Name: Aimee Shaye

Age: 22

Where are you from: New York City

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

Aimee: I am the youngest of three children and an aunt to two lovely nephews.  Growing up, I always had to find ways to occupy myself when my siblings were at school or out with friends, so I turned to reading and writing.  I started writing at the age of six.  At first I would write about anything: what I learned in school, how my day was, about cats and dogs (as most children probably do).  When I was 14, I was sitting in Ms. Powell’s 9th grade English class and I started to write the first draft of “Destroyed.”  There wasn’t much too it at first and it definitely wasn’t as complex as it is now.  My brother, when I was twenty, convinced me that I should publish my first novel.  We talked about the benefits of publishing with Amazon and he convinced me that I had nothing to lose.  He loved the concept of the novel and believed that it would be a huge hit once we really got out there.  In fact, it was my brother who decided that the title of the series should be “The Chronicles of the Seven Sons” when I told him that the series would be about seven men who were bound together by a prophecy.  It wasn’t hard to convince my parents of allowing me to publish and everyone has been so supportive.  My sister, brother, and sister-in-law support me by sharing my posts and telling others to read my novels!  At the age of 17-21 I was in a devastating relationship that took a huge toll on my life.  I thought it was everything I could have ever wanted but it caused a lot of problems.  The boy I was seeing wasn’t what he used to be when we first started dating and it was hard to be part of the relationship.  However, I found solace in my writing and eventually starting dating one of my best friends who has been my rock through everything.  He has encouraged me to look passed the past, and I have done so.  It has made me better.  He has made me better.  I am currently in college pursuing a Master’s Degree.  In May 2015, I graduated with my Bachelors.  Honestly, I see a PhD in my future!

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Aimee: My latest news is that I have put writing erotica aside for the moment.  I had a breakthrough with the Dark-Fantasy series I am working, aforementioned: “The Chronicles of the Seven Sons.”  I want to put my heart and soul into this series.  Currently, book two, “86,” is halfway done, ringing in at 176 page and 50,000 words as of November 16, 2015.  The cover for “86” is also being designed by my designer, Matthew Picinich of MP Design Works (www.facebook.com/mpdesignworks) .  There is already a concept (and plot overview) for book three.  Book Three of “The Chronicles of the Seven Sons” series will be about Christensen (Greek Name: Chrysippos) who so happens to be a dragon.  This book will contain King Arthur, Guinevere, and maybe Merlin.  There will be many twists and turns, after all what is a great novel without its twists and turns?

 

I also partook in an anthology, “This Beautiful Escape,” to raise money for Ataxia Awareness to help support author Melissa Ann who was diagnosed with Ataxia.  The purpose of this anthology was to write a story that had an significant uplifting statement.  There were 70 authors who partook in it and there are two volumes releasing November 24, 2015.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Aimee: As stated earlier, because I obviously didn’t read the questions before hand *insert laughter,* I started to write because I was often bored.  I was around six years old and would write about anything that I could.  In my elementary school, we often had to do book reports and because I read quickly, I would spend my time writing those book reports and then I’d immediately start to read the next book.  I also enjoyed the writing prompts that my teachers stapled into our notebooks that were for reading responses.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Aimee: I first considered myself a writer at the age of six.  Often when adults would ask me, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” I would respond that I wanted to be a writer or a teacher.  Now, I will be living out both dreams!


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Aimee: Honesty is the best policy here!  When the Twilight books became a huge HIT in 2008 (I was still in 9th grade at this time) I was really interested in vampires.  However, I hated that Meyers’ vampires sparkled.  Having read books about vampires before, I was aware that sun was their poison and blood was their addiction.  I then wanted to write my own novel, one that had what I thought an interesting twist would be.  I wanted my vampires to be able to walk in the sun (which eventually turned them into hybrid vampires) and I wanted them to suck the blood of villains (murderers, rapists etc.).  Keeping all of this in mind, I began to write “Destroyed.”


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Aimee: At first, I didn’t think I did, but now as I read through “Destroyed” and as I write “86,” I have realized that I do have a specific writing style.  I like to tell my stories through dialogue and emotion.  I feel as though, while description can tell a reader an entire story in one sitting, it is the dialogue that readers relate to the most.  When a character speaks, I make sure that they are staying true to themselves.  If he/she is a hopeless romantic, they are going to talk with fluidity and with poetry.  If they are bitter, they are going to snap, they’re going to be sarcastic, and they’re going to be rude.  I also love to show emotion through facial expressions and dialogue.  It is so important for the character’s emotions to be on full display if you want your readers to enjoy the characters they are reading about.  Scenes should play out like a movie.  And movies are mostly dialogue.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Aimee: The title of “Destroyed” wasn’t always clear to me, I’ll tell you that.  “Destroyed” was first called “Stone Cold.”  As I got older, I realized how irrelevant that title was to the story, but also how boring it was.  Then, I started to think about my character.  I kept his past in my mind.  I thought about his future.  I thought about his heart, his lost love, the pain that he felt every day.  I thought about how destroyed he was due to the prophecy and the way his life had been taken away from him.  And in thinking about all of that, I decided to title it “Destroyed.”

