Name : Geri Glenn

Age : 35

Where are you from : I grew up in Brockville, Ontario.  It’s a small town in southern Canada.  As a military wife, we’ve now lived all over Canada.  We currently live in a tiny town in New Brunswick.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  :

As I’ve mentioned, my hubby is in the army.  We have two daughters, ages 10 and 3.  Before I met him, I went to college and got a diploma in Developmental Services.  For years I worked in group homes with people that had multiple disabilities.  I’ve done so many jobs over the years between what I did before college and what I did every time we’ve had to move.  I’ve worked in stores and factories, health care facilities and ran my own daycare.  I even spent some time working as a 911 dispatcher.  I feel that all of the people I have met and all of the jobs I have done have made me more knowledgeable in a broad range of subjects which makes my writing about them a little easier.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Geri:  I don’t really have any big news to reveal.  I am excited to be working on Hybrids with Shelly Morgan and it is shaping up to be freaking amazing.  I am also counting down the days until I attend the Outlaw Author Motorcycle Convention in Mississippi next June!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Geri:  For years I have started stories and then forgotten about them when the writing stopped flowing.  This past March, I found myself working the night shift in an Alzheimer’s unit at the seniors home I worked at.  After they went to bed, there was about eight hours a night where there was literally nothing to do.  I read a lot but decided to try my hand at writing.  Once Ryker started shaping up, I couldn’t stop.  Now I’m addicted.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Geri:  Once I realized that Ryker was almost done and I was actually going to finish this one, I started to think of myself as an actual writer.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Geri:  Besides boredom on my night shift, my grandfather had just passed away from lung cancer and I was still really feeling sad about that.  Once I started my story, and Smokey started shaping up, I realized that I could put a lot of what I was feeling into both Ryker and Charlotte.  It was extremely therapeutic.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Geri:  I don’t think so.  I just write what comes out.  I tend to write best in present tense, first person.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Geri:  I don’t know where Kings of Korruption came from.  It just kind of popped into my head and I ran with it.  As for Ryker, I just thought it was easier if each volume in the series had a simple name so people could keep them straight.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Geri:  The main message in Ryker is to never let your fears guide you.  Always be willing to take a risk for something or someone you love.  Living in fear isn’t really living at all.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

Geri:  I don’t know.  None of it?  All of it?  To be honest, I’ve never even met a biker before in my life.  I just know what I’ve seen from Sons of Anarchy and what I’ve read in books.  Is their life really like this?  On TV it is.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Geri:  Just Smokey.  He is loosely based on the death of my grandfather.

 

 


Fiona: What books have influenced your life most? a mentor?

Geri:  All of them.  But if I had to pick just one, I would probably say Colleen Hoover.  You can’t get much more inspirational than CoHo.  The woman had an idea, wrote her book and on a whim, put it on Amazon.  Now look at her!  Though I doubt I will ever be as talented as Mrs. Hoover, I aim to push myself to hone my skill like she has.

 

 


Fiona: What book are you reading now? 

Geri:  I’m working on Shelly Morgan’s Forsaken Sinners series and loving every word!

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Geri:  So many.  As an indie, there is a whole world of other indies out there that I have had the pleasure of meeting and reading their work.  Off the top of my head, my favorites are Jacqueline M Sinclair.  Yes, we are friends but man, that woman can write.  Same with Shelly Morgan.  I fangirled over her long before I started writing.  And though she is not new, I freaking love River Savage’s books.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects? 

Geri:  I am working on a novella for an anthology I’m participating in, a paranormal romance titled Hybrids that I am writing with Shelly Morgan and book 3 of my Kings of Korruption MC series, titled Jase.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Geri:  Fellow author Jacqueline M Sinclair.  I’ve never met the woman in real life, but she has been an amazing support for me while writing both Ryker and Tease.  I met her in a Goodreads Group looking for Beta readers.  She responded to my post and offered to be my Beta Swap partner.  We hit it off right away.  Without her support and encouragement, I don’t know that I would ever have finished Ryker.  I am honored to call her a friend.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Geri:  Absolutely.  I didn’t until recently but just a couple of weeks ago, I was fortunate enough to be able to quit my day job to stay home and write full time!  I have a ton of things planned over the next few months and am excited to get going on all of the separate projects I want to do!

