Name  Donna Theiler

Age

41

 

Where are you from

I am actually from Edinburg, Indiana but I moved to Louisville, Kentucky when I was 3.

 

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I am married to the love of my life and have 3 grown children. We have 3 grand babies on the way and have 1 step grandson. I work at an assisted living for seniors, which I enjoy and couldn’t see myself not doing so.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am working on a new novel.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

About two years ago. My husband worked out of town a lot and while he was on about a month stretch over the road I began writing the first book of The My Devouring Love Series, just because I was bored.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I received my first royalty payment

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I love The Twilight Series and when I started writing I was in this weird place to where I wanted to watch all the movies from start to finish almost every day, so I think I was inspired by Stephanie Meyer. She had a dream and just went for it. Why couldn’t I do the same?

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I just write how and what I want, so I guess I do.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The series is about zombies, love and how to survive in the first weeks of an outbreak. Therefore The My Devouring Love: The First Weeks just seemed fitting for the first novel

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

When I first started writing I always knew that somewhere in the series I would have a character named Gary, who was my best friend that died 3 years ago this November. He helped me many years ago to get out of an abusive relationship and if not for him I may not be here today. To this day I am forever grateful to him.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

The zombies, none. The love story, all of it.

 

 


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really since it is about zombies. but the love story is sort of.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I think Stephanie Meyer and all of her novels. She had a dream one night and Twilight was born. She had a dream and just went for it.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Mark Tufo’s Zombie Fallout 9

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I have a few. L.J Baker, Mark Tufo and Rhiannon Frater, Chelsea Luna

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I am currently working on a new novel/series.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

At the time I was working on My Devouring Love: The First Weeks I was helping out an lady who wasn’t really able to leave her house due to a medical issue. She was the first one I told that I was even writing a book, she knew even before my husband and family knew. She kept encouraging me to finish. So Thank you Mary Jo!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes and no. I love to write and could every day all day. But no, because I would miss helping people who can’t really help themselves anymore. Which is what my job requires.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes. When I finished my last series I didn’t get any of the books properly edited. I was too scared to trust anyone I didn’t know to read it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I read a lot of zombie novels. And every time I read one all I would think was, why didn’t the author have the character do this or this? or end it this way. They all seemed to flow the same way and that is when I decided to write my own.

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

All I can say is that my new book will be a Dystopian type setting and have a few zombies mixed in.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Editing your own book. It is impossible to edit your own book since you know what and how your book is suppose to be.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

wow, I have a few. But Stephanie Meyer. She has a great imagination.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No. But if one day I am ever popular enough to get to travel due to my books I think I would love it.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I designed them myself. My daughter and her husband, my son and great niece are all on the covers.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The entire series flowed so well for me. So before I started writing the first book in the series I would lie awake all night with this story in my head, so I knew how I wanted it to go and end before I started.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That not everyone will like it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you love to write, just keep writing. Not everyone is going to like your work and writing style. But if you love it, keep going.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. After I finish writing my new book I will be writing another book/books in The My Devouring Love Series. I realized I am not ready for the series to be over. So the story will continue but in a different point of view, which I haven’t figured out just yet.  So if they have any ideas for me feel free to email me

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

None really stand out before The Dairy of Anne Frank. I am sure I read plenty before that, but this one just stands out to me. Always has.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My cats, family and friends make me laugh and sometimes cry. Seeing someone being mistreated makes me cry. I see that a lot in my field of work.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

My grandparent’s. because they were all dead before I was born.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Loving wife and mother. Because I try my hardest for my family.

 

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading and spending time with my family.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Shows: The Walking Dead(of course) Grey’s Anatomy, Days of our Lives and a few others that I watch religiously.  Movies: The Twilight Series, Hunger Games, The Host and The Blind Side. I could watch these all day every day.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Southwest chicken Salad/  pink and Gray/ Country, rock and pop.

 

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Singer. But I can’t carry a tune.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

www.facebook.com/mydevouringlove

www.facebook.com/donna.theiler

 

links to my books are below in order:

 

My Devouring Love: The First Weeks:

http://www.amazon.com/My-Devouring-Love-First-Zombie-ebook/dp/B00I66RFRG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1447203285&sr=8-1&keywords=donna+theiler

 

My Devouring Love: Losing All Hope:

http://www.amazon.com/My-Devouring-Love-Losing-Hope/dp/1500362107/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1447203285&sr=8-4&keywords=donna+theiler

 

My Devouring Love: Jeremiah’s Untold Story:

http://www.amazon.com/My-Devouring-Love-Jeremiahs-Companion-ebook/dp/B00KWOFD7Y/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1447203285&sr=8-2&keywords=donna+theiler

 

My Devouring Love: Surviving the Dead:

http://www.amazon.com/My-Devouring-Love-Surviving-Dead-ebook/dp/B00P48YTE6/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1447203285&sr=8-3&keywords=donna+theiler

 

My Devouring Love: Rachel and Charlie’s Untold Story:

http://www.amazon.com/My-Devouring-Love-Rachel-Charlies-ebook/dp/B00SA7U3JI/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1447203285&sr=8-6&keywords=donna+theiler

 

 

The Complete Box Set

http://www.amazon.com/Devouring-Love-Complete-Box-Set-ebook/dp/B00SA9UEV8/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1447203285&sr=8-5&keywords=donna+theiler

 

