Name  Santosh Avvannavar

Age

Always Young in Writing!

Where are you from

Bengaluru, India

A little about your self on your education Family life etc  

I started his career as a consultant and Soft Skills Trainer. After his college education from NITK, Surathkal, he worked as a researcher at University of Eindhoven, University of Twente, and Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. I have caring and loving parents with two siblings.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I along with Dr. Shayan Haq published a book ‘She: Ekla Cholo Re’ that was launched by Mr. Gopal Hosur in Bengaluru, India.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing since 8th standard (High school) and the credit goes to Sr Victoria, Ms Sumangala and Sr Agtha and others


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

This began after compilations of several short stories for a blog on ‘Incomplete Love Stories’ during 2012 onwards.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

This most began as experimentation basis and made sense to tell story to larger audience. It’s been still a learning phase.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I had attended a screen-writing workshop at IIT Madras couple of years ago that has helped in understanding the different form of writings. I along with co-authors experiment some of those styles in our various books, as Title is Untitled; Black Grey and White and Surrogate Author. I have enjoyed dialogue (conversations) based writing.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I actually have a theme in each writing with specific output that is outlined much before the writing begins. I have been lucky to find a suitable title on introspection. Sometimes its been brain storming session like Be a B.A.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The latest book ‘She: Ekla Cholo Re’ is set in the backdrop of 1990 Calcutta, she is a story about finding one’s own identity in spite of all odds. We have tried asking to look beyond the horizon of human sexuality.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

We see such circumstances and such people around all the time. We often define only ‘She’ or ‘He’ categories.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s mostly based on events seen around rather than specific to anyone.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Personally I’m greatly influenced by Bible, Rabindranath Tagore’s writing and M K Gandhi’s work.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I mostly read text and research book on psychology.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are several in research based writings that have been interest to me.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have two manuscripts one of them already titled as ‘She Is Single’ and other is a biography of a person. They are likely to be released early next year.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My best friend Raghunath Babu Are, faculty of Social work department (Dr. Sharanbasavaraj and Mr Sanjeev Kumar), Mr Sujeeth Kumar and Mrs. Ruchita Shah have been instrumental for working on projects.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I cannot completely see writing as a career to myself. Besides writing I enjoy training to students and traveling.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I could change minor changes in the climax of the latest book.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As I mentioned its mostly teachers who influenced earlier in my childhood.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I work as a counselor and trainer helping children and women on soft skills and women empowerment training.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Stage after writing that involves proof reading, working with editors seemed challenging earlier but working with Ms Rajashree Ghosh, editor has been encouraging and motivating.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Rabindranath Tagore’s work has been fascinating on his progressive approach of telling stories.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Yes! I’m always in search of stories.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

There have been several people who worked from idea till execution with inputs from authors and editors.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I wouldn’t completely say hardest but finding the scientific aspects has made the writing slower at times.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I realize that several aspects of society such as stereotyping, gender basis from the latest writing ‘She: Ekla Cholo Re’ ; health issues (kidney) through Second Heart; HIV/AIDS through Black, Grey and White and several social issues through Title is Untitled, God’s Table.  It’s like self-realization!


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes I have only one ‘just write it’!


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope they enjoy reading my writings and seek something in each book they pick.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, it’s Bible!

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Humor tickles me!

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

There are several people – Parents, Rahunath Babu Are, my best friend ; Mentors like N K Narasimhan and Mr P V Ramana and teachers. They are source of inspirations!

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Not thought of it!

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Traveling, Reading and Research

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I have enjoyed Rabindranath story based movies and serial. Lately I have also enjoyed Yash Chopra movies.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food that has egg has been favorite. I’m found of White and Blue colors. I enjoy music of 1970s.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have been a trainer (soft skills).

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes. Its www.amritafoundation.wordpress.com

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00FKLVZ2G

 

