Name  – Sherri Crowder

Age – 48

Where are you from? – Ontario, Canada

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc.  

I have always wanted to be a writer, but only during this past year, decided to publish a book. I have written several short stories and some longer ones too, in the past, however have always been afraid to try publishing anything.  A good friend of mine encouraged me to go for it, and now…here I am with one book released and another well on it’s way.  I am the youngest of nine children and I’ve always been the creative type. I also paint, draw, and make jewelry, in addition to doing several other crafty projects.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Currently, I am writing my second book in The Black Mavericks MC Series, called Finding Faith, which I intend to release this December.  I am also preparing for my first ever book signing, the Angels & Sirens Author Event in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvannia, U.S.A, in March of 2016.

 

 


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing at an early age.  Just short stories and such. Then while studying at university, I found that I had little time to dedicate to writing and afterwards work and life kept me pretty busy. It is only during the past several years that I began writing again, as a way to help me deal with the passing of my mother, whom I was very close to.  Writing gave me an escape.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I still have a hard time saying that I am a writer. It just sounds so strange. LOL! I will say however, that seeing my name on a paperback book was very overwhelming, and made me realize that it is now a reality.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Sweet Charity was inspired by all of the wonderful motorcycle romance books that I’ve read over the years and by my cover model Alfie. I totally created the hero, Jackson, in Alfie’s image.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

That’s a great question, and one that I really don’t know if I can answer myself.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Before I started writing Sweet Charity, I sat down and made a list of possible female character names that I liked. Charity was one of my favorites for sure. The “Sweet” part came when I was deciding exactly what Charity’s career would be and since I love to bake, I decided to make her a baker, thus the name Sweet Charity emerged.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are a few, but one of them is that you are not responsible for the actions of other people, and also, you are your own person. You don’t have to become a product of your parents making.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ?

None of the book is real other than the comparison to Charity and myself both being able to bake.  It is all a product of my imagination.

 

 


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not at all.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I absolutely love romance books and some of my favorite authors are Nina Levine, Chelle Bliss, Belle Andre, and Leslie Wilder.  Leslie, definitely has been a mentor to me, in fact, I probably wouldn’t have published my first book without her help. She really showed me what to do to get it done.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading “A Lover’s Lament” by BT Urruela and KL Grayson. It is such a great story!

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I absolutely love Alana Sapphire’s writing. Her Death Dealers MC Series has quickly become a favorite of mine. I’m dying to read “Claimed”, her just released third book of the series.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I’m currently writing Finding Faith, the second book in The Black Mavericks MC Series, and then I’ll be working on another book which will be part of an anthology due out next spring.  I also, have three more books planned in The Black Mavericks MC Series.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Interesting question, considering that my family didn’t know I was writing a book, or had written a book until a few months ago.  I wasn’t sure how they would react and decided not to tell them until I saw how things went.  I told them by completely catching them off guard and handing them copies of my paperback.  To say they were shocked is an understatement, but they have all been very supportive.  My best friend however, was a huge support to me during the whole process of publishing Sweet Charity.  Also, there was Author Leslie Wilder, whom I mentioned really mentored me through the whole process.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love for it to become a career for sure.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Oh yes! I wouldn’t change the story at all, but there were mistakes that I wish I had caught.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

You know, I’m not sure how I became interested, rather it has just always been something that I wanted to do as far back as I can remember.

 

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us? 

I will share an excerpt from Sweet Charity that is the lead in to Finding Faith.  Here it is:

Damn he thought as he blatantly looked at Faith, this girl is gorgeous! Beautiful blonde, pretty blue eyes, and her body fuckin’ rocked!  Fuck though, she sure looks up tight, he thought. While his brain told him no pussy was worth the trouble this girl would be, his cock told him he needed to try. Gonna have my work cut out with this one, he told himself.

