Name Mia Hoddell

Where are you from: I’m from UK.

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m the #1 Amazon bestselling author of the Seasons of Change series, Not Enough, False Finder, and the Chequered Flag series (which is coming next year from Limitless Publishing). I live in the UK with my family and two cats, and write mainly romances—although I have an urban fantasy thriller out too—aimed at upper YAs & NAs.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest novel, Not Enough, goes on sale November 16th 2015 and for the first week it’s going to be priced at 0.99!


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I can’t remember a when time I haven’t been writing. I had my first poem published at the age of fourteen and after that I started to take things more seriously. I published my first novel at sixteen and since then haven’t stopped. There wasn’t a single thing that made me sit down and write, it was something I fell into. I enjoy creating things and just picked up a pen one day. I had no idea what I was doing at first, but it was something I quickly grew to love. There’s also the fact that if I don’t write I would drive myself crazy from all of the thoughts and ideas racing around in my head.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not sure, I just write what I like to write. I do prefer writing dialogue over description, so I guess that’s one feature. I’ll leave the rest for my reader to decide upon.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I’ve wanted to write a book about personality conflicts for a while. The idea of writing a book about introverts and extroverts has always intrigued me, and so has the theme of not feeling good enough as who you are. From there the title Not Enough came to me and I built the book around those themes.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I created Not Enough because I wanted to write a book introverts could relate to. There is a widespread opinion that introverts aren’t good enough as they are and should change to be more out-going. I wanted to challenge that view in Not Enough because being true to yourself rather than changing to please others is something I strongly believe in.


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

The initial idea for Not Enough was generated by a combination of things that have happened to me over the years, and experiences others have told me about. There’s always an element of reality in every book I write—no matter how small—since I draw on life for inspiration.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I get through a minimum of one book every couple of days so by the time you read this I’ll have probably moved on by quite a few books. However, at the moment I’m reading Right Where You Are by L.E. Bross.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are too many to mention. You should all check out my publisher, Limitless Publishing LLC, though. They have some amazing authors and books.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Back in September I signed my third contract with Limitless Publishing LLC for a new romance series called Chequered Flag. The books will be interconnected standalones that follow a group of racing drivers as they fight for love and the first book, Chameleon Soul, is releasing February 2nd 2016. I have also nearly finished the first draft of the second book.

As well as that, on December 1st, I have a short story included in a mafia anthology titled Men of Mayhem. This is a prequel to another full-length novel I will be working on next year that will be a dark contemporary romance. It could be read as a standalone story, though.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My beta reader, blogger, PA, and friend, Kirsty. She’s been there since my first release back in 2012.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I currently write full-time.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Probably. I think all authors have that feeling—even J.K. Rowling has said she’d change things in Harry Potter. I think it’s best not to dwell on what I would change though. If I did that I’d never publish a new book since I’d be constantly revising old ones.


Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s an excerpt from Not Enough:

 

“You’re not broken, Neve.” I lower my head at his words, but his finger pulls my gaze back to his. “You’re not.”

“Whatever, try telling that to everyone else.”

“F*** their opinions, Neve. You’re. Not. Broken. You’re not deficient or not good enough. You’re stronger than you believe. So what if you’re quieter than the rest of the people you’ve mixed with. That doesn’t make you any less funny, quick witted, clever, beautiful, or a great friend to be around. You’ve been given a hard time, but you’re still here fighting, and I’ll always be there beside you.”

I tense at his words, at how far from the truth they are. “I haven’t always. There have been times where fighting was the furthest thing from my mind.” If only he knew how far I’d taken things, he wouldn’t be sitting here complimenting me.

“Don’t be daft, of course you are. You’re here, aren’t you? And you just pledged your undying love to me.”

“I did no—” I stop talking abruptly when I glance up and catch his teasing grin. “You’re annoying.”

“It got a smile out of you though.”

