Name Ailsa Cawley

Age 44

Where are you from The North of England

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I’m from a small family, I went to primary and secondary school, leaving as most people did aged 16. I was close to my grandparents and loved hearing stories from my nana who could really weave a tale. Hers were always fascinating, but factual. She gave me an interest in History. My Dad was a fabulous teller of tall tales, with an amazing imagination!!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I only started my Facebook, Twitter and WordPress pages in May of this year, but the encouragement I have had is phenomenal

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always loved writing, stories, or rhymes just because I couldn’t not. Though I wanted to be a journalist and photographer as a child, it was never encouraged as a real career option. So after many lost, and thrown away efforts, I stopped. Till lately.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t know that I seriously do! I am still getting used to people looking and liking what I write. I have a few great personal friends who have encouraged me all the way. As well as my husband and daughter. But they kind of have to be kind, don’t they? (laughs).

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I haven’t written a book yet, I’m not sure I have enough skill or work at the moment.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No I write as I feel

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My poetry has some truth, sometimes and others it has none. There’s an awful lot of truth stretching in some places! Because I read so many genres I can pick things from anywhere.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I have been an avid horror fan since being young, so without a doubt Stephen King. James Herbert, Kate Mosse, Neil Gaiman, books on myths and legends, historical dramas, fiction and nonfiction. I read so much it’s difficult to choose any one author.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

A Kate Mosse book, a Scottish myths and legends and a couple of others.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes, absolutely. I love Jaye Tomas’s poetry, and a friend is about to release an awesome fantasy novel.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

I try and write a little every day, and have started a short story, but that’s an aside for me really.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Two friends have supported my writing from the get go. I won’t name they’d both be embarrassed.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

At the minute no, but who knows…watch this space!

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Through reading, and having stories read at primary school. I was hooked, it’s all Roald Dahl’s fault, haha

Fiona : Can you share a little of your current work with us?

http://ailsacawley.com/2015/10/20/eggshell-heart/. Is one of my latest poems. http://ailsacawley.com/2015/10/19/fear-the-feeling-of-difference/

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I just let it build of it’s own accord.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have a few favourite authors, reading so many different books, you kind of have many favourites!

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

I don’t think I can advise anyone on writing, it’s a very personal thing. That doesn’t mean I don’t value feedback about mine.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Roald Dahl’s James and the giant peach, read under the covers every night by torch!

 Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love dry humour and slapstick and even some horror movies and fantasy have really funny moments. People make me laugh, despair too sometimes. Some books or poems can bring me to tears, as well as some of the major issues our world seems to have such as hunger and poverty.

 Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

There’s two! Peter Gabriel for his humanitarian work and music, Neil Gaiman the same reason and for his books.

 Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She found out who she was eventually…

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love photography, walking, reading, cooking.

 Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Nature programmes, science, sci-fi, comedy, drama…and the list goes on

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love spicy food, like Indian, or pasta, Mexican, colours, I tend to wear purple, black, red, a lot. Musically I enjoy so many types of music it’s hard to choose, Peter Gabriel, Genesis, folk, rock, Sting, but I love classical and I will give almost anything a chance.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I have done many different jobs, working in shops, offices, cafes, in care homes, and with children. I really can’t answer that definitively. Though they’ve possibly all helped as I’m a real people watcher.

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

If so what is it? http://ailsacawley.com/

https://m.facebook.com/ailsacawleypoetry

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009529928841

