Name    Maggi Craft

Age   37

Where are you from  Woodville, Mississippi

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I am a wife and I am the mother of an amazing seven year old daughter. I work for a wonderful company called Matilda Jane, that makes beautiful clothes for little girls and moms. I love spending time with my family and friends on the weekends. I have a boxer and two wild chihuuhas that think they are my children.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My second book, The Price of Fame, was released in September and I am currently getting the third book in this series ready for edits.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always had these characters in my head. One night over margaritas I told my best friend about it and she insisted I write it down. Now eleven books later I am still writing.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess when the first book was published.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Nothing really, other than my best friend nagging me about writing it all down and doing something with it.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t necessarily sit down to write out anything in particular. Some days I am just feeling more inspired by others and I feel like I need to get it all out in some form or another before my head explodes. This may be in the middle of the night, or while at work, or even while I am sitting at a red light. I use my notes section in my phone for the rough draft, and later I go to my laptop and plug in what I have written into a word document.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It’s a play on words. The main characters love interest’s last name is Price. Also, she realizes that there is a price to being in a relationship with him.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No, I just want them to relax and enjoy getting to know my characters.

 

 


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?  

The story line and characters are all purely fictional. There are some instances where situations or conversations that I have had with friends work their way into the story. Sometimes I don’t even realize that I am doing it, and sometimes it’s intentional. I usually pick a moment here and there to add some of my friends’ quirks or personality traits into the story. I always love it when they read it and then call me out on it. That way they know that I love them.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Like I said above nothing major. If I pulled out every instance where I used something from a real life situation, it would change the story line.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I think most books I read influence me in some way, bad or good. I do have favorites that I will quickly recommend to anyone who ask. The short list would be Molly McAdams, Jamie McGuire, AL Jackson, Jennifer Armentrout and Colleen Hoover.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I started Colleen Hoovers, November 9 today and I am super excited about it.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Some “New to Me” authors that I have recently fallen in love with are Aly Martinez and Katy Evans.

 

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have seven books written that are in what I like to call the “Very Rough” phase. Their story line is there, but I still need to go in and fluff them a bit. I have one that I am further along with and getting it ready for editing.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My PA, Gladys Atwell, is a huge help and support. I really don’t know what I would do without her.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’d love for it to be a career. I’d love to do nothing but write. It’s my passion and I would love to have more time to get better at it.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Oh absolutely. Every time that I read them I find numerous things that I would change or add if I could.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Just through the story telling.
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding time to do it. I love it and when I am working on a book hours and hours pass by in what feels like minutes. I NEED MORE TIME!

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love Colleen Hoover. I love the way she always throws a twist or two in there. She never disappoints.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not at this time.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The first book cover was designed by Renee Lewing. The second one was designed by Joseph Eastwood. I plan to use Joseph for the rest of this series.

 

 


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Stepping back and looking at it with fresh eyes so that I am able to consider any changes or suggestions made by my editor.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I think writing has made me see that every situation has numerous perspectives and we all handle things differently because of that.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just do what you love. Don’t let any outside influences control your future.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

THANK YOU!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I am sure it was a Babysitters Club book. I didn’t read much growing up. I didn’t learn to enjoy it until my late twenties.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I LOVE funny animal videos. I don’t know why, but if I am in a crap mood and I watch a mini goat video or crazy dog video I am cured. Everytime! Nicholas Sparks’ books make me cry. I go into them saying, “I got this. I’m not going to cry.” But I am a big fat liar!

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

My paternal grandmother. I was named after her and she passed away before I was born. She was a teacher and taught all of my friends parents growing up, and they always say to me, “You remind me so much of your grandmother.” So I wish I could have met her.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

BLESSED

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I love to play tennis and shop.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I am obsessed with old Vampires Diaries at the moment. I love Nashville, Survivor, Big Brother

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music ?

I love the middle of a cinnamon roll.  I love music all kinds of music. I love going to concerts and usually attend no less than 5 a year.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have loved to be a vet. I love animals.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://maggicraft.com

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMaggiCraft/

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0692301437/ref=as_li_tl?tag=publiweekl05-20&ie=UTF8

 

http://www.amazon.com/Price-Fame-Novel-Novels-Book-ebook/dp/B014EIYEVO/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1447620366&sr=1-1

 

 

