Name Kandie Stixx

Age 28

Where are you from Sydney, Australia

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 Envy, my first dark romance, was released on October 31st!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I think I’ve always written, but I didn’t publish until this year.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I saw my name up on Amazon


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Hmmm not really sure, it just sort of wrote itself. I didn’t even know I liked that kind of writing until it came out.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I thought I did, but lately my writing has taken me down the dark romance genre and I really enjoy it. I also enjoy reading dark romance so I guess that is where it stems from.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

With Kendra, it was the main character’s name, and with Envy it came along when I was half way through the novella. It was a story about Envy and what it can do to you if you let it rule your life.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yeah, as I said above, Envy is a scary emotion. It can destroy you, and others around you. I guess the message would be don’t let it get to you, don’t let it eat away at your common sense.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

To a degree, I think it can be, but it’s not realistic as per my life. I think women get envious and destroy their lives thinking the grass is greener, but the grass is only greener on the side of the fence because you don’t know what happens when the doors are closed.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, I honestly have no idea where it came from. One scene came from a dream, and I went from there.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

 I really enjoy Gemma James. Actually it was her books that hooked me on dark romance in the first place.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading a book called Return Once More at the moment for my book blog J


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Hmmm, well during this year I have met so many fantastic authors. Aleya Michelle, Dzintra Sullivan, Michelle Irwin, Susan Child, Cherry Shephard, Tima Maria Lacoba and so many more!


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am currently working on a series, which is yet to be named, and the first book will be called Twisted.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Hmmm the bookworld community has always been a fantastic help, and helps me with my sanity most days.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 I wish I could. I honestly could not live without a job, and regular pay, but I wish I could write all day long.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope, I loved every aspect of it. But Envy isn’t for everyone. It has themes that some might not like, even though it is a work of fiction.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not at all. It’s been there all along.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

No, I have an amazing boyfriend who helps me with a lot of ideas and I can run ideas off him all the time.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I don’t really have a favourite, there are just too many out there that are amazing.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I haven’t yet.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kendra was designed by myself, and Envy was designed by a good friend of mine, Amy.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I think some of the scenes are quite dark and I had to get up and walk away before I broke down.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I only learnt that I could do it.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up. Sometimes words come easy, and sometimes words don’t come at all, but if you can’t think about anything other than being a writer, than you are a writer and your time will come.

 

Kendra is now LIVE!
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1FjV368
Nook: http://bit.ly/1IQ3ESX
iBooks: http://apple.co/1GtFEFv
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1F9zXHk

 



 

 

