Name: Angela M. Shrum

Age: 30 (soon to be 31 in 22 days!)

Where are you from: Covington, Indiana

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

I grew up in a small, country town with a single stoplight. Everybody knows everything about everyone. There’s a lot of factory and farmer jobs and a lot of people stay there and don’t wander too far out. I wasn’t like that; I have my Mother’s blood in me. I’m a gypsy. So after I graduated, I moved away to explore. I lived in Florida for almost 10 years, and also North Carolina and Alabama. I have been married to my husband, Wesley, for 8 years, and we have a 3-year-old little boy named Weston. I am also a student, majoring in English, and a Substitute Teacher for grades Kindergarten-12th. I love it.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

 I just released my 1st book, “Irrevocably Claimed” on Nov. 6th! I am beyond ecstatic. I am one of 9 authors who took part, so there’s 9 erotic stories with a lot of different themes, so there’s something for everybody! It’s available as an eBook on Amazon, Kobo, Barnes & Noble, iBooks!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 I think I was 6 when I began to tell stories, and 11 when I began writing full books. I never looked back.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 A real writer? After my cousin, Jennifer, and I wrote our first movie script. It was a horror film with all of these awesome death scenes. I was really proud of it. Still am! I keep trying to talk her into re-writing it with me so we can publish it.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 Well, my 1st story that a lot of people read (fanfiction; unpublished) was inspired by an MTV show about exes who were stuck together in a house. But my 1st book that’s been published (Irrevocably Claimed) was an idea of mine because I fell in love with so many writers’ stories (8 of them are featured in the book!) and wanted to work with them and learn everything I can.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 I tend to write in 1st person POV, present state. One-Three POVs.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Irrevocably Claimed (the title of the anthology) was voted on by all of the authors in the anthology. There were a few options and it got the highest vote. For my story in the anthology, “Threepeat”, I was listening to a Britney Spears song, called “3”. There’s a line where she sings, “1, 2, 3, Peter, Paul, Mary, Getting’ down with 3P” that I had playing over and over in my head. I named the bar in the story Repeat, and then combined them together: Threepeat.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 Figure out who you can trust with your whole heart and stick with them. They know you best. That’ll never change.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic?

 

There’s definitely some key moments and conversations that I’ve had with one or two of my girlfriends or guy friends that are mentioned, but I’m not saying which.

Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Course. I think all stories are built from some sort of experience, even if we don’t know it at the time. We pull it from our subconscious; at least I certainly do.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Of course, The Babysitter’s Club series was a big inspiration to me growing up. I loved reading the books and wanted to be just like Ann M. Martin when I grew up. Janet Fitch (who wrote my favorite book, “White Oleander”) continues to be a major influence. As far as mentors go, I have a lot of fellow writers who help me out. Also, my favorite English Professor and former boss, Shirley Rehberg. I’ve never met a more talented, bold, brave person in my life. And the stories and experiences she’s seen, my gosh. I hope to live like she has.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished “The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins. It literally consumed me. I cannot WAIT for the movie. Now I’m starting “Flipped” by Wendelin Van Draanen. I saw the movie first (I didn’t know it was a book at the time, I swear) and it was just so adorable and heartwarming. Oh, to be young.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Of course! Jana Aston made me #LOL so hard! I also loved Brittainy Cherry’s latest, The Air He Breathes.

Fiona: What are your current projects?

 I never stop adding to-do projects! I think I have 6 or 7 manuscripts in mind or in progress. I write in several different genres, including Contemporary Romance, Women’s Fiction, Drama, Coming of Age, New Adult, Young Adult. You can check my website and Pinterest to stay up to date.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My Mama got me a cross necklace with a diamond on it when I was fourteen or fifteen. I don’t ever take it off. It’s my good luck charm. I have amazing friends, and so many have encouraged me to go for my dream. I am really blessed.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’d love to make it a career. Right now, it’s my dream. I don’t think it’ll ever stop being my dream.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would have finished my piece in it earlier, gave myself time to breathe. I’m such a procrastinator. It’s awful.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve always loved to tell stories. I have a big imagination. I can’t really remember a time when I wasn’t fantasizing about another world, another life, another dilemma. My mind just swirls and swirls.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Now that Threepeat/Irrevocably Claimed is published, I am focusing on my New Adult – Romantic – Adventure novel, “Axis”. I’ve been (in some way, shape, or form) imagining this story and these characters for about 6 or 7 years now. I’m ecstatic to finally publish it soon. I can’t wait for readers to get their hands on it. It’s such a fun, sexy story. The characters are multi-dimensional and their attraction is instant and just when you think you know what they’re going to do, I flip the script. 😀 I love to keep you guessing.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