 

As he stared at Faith, she became very uncomfortable and wasn’t sure where to look, so she just looked down at her glass of wine on the table.  She wrapped her hands around the stem of the glass to give herself something to do with her fidgeting hands.  She knew he was totally checking her out, and she didn’t want him to.  Sure he was kind of cute.  He had the most beautiful red hair and his eyes were a pretty hazel color.  I mean she wasn’t ready to get involved with anybody yet, and besides even if she were it wasn’t going to be a biker no matter what Charity thought.  She didn’t need some muscle bound bully in her life.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Just time management. I wish I had more time for just writing. Also, I suffer from arthritis in my hands, which has sometimes kept me from writing at all on some days and that’s very frustrating.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love Chelle Bliss’s writing and I think it’s the combination of the strong alpha male hero’s who also have a big heart when it comes to the women they love.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? 

I haven’t travelled yet at all for my book, but I plan on doing some book signings next year. I’m really looking forward to meeting the readers and hopefully, some fans.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My cover was designed by Dana Leah of Designs by Dana.  She was so wonderful with me…the rookie!

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Wanting to continually edit what I had previously written, each and every time, I sat down to write more.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned so much. The whole process of being a self-published author was a huge learning curve for me.  I had not idea what to do and, as I said above, my friend Leslie Wilder, was a huge help to me.  Also, I had no idea there was such a large indie author community, including authors, bloggers, readers, models, and photographers. It’s like a whole other world to me and one I’m thrilled to now be a part of.  I have met some truly wonderful people and I feel very blessed.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Believe in yourself and reach for your dreams. Be yourself…be your authentic self, and just go for it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU!!! Thank you for all of the support and love. Thank you for reading my book. Thank you for helping to promote my book. Thank you for supporting me in all of those takeovers that I do.  Finally, thank you for the friendship. I truly am blessed to have met you all!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Oh gosh…not really. Sorry. I feel like I was born reading and thank God for books.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Lots of things make me laugh. My family and friends are great sources of fun and laughter. My dog, Tilley, makes me laugh and smile every day with her playfulness and love. On the other hand, a lot of things make me cry too, such as a sad story, whether its in a book, movie, TV, or sadly some of real life’s tragedies. Sometimes a song can make me cry, especially if it makes me think of something sad that has happened in my life.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to have met both my Grampas and one of my Grammas who passed away before I was born. I would also have loved to have met my Uncle Henry who was killed during WWII. The stories my mom shared about her brother told me that he was a wonderful  young man.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Yikes! That’s a tough question too. I think I’ll have to think about that answer.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

Yes, I love art…drawing and painting, I love reading, making jewelry, doing other crafts, cooking, baking, and I love to take photos of family, friends, and the world around me.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a big fan of romance in film be they comedy or drama. I guess you might have expected that. I also love, Robert Downey Jr. and Chris Hemsworth, so naturally I like the Avengers and all of the Iron Man movies. I love The Big Bang Theory and honestly, I watch it, usually once every day. It just makes me laugh. I’m a huge fan of Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, and How to Get Away With Murder, but Dancing With The Stars is a must watch for me too. And…I’ll admit it…I love the Bachelor.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

My favorite foods are chocolate, pizza, Chinese food, chocolate, steak, brownies, chicken (I could eat it every day)…did I mention chocolate??? My favorite color is blue, pretty much any shade of blue. I love all kinds of music from country, to rock, to pop, some rap, but I’m not a fan of opera.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I love people and therefore, always see myself in some profession where I can help people. Maybe a nurse.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I don’t have either, yet. Stay tuned.

Here is the amazon link to my book.

 

F8&qid=1447640861&sr=8-1&keywords=sweet+charity+by+sherri+crowder

 

Here is the link to my amazon author page.

http://www.amazon.com/Sherri-Crowder/e/B011M8KJH2/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

Here is the link to my facebook author page.

https://www.facebook.com/SherriCrowderAuthor/

 

Here is the link to my goodreads author page.

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14092641.Sherri_Crowder

 

