Name:  Jason Pere

Age: 31

Where are you from: Mystic Connecticut

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I am a born and raised New Englander. I have lived all my life in Connecticut save for a year and a half when I resided in Valdosta Georgia. I came from a very loving and supportive family despite being a child of divorce. The fact that my parents separated when I was in middle school didn’t seem to phase me. In a lot of ways I had a very typical childhood even though I was not a typical child. I spent most of my time living within my own imagination. I think back on my childhood sometimes and wonder where it went?

You could say I was a late bloomer of sorts. I always wanted to do something creative and artistic but it took me a very long time to get the proper sense of direction I needed in order to make that a reality for me .For the longest time I was engrossed in acting for film and theatre. I pursued that from the time I was thirteen into my early twenties. I never followed my desire to act in my academic studies, mostly beside that was not an option outside of a single generic drama class during high school.

Today, I live in Jewett City Connecticut with my wife and two ill-mannered cats. We are a happy bunch when the cats take a break from judging us. I write when I can and hope that one day I will be able to do it full time.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I have published my first fantasy novel “Calling the Reaper: First Book of Purgatory”

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I would say that it was a fear of death, or rather the fear of leading a life of no consequence or significance. Form a very young age as early as six I was terrified of the idea of dying. I spent far longer than any child should spend contemplating ways to cheat death and live forever. Eventually I came to the acceptance that I would one day die so I wanted to leave something behind that was not subject to the laws of flesh and blood. For most I think that the concept of a legacy is a family and while not opposed to such a notion I wanted to accomplish more with my limited time than simply perpetuating the circle of life. I chased fame for a while, a long while. I fixated on pursuing acting and movie stardom. That seemed like a good way to cement something that would last past my own mortality. From age thirteen and for a full decade after that I trained in film, theater and stage. Sadly it never went anywhere while I had natural talents for drama I did not have the drive to push myself to past the point where things became difficult. I suffered from a terminal case of entitlement thinking that I was above paying my dues as a starving artist. Life continued to happen. Life also continued to be unremarkable. I spent so much time leaning on others hoping to ride their coat tails to loftier station that I squandered a lot of potential. It was after a life altering trauma that my wife (girlfriend at the time) and I endured that I soon decided that I would no longer pin my success on others. I refocused my efforts and took stock of what I could do to accomplish something extraordinary. As much as I loathed writing in grade school and battled for every word on an assigned paper I settled on writing. It was a place where I could bring the full weight of my creativity and imagination to bear and I had nobody else that I had to depend on to produce something. It was just me, a pen and a blank page. I found that notion very comforting. I set myself the goal of being able to say “I am a published author.” and I made a plan to attain that goal. I started writing a couple poems a day and four hundred words rain or shine and then in the month of November in the Year 2012 I published “Modern Knighthood”. Ultimately that book was for me. So that I could break of a little piece of forever for myself.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think it was when I self-published my first book. So that would be November of the year 2012.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The simple answer is that I wanted to do something spectacular. I was bored with being boring and figured that being able to say “Hey I’m a published author,” would be a step towards becoming a more interesting and accomplished human being.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I prefer third person over first person as a general rule but will write in the first person POV if it suits the story. I have dabbled in second person POV and have immense respect for any writer that can execute that style well.

My natural story architecture tends to open with a very introspective character narrative and then slowly drifts into interaction with other characters. My dialogue is pretty minimal in most of my writing. I try and focus on my characters thoughts and feelings more than their words. I am also very light on physical details. I prefer to let my reader envision the color of my protagonist shoes and if they are a t-shirt or button up kind of person.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I felt that the title was appropriate and spoke to the core of the story since it is a book that prominently features the dying process.

 

 


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

“Be Fearless”


Fiona:
How much of the book is realistic?

Some of it draws on personal life experiences but for the most part is is pure fiction.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Some of both but mostly this is pure fiction.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I’m a large fan of David Gemmell, go figure. Also the “Poetic Eddas” and the “Hagakure” hold a special place in my heart

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am lucky enough to be reading a very advance copy of the dystopian scfi spectacular “Sleepwater Beat” by Kathrin Huston

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I would say again Kathrin Hustson. I would recommend picking up a copy of her book “Daughter of the Drackan” it is a very rewarding read for any fans of the Fantasy Genre. She has a very good blend of classic fantasy elements and innovation written within that story.

 

 
Fiona: What are your current projects?