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Geri:  So much!  I honestly hadn’t written anything in any great detail since I was in high school and that was a long time ago.  Ryker was me just getting my feet wet.  I learned a lot from that book and took a lot of the constructive critism I got and used it to make Tease an even better book than Ryker.  I wish I had developed the story line with both Anna and Lucy more than I did.  That is the main thing I would change.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Geri:  I just love to read.  I am addicted to reading.  I have always thought it would be an amazing feeling to write something that made people laugh, or cry or swoon.  And I was right!  It is.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Geri:  Here is a tiny little completely unedited excerpt from Hybrids!

I’m barely awake when I feel her slowly pull back the covers and crawl out of the bed, quiet as a mouse.  Cracking my eyes open enough to see what she’s up to, I see her creeping slowly to the bedroom door.  Just as she places her hand on the handle, I call out, “Going somewhere?”

She yelps loudly and I don’t even try to hide my grin as I sit up to fully face her.  I’m still grinning when she shocks the shit out of me by turning to face me and places her hands on her hips.  “Home.”  Her eyes meet mine and narrow, her lips pursing with annoyance.  “And stop laughing at me!”

Chuckling at her tone, I throw back the covers and climb out of the bed.  As I turn to face her, I hear her shocked gasp and look up just in time to see her whip around to face the door.  Sighing, I slowly approach her, my hands held out to the sides.  “Em, listen I-“

“Emersyn.  My name is Emersyn.  You don’t know me well enough to call me Em.”  Her voice is hard and stronger than I’ve ever heard it.  “And could you please put some clothes on?”

Frowning, I look down at what I’m wearing.  “Babe.  I’ve got clothes on.”

She whips her head around again so she’s facing me, and I watch as her aura swirls with red anger.  “I’m not your babe.”  Her eyes drift down from my face and land squarely on my chest.  I smirk as she swallows and purple embarrassment washes away the red.  “Just …”  She waves her hand up and down, indicating my body, not taking her eyes off my chest.  “Just put a shirt on, OK!”

I roll my eyes at her command, but not wanting to do anything to make her feel uncomfortable, I move to my dresser and pull out a t-shirt.  I don’t miss the fact that her wide eyes are watching my every move.  Taking my time, and subtly flexing my muscles, I pull the shirt over my head.  Facing her fully, I throw my hands out to the side.  “Happy?”

She closes her open mouth and holds my eyes as she nods.

“Good.  Now why were you sneaking out of my room?”

“I wasn’t sneaking!”  Her hands fly back to her hips and I arch my brow at her.  “OK, I was sneaking.  But you had no business sleeping in the same bed as me!  I don’t even know you!  And after last night …”  Her voice trails off, getting quieter.  “I don’t even know what to think about last night.  I’ve never been so scared in my life.”  Her eyes meet mine and fill with tears.  “Are you really half demon?”

I hold her stare and nod slowly.  “And half-angel.  Don’t forget that part.”

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Geri:  Just juggling the emotions of all of the different characters.  I spend a lot of time with my eyes closed, trying to figure out what each particular character is feeling at each particular moment.  It can be time consuming, but I feel my process works.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Geri:  My favorite author of all time is Richard Laymon.  He was a horror author who passed away in the 90s.  I love every word that man ever wrote.  His books are terrifying.  I think the thing that strikes me most about Laymon’s words are the gambit of emotions I run reading even a single page of one his books.  He was a master storyteller.  I would love to write a horror novel one day and dedicate it to his memory.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Geri:  So far, no.  My MC series is set in Ottawa, Ontario which is somewhere that I’m quite familiar with.  I have joked with my hubby about doing a “research trip” to somewhere tropical though.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Geri:  Robin from Wicked By Design has designed every one of my covers so far.  Hopefully that remains the case.  The woman is super talented!