I bob my head gently in agreement, thankful that the change of subject stopped me revealing the one and only thing Blake doesn’t know.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Each book brings its own challenges and they’re always different. Sometimes they are emotional hurdles I need to get over—such as with Not Enough because I had to go to so dark places to get inside Neve’s head—other times they are research or character based challenges.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I always hate this question because I read on average 350 books a year. Because of that my list is constantly changing. At the moment a few of my favourites are L.P Dover, Rachel Van Dyken, and Jennifer L Armentrout.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I have based books in countries I have travelled to, but I’ve never made a special trip. I really want to go to Thailand though, so I’m going to set a book there and call the holiday ‘research’.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The cover was created by me since I design book covers on a separate website, M Designs.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part of writing Not Enough was getting inside Neve’s mind. She goes to some dark places in the book, mentally, and to keep up that level of emotion was exhausting and a challenge.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t expect things to happen overnight. Writing and publishing is a long and forever changing game and it takes time to develop your craft. Finding a loyal and supportive team to help you through the process makes it easier.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for supporting me! I couldn’t live my dream without you guys. I hope you all enjoy Not Enough if you decide to read it.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I hated reading up until the age of fourteen. However I found The Diamond of Drury Lane by Julia Golding at that age and have been hooked ever since.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I have a very dry and sarcastic sense of humor. I can’t pick on specific things that make me laugh, but it’s not difficult. There are plenty of things that make me cry, but the biggest one is cruelty or unnecessary killing of animals.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

I’m only 20, it’s not something I’ve ever thought about.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I like anything creative. At the moment most of my free time is spent either reading as I review for four of the top publishers and many smaller presses. I’m also slowly making swag for the signings I have coming up in Cardiff (2016), and London and Birmingham (2017). Like I said above, I’m also a graphic designer so I love photography as a way to get me out of the house and creating things on Photoshop.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love rom-coms for films, or just comedies. I don’t really watch many TV show,s though, I prefer to curl up with a book in the evening.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Colour: Pruple.

Food: Changes with the season.

Music: Changes with my mood. I will listen to most genres except rock/heavy metal.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m only 20, for the moment writing is what I want to pursue.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I’m all over the place. People can find me at:

Blog: http://miahoddell.blogspot.com

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Mia-Hoddell-Author-421368247889610/

Goodreads author page: http://goodreads.com/miahoddell

Twitter: http://twitter.com/miahoddell

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/113175199547008833705

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Mia-Hoddell/e/B0093M18QQ/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Newsletter:  http://eepurl.com/GFF_1

 

Not Enough

By Mia Hoddell

 

Genre: Upper YA/NA Contemporary Romance

Release Date: November 16th 2015

Pages: 324

Blurb

Neve Colvin isn’t good enough. As an introvert, her life is a never-ending list of labels and criticism. Pressures to change come from everyone—including the one person she thought would love her unconditionally … her mother. All Neve wants is acceptance, but surrounded by extroverts it’s a wish that’s nearly impossible to fulfil.

For Neve there’s only one solution: anyone disapproving must go. Even if it means only one person will remain.

That person is her lifelong friend Blake Reynolds. He’s seen the fights with her mum, the breakdowns caused by attacks on her personality, and the battles for acceptance. Each time she is left shattered and questioning who she is, he’s the one to collect the pieces of her broken heart. Shielding her from the cruelty is his only concern. But how can he protect her when Neve is concealing a secret so dark?

Blake thinks he knows everything about her, and with their relationship developing, he assumes Neve trusts him fully. However, there is one memory Neve is too ashamed of to share. Revealing it will test Blake’s loyalty beyond what she could ever ask, and Blake is the only friend she can’t afford to lose. He’s the one person capable of dragging her from the darkness plaguing her, but with pressures to conform increasing, even Blake may not be enough to pull her back this time.

 

ONLY 0.99 FOR THE RELEASE WEEK!

Buy Links:

Amazon: www.amazon.com/Not-Enough-Mia-Hoddell-ebook/dp/B015VCSVJ8/ref

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Not-Enough-Mia-Hoddell-ebook/dp/B015VCSVJ8/ref

Amazon CA: http://www.amazon.ca/Not-Enough-Mia-Hoddell-ebook/dp/B015VCSVJ8/ref

Amazon AU: http://www.amazon.com.au/Not-Enough-Mia-Hoddell-ebook/dp/B015VCSVJ8/ref

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/not-enough-mia-hoddell/1122718334?ean=2940152377194

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/not-enough/id1044910859?mt=11

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/not-enough-7

 

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26149807-not-enough

 

What reviewers are saying:

“From the dedication at the beginning up to the end this was both a thought provoking and an emotional read for me and I loved it!” – Sandra @ JeanzBookReadNReview

“This story tugged at my heartstrings, played on my every emotion. It was a beautifully written story of how an introverted young girl blossoms into a beautiful young woman.” – Keren Hughes, Author of Nothing Like The First Time

“A heartbreaking read that sometimes had me close to tears.” – Susan @ Ladies Living in Bookland

“Heartbreaking. Powerful. Real … I literally lived the pages, not read them … It’s so well and beautifully written, it is more than just another YA novel.” – Cristina @ Crazy Beautiful Reads

 

 

Excerpts

“What are you doing?” I manage to get out around my laughs. She tenses at my words and then tilts her head back to fix me with a glare, her eyes blazing with irritation.