I have a Children’s book coming out very soon. My next solo novel is still under a working title and it is an adventure story that examines what kind of government a post-apocalyptic America would try to embrace. I also have at least four different collaborative novels and anthologies that I am working on with a host of very talented international authors as part of my involvement with the Collaborative Writing Challenge.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The extraordinary writers and authors of the Collaborative Writing Challenge. I cannot express just how much of a boon they have been. Since I have become involved with that organization it really feels like the creative floodgates have opened up for me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do and I would like to live the dream as being a professional Swashbuckler really doesn’t pay the bills. I just hope that my readers feel the same way.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

There were some very generic terms that I would have liked to make a little more specific to the world I created but no there is nothing major that I would want to rewrite.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

A bit of desperation actually. As I was approaching the big “30” I asked myself “What can you do well enough on your own that it would let you be a professional artist” Writing was not my first choice truth be told but I realized that I had strong aptitude as a storyteller and I didn’t need to depend on anything other than myself and a notebook to produce material so I figured “Why not”

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is an early draft of the first chapter of my Post-Apocalyptic America adventure piece tentatively titled “World After Death”

The First Law

All Challenges Demand an Answer

 

Chapter 1

“Will you come to the Blinding?” Mark said to Lea with a flutter of his majestic deep green eyes. He drank in the spectacle of her fair smooth skin that disappeared beneath the sheets of his bed as the fire cast dancing shadows across her delicate body.

“I don’t want to see you do it, that horrible thing,” Lea said quietly. She looked at Mark, into those perfectly matched eyes that drowned her with their emerald wonder time and time again. “If you want me there I will go for you.”

“It would make it easier for me, I think.”

“If it is going to be so hard for you then why are you set on doing this?” Lea asked the question that she had asked many times before. She knew that it would not be possible to change Mark’s mind. Once he was set to his path he would not change his course no matter what tried to stop him. Among the numerous remarkable qualities Mark had, this was one of the things that she loved most about her man.

“If the Blinding was meant to be easy then it would not serve any purpose and everyone would put in to be an Arbiter.” Mark looked at Lea with eyes filled with a spirit and wisdom that were far greater than a man of his age would be expected to possess. He could see his gaze affect the spectacular woman in his bed the way it always had. She was powerless to resist him when he looked at her with his prefect green eyes. “It will help me to know that you are there when I have to do it. We don’t have to talk about it anymore tonight. I don’t want to upset you on the last night we have before I become an Arbiter.”

“No, it’s ok. I can handle it. You are the one that has to be brave tomorrow. I can’t imagine…” Lea trailed off and dropped her eyes to the crumpled and sweat stained sheets that she lay on. “Have you decided which one it will be?”

Mark gave a pause for a moment considering the words of his beloved. He had not given much thought to that question. Mark didn’t want to respond to quickly. He didn’t want to give Lea that he was far more comfortable with the impending ramifications of the Blinding than others might think “Well, My vision is pretty even between the two. I am right handed so I think that it would make sense to choose the left one.” Mark said with a comforting tone in his voice. Normally talking over morbid topics never unsettled this glorious woman. He knew that Lea was not squeamish and had a stomach of iron. That was one of the things that Mark loved most among the many things to love about Lea. The Arbiter to be knew that Lea’s apprehension was due to the impending suffering that he was about to go thru. They had always protected each other from pain and hardship but this was a necessary pain. Mark knew it hurt Lea that she had to stand idle in this matter.

“It seems a crime. Your eyes are so beautiful. I hate to see them ruined.”

“I’ll still have one after tomorrow. Just love righty twice as much,” Mark said with a smile. His humor worked and Lea found a smile of her own.

He loved her smile but the smiles worn by Mark and Lea faded into the silence of the night. The only noise that filled the quaint little country house was the crackling of the logs burring in the fireplace. Lea’s words had struck a chord in Mark. He sympathized with her very much in fact. As she would be robed of looking into both of his eyes come tomorrow he in turn would never again be able to fully drink in the marvelous spectacle of her beauty. Mark caught himself before he shed a tear. He thought of Lea when she smiled. The sight always melted his heart and he was confronted with the reality that perhaps his left eye had witnessed it’s last of Lea’s smiles.

 

“You couldn’t just have them sew it shut, could you? I mean do you absolutely have to have to destroy that perfect little gem of yours?” Lea asked the question but she knew the answer. Deep inside, she hoped that somehow Mark’s response would have changed this time.

 

“No, you know it has to be the way it has to be,” Mark said quietly as he rubbed his chin. “It needs to be a choice that can never be undone. Becoming an Arbiter is a forever kind of thing.”

 

“I know, it is just so had for me to think of what you will have to do to yourself…” Lea stopped herself from talking. The images that played in her mind began to run away with her imagination and she forced her thoughts to stop the bloody fantasy. “Mark I don’t want you to think that I am against you becoming an Arbiter. On the contrary I support your choice and it’s not just because I love you and stand by you. I want you to be an Arbiter because you will be a remarkably good one. You will do so much good for the village…”

 

“Lea its ok we don’t have to talk about this anymore.” Mark cut her off from speaking when he began to saw that she was having difficulty continuing her words. Lea was quiet again. Mark watched the rhythmic rise and fall of the sheets that covered the body of his woman as she inhaled and exhaled.