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Geri:  Self doubt. I am my own worst critic and usually think my work sucks.  I have a close friend that reads every chapter as I write it.  She doesn’t have a computer so I email her my chapter, she reads it on her phone and texts me her comments.  The girl is brutally honest and I love her for it.  She also makes me see where my writing is strong and where it needs work.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Geri:  Actually, I have had to research gangs and bikers a lot while writing this series.  I’ve paid special attention to Canadian gang activity and was amazed at what goes on in my own country that I was unaware of.  As the series goes on, you will definitely see the results of that research.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Geri:  Find yourself a good Beta reader or two.  I can’t stress enough how important that was to my process.  They will help you stay true to your characters and your story, and you will make a trusted friend in the process.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Geri:  Just thank you.  Thank you for taking a chance on my Kings and for taking a chance on me.  I’m just a reader like you who knows what she likes and tried to write just that.  Every email, facebook message and review telling me what you liked about my books humbles me and I am amazed at the support I have received.  Keep the messages coming, and I will endeavor to keep writing books that entertain you and make you smile.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Geri: The first adult book I ever read was Watchers by Dean Koontz.  After that, I was hooked.  I’m a horror fiction junkie and to this day, still a huge fan of Koontz.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Geri:  I laugh easily I think.  I love silliness and sarcasm and am a professional smartass myself.  I cry just as easily.  I cry over anything moving or sad that I read or see or even hear.  I think my empathy button is turned on high and I don’t know how to turn it down, but I do think it helps me write more emotional scenes.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Geri:  I would love to spend a day with Ellen Degeneres.  Seems like a strange choice but that woman is inspirational.  She is funny and kind and still seems so grounded.  She has achieved so much and has done it with class and been a role model for the rest of the world.   She would be a pleasure to meet.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Geri:  Beloved Wife, Mother and Friend.  Simple as that.  Those are the things I strive to be best at and those are the things I most want to be remembered for.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Geri:  I’m so boring.  I like to read and watch old horror movies.  Halloween and Friday the 13th movies top my faves list.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Geri:  I am a huge fan of The Walking Dead.  Currently, that is the only show that I watch.  I am no stranger to Netflix binges though.  Right now I am going through all of Supernatural from start to finish and my daughter and I have been doing the same with Fresh Prince of Bel-Aire.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Geri:  I love pasta.  All pasta.  If it’s a noodle, I’ll eat it.  I love the colors purple and pink.  As for music, I am a hair band ballad lover!  Journey, REO Speedwagon, G&R and Def Leppard top my list of favorites.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Geri:  I’ve already done a lot.  My favourite job so far has been working with seniors.  It’s the most rewarding job I’ve ever done and I actually miss it quite a bit.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Geri:  I do!  I don’t blog often, because I have discovered that my extreme procrastination makes me a terrible blogger, BUT I do try to keep all of my book info and links up to date and it is a great place to contact me!  http://geriglenn.weebly.com

Here is the Links for Ryker:

♛Google Play Books- http://bit.ly/215RlLZ
♛Amazon- http://amzn.to/1l7Sguy
♛Barnes & Noble- http://bit.ly/1HTXIEF
♛iBooks- http://apple.co/1O68xfa
♛KOBO- http://bit.ly/1kI8Dy7

 

Here is the Links for Tease, which releases on November 27th!

♛   Preorder Links

Amazon:  http://goo.gl/83GdQZ

Barnes & Noble :  http://goo.gl/WxsBUo

iBooks:  https://itun.es/ca/_5sH-.l

Kobo: https://goo.gl/2Qi2pU

 

♛   Add to Goodreads:  https://goo.gl/MuZels

 

And my Amazon author page is:  http://goo.gl/CxEskj

 

I also have a website which it http://geriglenn.weebly.com

 