 I am a self-deprecating writer. I’m always comparing myself to others. I don’t have the best confidence when I write and often second and third-guess myself. I put my heart and soul into every story and just want it to be as perfect as possible, even though “perfect” is unattainable. I have difficulty letting go of things. I can be stubborn with my story.

Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 Hands down, Janet Fitch. I will never forget how I felt while reading her novel, White Oleander. I have 3 copies. A paperback that has my favorite parts highlighted, a Hardback that NO ONE touches, and an eBook. It travels with me every time. What strikes me about Janet’s writing is just the prose. She makes every paragraph bloom and every word strike. She’s a brilliant storyteller. So talented.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

 I hope to! I would love to participate in some author events and have some signings next year!

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Sara Eirew designed the cover of Irrevocably Claimed.

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

It was an anthology, so when there’s 9 authors in total, there’s always something to do, someone to find, something to worry about. I couldn’t just focus on my story. I had to read a lot of others, too.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 Stop trying to control everything. Stop trying to fix everything. Just do your best and let the rest go.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t ever stop. No matter what. If you have writer’s block, at least be outlining and planning. Life gets in the way but it should never hold you back.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for taking a chance on me and my books. I have much more in store for you, and I am honored that you’ve allowed me to lead you on this journey I’m creating! I am blessed to have your support!

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t, but I do remember the first book that made a real impact on me: “The Boy Who Cried Wolf”, one of Aesop’s Fables. That was the first book that had a hidden message, and I just fell in love with it. It opened my eyes to new ways of telling stories.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My son, Weston. He’s the most perfect, silly, talented 3-year-old on the planet. He makes me laugh so hard that I cry, and sometimes I cry realizing how lucky I am to have him, and then I start laughing. It’s a big circle of emotions. #allthefeels

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

One of my closest online friends, Aura Reynolds. She’s been an incredible blessing and support system, but we’ve never met. I’d love to hug her and tell her thank you in person. Then hug her some more and never stop hugging her.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Dylan Thomas’s Poem, “Do Not Go Gentle”. At least the part, “Do not go gentle into that great night. Rage, rage against the dying of the light.” That’s the most incredible piece of advice I’ve ever heard.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

 I love graphic design, reading, bowling, swimming, and I just started yoga.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

For TV, I love The Vampire Diaries, Supernatural, How To Get Away With Murder, The Affair, Dawson’s Creek, One Tree Hill, talent shows that always makes me cry when the contestant suceeds, and reality shows that are so dramatic, like Bad Girls Club and Keeping Up With The Kardashians. It’s awful but I love it.… For movies, I love Titanic, Fight Club, Stupid Crazy Love, Twilight, Inception, Beaches, Avatar, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Forrest Gump, and Casablanca.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music:

 Colors: Blue, Green, Yellow, and Red // Food: Mongolian Stirfry (with Chicken and Pineapple! Mmmm!) // Music: Justin Timberlake, Ed Sheeran, Bruno Mars, Taylor Shift, and anything bluesy.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Teaching English

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website?

I love connecting with readers! Here are my links: http://angelashrumwrites.com/ xx https://www.facebook.com/angelashrumwrites xx https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/11641165.Angela_Shrum xx https://www.pinterest.com/angshrumwrites/ xx https://twitter.com/AngelaMShrum xx http://www.amazon.com/Angela-M.-Shrum/e/B017PWQ6US/

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1WDaQMb
Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/3ZLZYX
Amazon AU: http://goo.gl/5w3Mu3
Amazon CA: http://goo.gl/dCCgy0
Barnes & Noble: http://goo.gl/jQ977v
ITunes: https://goo.gl/EPWzk7
Kobo: https://goo.gl/fC23UK

 

