Name    JL Sins

Age    34

Where are you from    Texas

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I’m married, I have a crazy toddler and I work full time. I have an ugly little dog named Chloe. She’s a rescue and about four years old.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I released my first book Saving Alexia in October. I’m currently working on the second novel in the series titled Saving Ava. Along with the Saving Me series I’m writing a stand-alone titled The Ballerina. I’m getting ideas for the CYBER-bitch series as well.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always enjoyed writing while growing up. I guess it wasn’t until 2013 that I decided to be serious about it.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I know this is going to sound so strange, but I still don’t consider myself a writer. I’m not doing this as a profession (just yet), I’m enjoying my time and getting to know everyone I come in contact with.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I read a lot and most of the things that are written are about a very powerful rich man. Why, aren’t women in that role? So I turned the tables; made my lead into the powerful CEO.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t think that I do, but I do enjoy writing on the darker side. I want you to think about the situation that the characters are in and try to relate.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My friend Nina came up with the title. I was having a hard time, wrote down about 5 different titles that she picked that one and it stuck.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Always question, love hard and be careful of the ones you trust.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

I would have to say about 50% of it is. Majority of the places I name in the book are places throughout Houston. I have been there or driven by a location for research.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some are loosely based on my life or people that I know.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Too many books to list. However the list of authors is easy.

J.R. Ward, Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelly Elliott, Michelle Valentine just to name a few.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Dirty Rowdy Things

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Alexandrea Sure and Sadie Bissett
Fiona: What are your current projects?

Saving Ava, The Ballerina, Saving Victoria and CYBER-bitch

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

One day hopefully

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nothing. I’m sure when I finish the series and go back to reread everything, I would like to change a few things.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It’s a place to go escape. I was in middle school and writing

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Yes I will send you a couple of teasers

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, following where the characters tell me to go. I know that sounds strange, but writers are able to relate. You can’t force them to do something that’s going to benefit you.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Laurell K. Hamilton. She scares the shit out of me. She makes me feel I’m in the room with the monsters.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet, but would love to.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kaitlyn’s Photography

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Typing The End. Also getting though writers block.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes, I learned that no matter who comes in your life either positive or negative it will affect your writing in profound ways.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just write. Don’t worry about editing, or if people are going to like or understand the story. It’s YOUR story, and it needs to get out. You will have people that believe in you no matter what.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Thank you for taking time out of your life to sit down and read my book.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Aside from the kid book or required reading. The first book I read was To Kill A Mockingbird.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My family and friends.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Marilyn Monroe despite all of the controversy I would love to know her as a person. Also Coco Chanel.  Umm hello Chanel!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

Umm I’ve never thought about this. But I would have to say beloved mother and wife.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Reading and cooking

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Crime TV, HGTV and other comedies as well. Movies are hard for me to sit down and watch all of it without wanting to read or write.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love food in general. I’m open minded.

I don’t have a favorite color

Music is hard for me to pinpoint since I love all music. Well no I don’t like the newer rap with autotune. Like Chris Brown or that Little Wayne guy.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

What I do every day. Accounting.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

If you’d like to stalk me, I love my stalkers, you can follow me on: https://www.facebook.com/writerjl
https://twitter.com/JL_Sins
http://jlsins.blogspot.com/
https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JLSins/posts
http://www.amazon.com/author/jlsins
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14368803.JL_Sins
http://www.quotesrain.com/page/JLSins/

 

