with the pressures of childhood. I always enjoyed how it made me feel when I was done writing a piece of poetry.  So I continued that well into my adult years and it has served me well. It’s therapy for the soul. It’s where I find myself when the world doesn’t make sense. It’s where I find God and Goddess.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

In 2012 I sat down with Josh to create a Suicide Prevention Project called The I Am Worthy Project. (Teaching Youth and people that they are all worthy) During that creation process I penned a piece of poetry called in a moment. And it was then that I realized the importance of my words and their affect on people.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My life inspired me to write. I had been through so much in my 52 years. More than most people should ever have to go through. If I can change a life by telling one story It’s worth it.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I write how I speak. I love humor but I write from my heart and I don’t think there is any other way that I can write because that’s where I live.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?  

It’s what I am living in the moment. I am on a Journey.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No. I just want them to enjoy what they read and if they find a message that resonates with them then that’s beautiful.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

All of it it’s about life.

 


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I really enjoy African American Literature, non-fiction, Biographies, and self-discovery books.  I really enjoyed the poet, and counselor Dorothy Law Nolte, Zora Neale Hurston, and so many others.


Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Your Soul Sings Your Body Dances, Listening to their conversation by Dorothy A. Martin-Neville, Ph.D.  The book is awesome! And Always Picked Last, by Kevin Kearns.

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am working on a collaborative Theatre project called the All Benefits Children Project.  To show how the Arts affects Children on and off the Autistic Spectrum. We are doing this project using the subject of Bullying. The book by Kevin Kearns is what we’re using as a reference point for research with our youth. We received a gracious grant from the State of CT and the NEA for the project.

In addition I am working on a book of Poetry called the Journey of Souls.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

It’s hard to name just one. The Southeastern Connecticut Women’s Network, and our surrounding community has been some of the biggest supporters of our Theatrical work. However on a personal level family, friends and the new found friends of Sedona have just been great for my spirit.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely! I really enjoy writing and if I could change the world by what I write it’s worth it.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No because it’s a new phase in my life and I am really loving where I am in my life.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is just a little passage from one of pieces

 

In heat of a spring morning

Nothing but beauty surprises me.

The windows I look out are your eyes looking back at me.

Sacred are the words spoken in times such as these.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I am a poetry writer, and I am now getting into prose, which I am really enjoying it. So I don’t find it challenging as I do find it rewarding.
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Take a Journal where every you go and let life inspire you to feel what you write about.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

A book is still the most sacred of things…It allows us to go places we’ve never been, and to experience the human conditions of our brothers and sisters around the globe. Don’t stop reading

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

My first book Dick and Jane….(Yuck) Of course in school but when I learned to read I chose comic books as my source of reading material. They were more interesting and real as a kid. Then I discovered Jules Verne!

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Life makes me laugh and cry

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to have met my maternal grandfather… So I could know his story.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I like scrapbooking, traveling, collecting model cars, and of course reading comics.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy watching documentaries, science fiction, and action packed thrillers.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Mexican continues to be one my favorites, of course that comfort plate of Macaroni and Cheese too! Colors…Purple still resonates with my soul as does green. Music Gosh I love Music… I still love my oldies 60s, 70’s and 80’s music.  But I am into Peter Kater these days, and Guitarist Anthony Mazzella.  Good stuff!

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I am doing it! Teaching, Acting creates theatre, meeting new people. All the things I love.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My blog is called The Passages of Ross and I get there when the moment strikes me. It’s a combination of Theatre, Poetry and conversations about life. https://cross45.wordpress.com

My company website is www.emersontheatercollaborative.org

I am now coming into my own again on a new phase of my life so my personal site will be ready after the new year. It’s going to be exciting.

 