I had the title “Forbidden Lust” before I even started writing, sometimes it happens like that.  I remember what it was like when I was in my previous relationship but found myself falling for my best friend.  I knew it was forbidden but I couldn’t stop myself.

The same thing happened with “86.”  I had the title and concept of “86” before I began writing.  I knew that Sypher (Greek Name: Syagros) was unwanted by his mother and that he was going to be tortured.  So I found significant plot points that would be important to the title.  When I looked up “unwanted” in an online thesaurus, I found that “86” was a term for unwanted and so I went with that.  From there, I found more ways to make the title significant.  Sypher was the 86th prisoner of the Underworld.  He was tortured in prison number 86 and he has 86 scars on his back alone.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Aimee: Yes!  Although “Destroyed” and “86” are a Dark-Fantasy novel, I want readers to know that there is nothing that should stop you from living.  Though life may get rough and bad things will happen—you will lose loved ones, you will be heartbroken—there will always be something that makes you want to live.

The message I want readers to get from “Forbidden Lust” is that it is perfectly okay to be a virgin well into your twenties.  Sometimes, it’s best.  When you’re in your twenties, you’re on the path to what you want in life.  You find yourself looking at life through a different lens.  Your first may be your last and you don’t have to regret doing something stupid as a teen.  Your first time should always be with someone who loves you unconditionally.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Aimee: Despite the fact that there are vampires, gods, goddesses, demons, angels, and other mythological beings in “Destroyed,” and “86” the emotion conveyed in “Destroyed” is realistic.  I put my heart and soul into every part of “Destroyed” and while it will look juvenile compared to “86,” I know that readers will know exactly where I was conveying my own emotions.

As for “Forbidden Lust,” the entire novella is realistic.  There’s office romance, the jealous co-worker (though the attempted rape may not be entirely realistic), there’s the twist of life and how as soon as something starts to go good, something crazy happens.  There’s the fast pace of how one thing can lead to another.  How you can be in the same building with someone but never notice them.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Aimee: Yes.  In “Destroyed” and “86.”  There are experiences based on someone I know, or events in my own life.  Though I won’t reveal which scenes portray to who (someone I know or me) I will say that the theme of rape is real.  While the person may not have actually been raped, attempted it still wrong and it still has the same effect on a person.  The emotion around the heartbreak is real.  When you love someone so much and you feel as though they’ve betrayed you, you do flinch when someone new comes along.  You do wish that you could just erase it all.  The poetry is all from my heart, words that I have written in my personal poetry book that I could not just let sit off to the side.  Then there’s the immaculate, unconditional love (this is the only one that I’ll give away).  The amount of love that you will see in “Forbidden Lust” and “86” all comes from the amount of love that I found in Matthew.  He is old fashioned and definitely not from this time.  He uses endearments such as “my lady,” “love,” “darling,” and then there’s the kisses on the forehead, and on the hand.  And as if there is no one rushing by us on the streets of NYC, we walk with our arms around each other’s waist.  Just as you will Sypher do in “86.”  And just as William and Alexandra spend their time together strolling through the park and talking about board games, history, and music, Matt and I do the same.  And some of the lines you’ll see are lines that have been said by us, to each other.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Aimee: Books that have influenced me most in my life are all of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s novels.  She is a NYT bestselling Romance author who writes Romance using mythological beings and many different mythologies from various cultures.  I always wanted to do something different and a lot of people told me that “Destroyed” would never make it because Greek Mythology was so overrated.  But when I discovered SK for the first time in 2010, I knew that “Destroyed” would make it because SK did!


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Aimee: I am reading many books at the moment.  I am currently reading “Son” by Lois Lowry, “Auschwitz: A New History” by Laurence Rees, and I am also reading “Inkspell” by Cornelia Funke.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Aimee: Yes!  Kindra Sowder is a fellow indie author who publishes mainly with her own publishing company, Burning Willow Press.  She is a horror erotica writer and she is also, now, one of my best friends!


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Aimee: My current projects are “86 (The Chronicles of the Seven Sons Book Two)” and Book Three (no title yet) of “The Chronicles of the Seven Sons.”  While I do have “Forbidden Love (The Forbidden Trilogy Novella Two)” in the works, I have put aside for the time being to finish the long awaited “86.”