 

Lea finally broke the few silent moments that had passed. “I’m glad you feel that way because what I want to do now doesn’t involve much talking.”

 

 

“Oh?” Mark raised an eyebrow with a playful inquisitive smirk. “And what is it that you had in mind, love?”

 

Lea pulled the sheet from her naked body and stood. “Come to me.” She said the three words barely louder than a whisper but they boomed in Marks ears like a spring thunderstorm.

 

Mark wanted to go to her. He nearly leaped upon the gorgeous creature that was right there in front of him longing for his touch. “You make it hard to say no, I want to but first please let me look at you for just a while. I want the most beautiful woman in the world to be one of the last things that my left eye remembers.”

 

“It means I get to look into those stunning emeralds of yours just a little bit longer. That seems like a better trade for me. You have yourself a deal sir.” Lea said with a tearful smile that was a cut straight to Mark’s core.

 

Mark and Lea stood without any more words passing between them. He absorbed every curve of her shapely body, her stormy dark brown eyes and short cut golden hair. Mark was not merely flattering her when he called her the most beautiful woman in the world, Lea was breathtaking. Lea acknowledged the muscular physique of Mark. He was a beauty himself lean and long limed like a dancer but past Lea’s cursory glance of her man’s naked body awash in firelight she fell into his eye’s like she always did. They consumed her and she let them. The two stood as long as they could will themselves to stay apart. Mark and Lea pushed their resolve to its limit waiting as long as they dared, knowing that they were saying goodbye forever to beautiful things that they had come to cherish so profoundly. Mark felt he could no longer resist, he stood fast for a single breath longer and then he went to her. They folded themselves into each other and for a brief time there was nothing else in existence.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have a harder time ending a scene than any other part of the story. I find myself asking “Did I say everything I wanted to with that chapter” a lot after I have written something.

 

 


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I am a big fan of David Gemmell. Other than the fact that he worked predominantly in heroic fiction I love his writing for the following reasons. First he is one of the few writers that has every made me cry with a story. Second, he has a way to introduce one set of characters that you get so quickly attached to that you will become upset when he changes the scene and introduces a new set of characters, and then makes you even more attached to the new characters that you will be even more upset when the scene returns to the characters that you were introduced to first.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Just as far as the deepest recesses of my imagination.

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Christy Jackson Nicholas at Green Dragon Artist Studios was my cover illustrator. I have been a fan of her visual media for years and asked her if she could recommend anyone that might be able to help me with a cover design. She mentioned that she had done a few book covers in the past and volunteered her services. She was very easy to work with and I would absolutely recommend her to any other authors looking for an illustrator.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The formatting and editing. All of the non-creative, technical parts of writing were by far the hardest part of writing for me.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I have the creative depth within me to produce a full length fictional novel.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write, write and then write some more. It doesn’t matter if you think it’s terrible just pack some text on that blank page and sort it out later. I have been in a situation where I had to write a scene that I felt totally out of my depth with and I just vomited words on paper. I felt like I was composing something that could be best described as Klingon Erotica at the time but when I came back and read it several weeks later I was very surprised at how well put together it seemed. If my “Suck it up and just do it” approach was not what you wanted to hear then I will also recommend, finding yourself a writers group. Actually I can’t recommend that enough. Having other supportive authors, writers and readers are about as essential as the alphabet for an aspiring author. Online, social media and even a good old fashion library are fantastic ways to connect with people that are probably all too willing to help make you a better writer.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Again, “Be Fearless”

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

That is a fact that is long lost to father time.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh at smart dry humor. Monty Python gave me my first exposure to British Comedy and that has been my comedy preference since adolescence. I cry from all kinds of things. It’s strange but I can never tell what might pull at my heartstrings it could be a piece of music, a picture a line of text or life experience really anything providing it hits me in the right way at the right time.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would be happy to meet Sean Bean. He is my favorite actor of all time.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I don’t know what I would want at this time. I kind of feel like it would be appropriate to have someone else come up with the description since a head stone is as much about how the world remembers you as how you wanted to be remembered.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I am a big time dork and like things like card games, board games, video games pretty much games. I cherish my Netflix Couch time with my wife and cats.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like fantasy and action. Current shows that I am fan of include Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead and Orange is the New Black

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I love a crispy basket of fried chicken fingers and onion rings. Black, White and shades of Grey. Poets of the Fall, The Birthday Massacre

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Something creative either in film or game design.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

I am a regular contributor at the Collaborative Writing Challenge

http://www.collaborativewritingchallenge.com/

I also have a Fan Fiction blog that I contribute to for the Card Game “Ashes: Rise of the Phoenix Born”

http://teamcovenant.com/ashesonline/

 

 

Buying link http://www.amazon.com/Calling-Reaper-First-Book-Purgatory/dp/151715894X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1447171916&sr=8-1&keywords=jason+pere

