Name, Glenn Soucy

Age, Old enough to be a grandfather. J

Where are you from, New England

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  I married my high school sweetheart. We’ve been married for over 28 years. We have three kids and two grandsons.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I finished part 7 in the Blood Tithe series a while back. It’s called, Beast in the Woods. Now I am almost done with the final instalment, Blood Tithe 8, When Darkness Calls. In the meantime, I wrote a short story titled, Cowboy Smith. It’s a love story with a roller coaster twist. Plus, I just received the next instalment to The Soul Collector series, Secrets in the Mines, from the proofreaders.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I can remember back in the third grade and stories that I wrote would be read to the class by the teacher. I’ve always loved writing. I really enjoy the escape from this world to one that no one else has seen yet.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I saw a tweet that read, “Any time that you get someone that you don’t know to read your work, you are a successful author.” After I read that, I felt like I was an author.

But the best part came when my Twitter account was going crazy with two ladies, one in Great Britain and one in South Africa where talking about which of my books they like the best. I was so flattered.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Actually, my first books have yet to be published and may never be. They were adventure stories as I loved to explore. They carried out to Blood Tithe and Jeremy’s adventures. Plus, all the underground tunnels and buildings described in Maine are really there. I got to explore them while stationed up there for the Air Force.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes, my wife says my books are, “Roller coaster rides.” She makes her hand go up and down while telling me this. I love fast moving stories.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title, Blood Tithe, is explained about three quarters the way into the book. I originally titled it, Dark Tithing, but that didn’t last long. A lot of people see the title and think it has to do with vampires. They are very surprised to see that it is something completely new.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, that evil can win battles, but it loses the war.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I do a lot of research on my books. I want it so if you are in a town that the book has in it, you can drive down the streets and see some of the things that are mentioned. I want my readers to feel like they could bump into my characters at any moment.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Events of my own life form the scenes. That helps put emotions into the story.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I love any book that can take me to another world. I’m a big fan of the Harry Potter series. However, it was the Percy Jackson books by Rick Riordan that I model my writing off the most.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished reading, Green , by Jay Lake. I’m on the hunt for the next adventure.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I do like the Cassidy Jones series by Elise Stokes.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I want to finish the Blood Tithe series and finish the last two books in The Soul Collector series. Then I have a lot of other projects I want to work on.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

That’s simple, Jesus Christ. He is my rock and I strongly feel my inspiration to my stories.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’d love to. But this is very difficult with so many indie writers putting their work out there.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not really. It will never be perfect. Just write it as your characters want.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

No. As I said, I’ve always enjoyed telling stories.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Finishing the Blood Tithe series. It will have eight parts

 

 

.
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I view writing as looking out a window to a world that only you can see. The hard part is keeping that window open as you juggle the real world in your life.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I like Rick Riordan, especially with Percy Jackson. It was enough action and cliff hangers to keep me turning pages.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Before I would always try and use places that I was familiar with or where I went to vacation. The internet has changed a lot of that.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I don’t have any one person. They were done by several people.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Keeping the action going without sounding to repetitive.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That my forearms get tired after three thousand words. J That you must let the story flow. Just write it and worry about clean up later. If you notice that there is something you missed, put it in all caps on the bottom and fix it later.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing. Stay true to you convictions and be original.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you very much! I can’t tell you how happy I am to see those glowing reviews, especially from other countries.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really. But the first one I really enjoyed was, Lord of the Flies.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My grandsons make me laugh a lot. My special needs daughter in pain makes me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

One person? If I could go back in time, I’d love to see the miracles that are Jesus created in the Bible. Present; I’d like to meet Stephen King and pick his brains.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I had to think about this… How about, “A man with a big heart.”

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I work out five to six days a week, love quading and hiking.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love scifi and can’t wait for the next Star Wars so I can get in touch with my inner-nerd. For TV I like Game of Thrones and Mountain Men.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love a good cheese burger. Though my waistline doesn’t. Burgundy is my favorite color and I love sound tracks, like Transformers, when writing. When I am relaxing I enjoy Christian top forty.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’d like to be a commercial pilot or maybe an astronaut.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Sorry, no blog.

http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/glenn-soucy.html

Amazon Authors Page http://www.amazon.com/Glenn-Soucy/e/B0069GTV8G/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