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Aimee: Matthew Picinich.  Matthew is not only my cover designer, he is also my best friend and my boyfriend.  We met the second week of college in 2011 (we were in the same Math class) and it was instant friendship.  We hadn’t seen each other for 2 years when I suddenly saw him in the corridor of our college, heading into one of the design labs.  I asked him if we could talk for a few minutes while he worked and when he said that we could, I talked to him about being my cover designer.  While the designer who created the cover of “Destroyed” was amazing, I needed someone who I could meet up with on a daily or weekly basis instead of sending countless e-mails back and forth.  I also wasn’t able (due to personal circumstances) to meet with my previous designer on weekends and he worked during the week.  So it was much easier to have someone I knew could work his way around my crazy family schedule without having an issue.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Aimee: As much as I love writing, I don’t see it as the only career.  Authors depend on marketing, editors and publicity to make sales.  Without all of that, sales will be limited.  My funds are very limited as an independent writer and I publishing with a big publishing company would make me little to nothing after payment for marketing, editing and royalty is all taken out.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Aimee: There is a lot that I would change about “Destroyed,” and in fact, I am changing those things.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Aimee: Yes, of course!  I was writing book reports for school, and I was bored after doing so one night so my father told me to go write a story.  And I wrote a story about a dog.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Aimee: Well yeah!

Here is an excerpt from “86.”

“Why are you so bent on having him take the throne?”  Cordylion hissed at Hades.

Hades had had it with all of the needless questions that Cordylion and Vladimir were hitting him with.  Syagros was his son and he wanted his son to rule by his side…at least that was the story he was sticking with.  He didn’t need them knowing what his real plans were…not yet.  He couldn’t trust anyone.

It was taking Hades all of his sanity to not kill Cordylion where he stood.  The bastard was always riding on Hades’ ass about every executive decision he made as if Cordylion were the king of Hades and not Hades himself.

“He is my son.”  Hades said, simply.  “If I want him to rule by my side, then he will rule by my side.”

Cordylion extended his fangs and growled in frustration.  “This is the same son that told you repeatedly that he wish he hadn’t been born to you.  Don’t you think that it’s just a little weird that he’s showing in a sudden interest in ruling Hades with his father?  I don’t buy it.”


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Aimee: Being in college isn’t easy when you want to write.  I have to make sure that my school work is my priority and so I force myself to do all of my school work long before it is due so that I have time to write.  But now with State Certification exams, I find myself studying and drained from all the time I put into school that when I go to write there is so much writer’s block.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Aimee: Sherrilyn Kenyon is my favorite author.  What really strikes me about her work is the fact that all of her characters have been through trying times but each and every one of them have it made it out stronger than ever.  They’ve even found it within themselves to love again.  While I cannot say the same for all of my characters, I am glad that all of her characters have those happy endings, especially since their lives are so traumatizing.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Aimee: I have traveled a great deal in my life already but not to where it concerned my books.  “The Chronicles of the Seven Sons” takes place circa 7,000BC in Ancient Greece and therefore I am able to play around with the world and make it however I want to, and “The Forbidden Trilogy” takes place right here in NYC.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Aimee: The cover of “Destroyed” was designed by Julian Turner.

The cover of “Forbidden Lust” was designed by me.

The cover of “Forbidden Love” was designed by Matthew Picinich (MP Design Works)

“86” and the others will all be designed by Matthew Picinich.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Aimee: The hardest part of writing my book is the fact that I always edit while writing.  I have a habit of not being able to look past a certain mistake and so I immediately go back and change it.  After fixing the mistake, I often forget what I was going to type.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Aimee: I learned that I had a lot of emotions bottled up inside of me and that I needed to get them out of me if I were ever to survive.  So I poured them out into the books.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

 

Aimee: Just write.  Write what you know.  Write what YOU love!


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Aimee: I appreciate every one of you who buy my books, read them and review them.  An author is nothing without their readers.  Readers are the best fandom! J And to any new readers, I am human just as you are.  So is my team of editors and my designer.  There will be errors, but don’t let those minor errors deter you from reading a novel.  But also please e-mail me those mistakes that you find so that I can fix them!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Aimee: ABC book with babies was my FIRST read ever when learning to read.  However, my first book as an intermediate reader was Frog and Toad.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Aimee: Nerdy jokes, inappropriate humor, and children/childish activities make me laugh.  Confrontation (arguing), sad movies or situations, and stress make me cry.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Aimee: Past: I would LOVE to meet Edgar Allan Poe!  His description is immaculate to the point that dialogue wasn’t necessary!! While I am learning–through my boyfriend–I am no Poe nor am I a Picinich.

Present: Sherrilyn Kenyon because she pours her heart into EVERY word she writes, just as I do.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Aimee: Loving wife, mother, daughter, sister, aunt, granddaughter, niece, cousin, and friend because this is what I will want to be remembered as.  Not as the job that gives my family income, but as the relationships that have made my life rich with love and happiness.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Aimee: I love to read, watch TV, listen to music and dance!

