Name Emma Slaughter

Age 31

Where are you from Newquay

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

No significant other or kids. I have a degree in Human Biosciences.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Writing wise I’m working on two books at the moment. The big news is I’m finally over my writers block!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Serious writing? About two years ago. I started trying to access my creative side a little, and writing was the perfect medium for it.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I sent my book to a stranger for the first time. Sending it to your friends and family is hard enough, sending it to a stranger is petrifying but the first step to becoming a writer.

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always loved dystopian, post apocalyptic novels but it struck me that there were none I had read that explored the idea of the last human alive. I wanted to explore the loneliness and isolation someone would feel, knowing that the rest of their species were dead.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m less descriptive than some, preferring to concentrate on the internal; what people think rather than how they act.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It’s a line from Wordsworth’s Daffodils. It has two meaning within the book, the obvious loneliness and the protagonist is a poetry fan.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

A few messages seem obvious, especially the environmental one (you’ll understand if you read it) but I think the most important one to me is to appreciate those around you while you have the chance.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

Not much I’m afraid! There are a few little anecdotes I have taken from my own life but aside from that it’s wholely fiction.

 

 
Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Lucy, a character in the book, is partially inspired by my best friend of the same name. Also the character’s parents are based on my maternal grandparents; their dedication to each other was inspirational

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Wow that’s a hard question. I can’t really think of any that have specifically influenced my life. Certainly ones I’ve enjoyed, and come back to again and again.

 

 
Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Darwin’s Ghost by Steve Jones

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

David Mcaffrey

 

 


Fiona: What are your current projects?

Two books; one where a life splits in two after a significant event (alternate chapters for each life) and one which explores obsessive compulsive disorder

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Lucy, although I do call her my sister

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No. I’d love it, but I’m realistic. Very few authors manage to make a living on what they do. It takes skill, but it also takes a lot of hard work, not to mention having the right story at the right time.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I’m a firm believer of when it’s done it’s done. No LOTR style extended editions for me!

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I kept a diary as a child, and started a blog a couple of years ago.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

And risk someone stealing it?! No, only joking. However, I can’t share it as it’s in very early stages.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sticking with it and having faith in myself.

 

 
Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Stephen King. Love the fact that he has had so many different ideas. He never seems to run out!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Thankfully no. As it is internal thoughts more than external descriptions I don’t have to travel.

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Kimberly Webb, a lovely girl I met online.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Creating two voices that were different enough, while being linked through the fact they are both mothers

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I could achieve something. It’s the biggest project I’ve ever undertaken and to complete it was amazing.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up, but also don’t think what you’ve written is the best thing ever. Get your friends to read it, but then get complete strangers. You need honest feedback, not just people who say they love it because they love you.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for reading.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not the first thing I read, but the first thing read to me. It was called Portland Bill, and we had the book on tape as well. My brother would ‘read’ it to me, but he’d also say ding ding turn the page at the right time!

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Children’s laughter makes me laugh without fail. I love watching two Youtube videos – the one with the father ripping up his job application to make his children laugh, and Ella Mae singing to Elvis. Lots of things make me cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

Probably Stephen King for a one on one writing lesson

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I don’t think I want a headstone to be honest.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

I craft, mainly mixed media and cross stitching

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Flash, Supernatural, Sherlock, Dr Who

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Roast potatoes/green/Backstreet Boys

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’m one of these people in life who have never really figured out what to do, though if money were no object I’d love to be a perpetual student.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? http://theintrovertedcrafter.blogspot.co.uk/

Amazon Authors page http://www.amazon.co.uk/Emma-Slaughter/e/B0165V3EBE/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_book_1