“I’m sleeping in the bath like I said I would. Why, what did you think I was doing? Teaching myself to swim?”

“I know what you’re doing. I think that’s obvious. What I meant was why are you doing this?” I step into the room and move in front of her so she doesn’t have to crane her neck to see me.

“You know why.”

“You’re not sleeping in here, Stripes.”

“Watch me.”

I cross my arms. There’s no way I’m going back to bed and allowing her to sleep in a bath. The only problem is that it’s hard to maintain a frustrated expression when everything about the situation is so damn funny. “Be back in a second.”

She mumbles something that sounds like “I’m not going anywhere” to my back as I rush out of the bathroom. Rummaging in my drawer, I find what I’m looking for then I’m back in the room with Neve in seconds.

Before she can react, I have a camera in front of me.

“Smile,” I tease, only it causes her glower to darken. Three lines appear on her forehead as her face screws up.

“Delete that now.”

“Nope. Get out of the bath and I might let you.”

“I’m not getting out. I told you I’m sleeping here.”

“Why all the drama? We’ve slept in the same bed for ages now. It’s not a big deal.” She rolls over, showing me her back, and ignores me. “Stripes, get out of the bath.”

“Night, Blake.”

If she thinks I’m going to give up that easy, she’s got another surprise coming. She should know by now that I don’t give up and people don’t say no to me. I put the camera on the counter by the sink, needing both of my hands.

Carefully, so as not to reveal my intentions, I lean over the bath and line up my hands. With one swift motion, I grip her tightly, heaving her out of the tub and throwing her over my shoulder as she screams, “Put me down, Blake!”

“I told you, you’re not sleeping in a bath. Now shut up and stop hitting my back.” My light and jovial words only serve to make her flail around even more. I manage to pin her legs, but I’m powerless to do anything to stop her hands pounding against my back. It’s not enough to hurt, that’s not her intention, but the squirming is becoming increasingly frustrating.

When I reach the bed, I drag her back over my shoulder and dump her on the mattress. She bounces, not able to hide the laughter on her face while she stares at me and hiccups. This is how I like to see her, carefree and happy. It’s rare nowadays that I catch a glimpse of Neve when she’s truly happy, but in this moment there isn’t a strained muscle in her body. It’s natural, and I can’t stop myself from watching her. I’m still amazed that I’m the one who can bring out her joy and it baffles me that she’s allowed herself to be mine.

We remain gazing at each other with ridiculous grins for a minute. When I’m sure she isn’t going to run, I move around to my of the bed side. Her head follows me, and when I go to climb in beside her, she rolls over. She throws her arms and legs out wide, taking up the entire mattress.

You’re in the bath then.” She points at the door with the hand furthest away from me, a devilish twinkle in her eyes. It takes me a while to respond. The sight of her body stretched out in her skimpy pyjamas makes my throat dry, and I have to consciously remind myself to swallow. My gaze focuses on her pale skin, which is exposed by her shirt riding up and the top of her shorts lowering as a result of her actions.

“I don’t think so.” My voice comes out more breathless than I expect as I watch her spread out in front of me.

“Well, you’re not sleeping in here with me.”

“My bed, my rules.” I place one knee on the mattress and climb on. My arms support most of my weight so my body is directly above hers. “So, I can either sleep on the left … or on top of you.” My voice drops into a murmur and she gulps, her lips parting as I hover over her. “Take your pick, Stripes.”

About the Author

#1 Amazon bestselling author Mia Hoddell lives in the UK with her family and two cats. She spends most of her time writing or reading, loves anything romantic, and has an overactive imagination that keeps her up until the early hours of the morning.

Mia has written over ten titles including her Seasons of Change series, the Chequered Flag series, the Elemental Killers series, and her standalone novels False Finder and Not Enough.

Her favourite genres are contemporary romance or romantic suspense, and with an ever growing list of ideas she is trying to keep up with the speed at which her imagination generates them. She also designs book covers on her website M Designs.
You can follow Mia on:

Blog | Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Goodreads  |  Google+  |  Amazon

Or sign up to her newsletter for the chance to receive ARCs, giveaways, and exclusive content first.

Giveaway

1 x $5 Amazon Gift Card

 

Link

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/400b091b15/?

 