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Aimee: NCIS, Criminal Minds, SUPERNATURAL, GAME OF THRONES, ONCE UPON A TIME, Quantico, Doctor Who, Survivor, MasterChef (Both adult and Junior), Hell’s Kitchen, Project Runway (Adult and Junior), The Amazing Race, America’s Got Talent, Supergirl.  I also enjoy Indian Soap Operas (dramas), Bollywood films and any Depp or DiCaprio movie as well as Romance, Fantasy, and Sci-Fi.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Aimee: Foods- Indian and italian!

Colors- black, red, and blue

Music- every kind of Rock, oldies, country and pop

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Aimee: Teaching! 🙂

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Aimee: Website: aimeeshaye.wix.com/aimeeshaye

Tumblr: authoraimeeshaye.tumblr.com

 

 

SOCIAL MEDIA ACCOUNTS

Facebook Friend Page: http://www.facebook.com/aimeeshayeauthor

Facebook Author Page: www.facebook.com/aimeeshaye08

Facebook Series Page: http://www.facebook.com/TheChroniclesoftheSevenSons          

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Aimee-Shaye/e/B00P4897VQ/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Twitter: www.twitter.com/aimeeshaye

Tumblr: authoraimeeshaye.tumblr.com

Street Team: https://www.facebook.com/groups/449165655232592/

DESTROYED SYNOPSIS

Jade is a ten thousand year old vampire whose life was shattered by a curse from the Fates and a brother who took their words seriously. In an instant the lives of his friends and family were jeopardized and ruined. His twin brother, Corbin, took away the only girl that Jade ever loved, his fiancée Eliza. After her death, Jade turned away from humans and turned toward revenge. When Jade has a vision of the girl around the corner dying in the hands of his brother, he has only two choices: save her, or let her turn rogue and ruin the world forever. Will he save her or will he let the world burn?

DESTROYED LINKS

PAPERBACK (CreateSpace Preferred)  https://www.createspace.com/4753014

EBOOK (Kindle) http://www.amazon.com/Destroyed-Chronicles-Seven-Sons-Book-ebook/dp/B00P38CZJS/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1446784439&sr=8-1

 

86 SYNOPSIS

Sypher, Hades’ only son, was outcast by his mother. He was forced to live life as a human until his village was taken over by a slew of vampires and his best friend’s rogue twin brother. If that wasn’t enough, in the year 1920 he finally found love, only for the girl to disappear. Now in 2014, Sypher finds a man who looks exactly like him and exhibits powers stronger than Sypher himself. Have the past ninety five years of his life been a complete lie?

86 GOODREADS LINK

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24990779-86

FORBIDDEN LUST SYNOPSIS

Business magnate William Stonewell has everything a man could want: a thriving business, loads of money, and cars that are the envy of his friends. The only thing that’s missing is a woman to share his life with. Someone he can love. The only problem is that he’s just not very good at approaching women.

Alexandra Tyler is a bit of a free spirit. She loves her life and lives every day to the fullest; however, she finds herself longing to be loved and to love someone in return. Her co-workers laugh at the fact that she is still a virgin, but she doesn’t care. She knows that she will only give it up to the man she will marry someday, and not before.

One night out on the town changes the course of their lives. William never imagined that meeting someone in a bar could result in such temptation, but there is just something about Alexandra that gets to him. With sparks flying all around them, William is intrigued to see where this could go. Stepping out of his comfort zone, he pursues Alexandra ruthlessly. In his quest for love he realizes that she is one of his employees, and that is a line he has never crossed before. But he wants to cross it now. Badly.

Will William and Alexandra give in to their forbidden lust? Or will that lust turn fatal?

FORBIDDEN LUST LINKS

Paperback (Createspace Preferred)  https://www.createspace.com/5370709

EBOOK (Kindle) http://www.amazon.com/Forbidden-Lust-Trilogy-Book-ebook/dp/B00UU08JJE/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

FORBIDDEN LOVE SYNOPSIS

Derrick White, CEO of Stonewell Corps, has never known how to love. Until now he has always walked away from the chance…

Suzanne DeAngelo, a customer service representative for Lightning Mobile, a branch of the Stonewell Corps, is an edgy girl who will try anything once. When she expresses interest in Derrick, he decides to go along with it, but on two conditions: his shirt doesn’t come off, and she can only address him as Mr. White or Sir.

One night in the throes of passion, Derrick loses himself…Will he admit his love for Suzanne or will he walk away and leave her broken?

 

FORBIDDEN LOVE GOODREADS LINK

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24990483-forbidden-love

