Name: Jeremy Croston

Age: 34

Where are you from: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I went to the University of Central Florida as a marketing major, met my wife ironically at a football game (she helped me smuggle my beer into the stadium), and we settled in Orlando for the long haul.  I’m a writer on the side, as my normal job is in business development for a Fortune 500 company.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Jeremy: Oh man, I’m excited to announce that I just completed my latest book and submitted it to my editors.  Fingers crossed, everything will come back with a big thumbs up and I’ll be able to proceed to releasing it.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Jeremy: I actually started writing very young, at 5, when my mom entered my short stories into contests in my hometown.  Because of her, I kept it up as a secret passion of mine.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Jeremy: When I was 8 and I won a contest for best action-adventure short story.  Most of the other competitors were in high school, so that was an ego boost for the lil guy!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Jeremy: My wife did.  She found all my notes and journals full of ideas and told me to do something useful with them or throw them away.  So I took them and wrote a book – Power Play: Act 1 Svartalfheim.  First book in my trilogy entitled Ragnarok on Ice.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Jeremy: First person with a very fast pace.  I like to go from A to B in such a way that makes you feel like we’re on a rollercoaster together.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Jeremy: I’m a huge ice hockey fan, so I took a page from the sport.  Throw in a little Norse mythology twist and there you go!

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Jeremy: No one’s fate is set in stone.  I want people to believe they can do whatever they want, no matter the odds against them.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Jeremy: It is a mythology book, so not much of it.  The parts that take place on Midgard (our realm in the story) are realistic, but that’s about it.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Jeremy: A mixture.  The main character is based on a friend, but of course I had to add in some of my own elements to make the project personable too.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? A mentor?

Jeremy: Rick Riordan is a brilliant author, so I looked at his work for a lot of influence.  Personally, my old mythology professor would be a mentor, as he gave me a lot of good ideas to expand upon.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Paranormal Contact Volume 2: St. Augustine – it’s my friend’s book and I enjoy his style very much.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Jeremy: Ironically, the two guys I work with for all of this, Jack Crosby and Jeff Trelewicz.  All three of us have our own style and working together really helps, as we can read and critique each other’s work.  Both are very talented and entertaining.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Jeremy: As I mentioned before, I just finished my newest venture.  I went away from mythology and created my own super hero type world in this book.  The title is The Negative Man: City of Chaos.  I’m very excited about this project.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Jeremy: A friend of mine named Karen.  She’s put up with my constant badgering if chapters flow well and story line material.  God bless her and her patience.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Jeremy: I love my regular job, but I do hope to continue this as a side gig and a rather successful one.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Jeremy: I guess we’ll find out when I get it back from the editors.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Jeremy: An overactive imagination that my mom made me put to use, haha.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Jeremy: I really want to, but I’m going to hold off for now.  Pop over to my blog in December, as I’m planning to release a few chapters before the book comes out.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Jeremy: I write too fast for my own good, sometimes overlooking issues that I would catch the first time if I just worked slower.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Jeremy: Patrick Kampman – he balances action, humor, and personal connections so well.  One day, I hope to achieve that myself.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Jeremy: Just to my home office.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Jeremy: I have two or three graphic artists that work with me, but a lot of stuff comes from 67 Studios Production.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Jeremy: Clicking submit on the Kindle Publishing page.  Believing what I wrote was worth sharing to the world.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Jeremy: That I have a knack for this writing thing and I just need to keep working hard to improve.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Jeremy: Believe in yourself and your readers will too.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Jeremy: The best is yet to come, I promise you.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Jeremy: Thomas the train I think.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Jeremy: Knock-knock jokes make me laugh, the beginning of Finding Nemo makes me cry (why is it always the mother?!).

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Jeremy: I’d love to meet Jimmy Hendrix.  He was a musical genius.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Jeremy: I just want to be called a good man.  If everyone I’ve met thinks I was a good person, then I did my job for my life.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Jeremy: I play soccer in an adult men’s league, I love Star Wars and everything about it, and my favorite past time is chasing my dog around our backyard.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Jeremy: Star Wars, NCIS, the Marvel films, and Flash/Arrow

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Jeremy: My favorite color is blue, my favorite food is pepperoni pizza, and I am an old school rock ‘n roll kinda guy.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Jeremy: Possibly worked for the CIA or became an astronaut.  You never know…

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Jeremy: My blog can be found at http://ragnarokonice.wordpress.com and people can also connect with me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ragnarokonicev2!

Amazon Authors Page  http://www.amazon.com/Jeremy-Croston/e/B00KWF7D5I

